Skip to content

prompt 181 “Halloween or Dia de Muertos”

October 31, 2013
by

ofrenda-2

(courtesy of wikicommons)

Good morning, dear poets. I’ve enjoyed providing your prompts this month. Thank you all for your wonderful poems, even though I’ve been too busy to participate myself. It’s been a busy month of administering exams, grading and posting final grades. However, I am having fun this week at school since it’s Dia de Muertos and Halloween and the kids are excited and very creative. They’re so much fun to watch and participate with in these activities.

For this prompt I’d like you to write about “Halloween or Dia de Muertos” (Day of the Dead), and what it means to you. Dia de Muertos is a beautiful holiday in Mexico and it one of my favourites. It’s colourful and all the things Mexico has come to mean to me.

The origins trace back to indigenous observances dating back hundreds of years to an Aztec festival dedicated to the goddess Mictecacihuatl. In Aztec mythology, Mictecacihuatl (pronounced ‘Meek-teka-see-wahdl’) is Queen of Mictlan, the underworld, ruling over the afterlife.

Mictlantecihuatl-Death-e

(courtesy of wikicommons)

Traditions connected with this holiday include building private altars called “ofrendas” honouring the deceased on October 31. “All Hallows Eve” The children make an altar to invite the angelitos (spirits of dead children) to come back for a visit. November 1 is “All Saints Day,” and the adult spirits will come to visit. November 2 is “All Souls Day,” when families go to the cemetery to decorate the graves and tombs of their relatives. This three-day fiesta is filled with marigolds, the flowers of the dead; pan de muerto (the bread of the dead); sugar skulls; cardboard skeletons; tissue paper decorations; fruit and nuts; incense, and other traditional foods and decorations.

So there’s your prompt, poets. Please write about “Dia de Muertos or Halloween.” Thanks for joining in.

jackolantern4

(courtesy of wikicommons)

Happy All Hallows’ Eve!
Pamela

22 Comments
  1. October 31, 2013 5:11 am

    Good morning all. Not sure what happened here, this was supposed to post while I was sleeping. I am glad I checked.

    Have a great day!
    Pamela

    • October 31, 2013 7:57 am

      every now and then WP messes up, just to see if you’re paying attention I guess.

  2. October 31, 2013 5:59 am

    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/2013/10/31/allhallow-uneven/

    However you celebrate – make everyday special… smile!

  3. October 31, 2013 6:09 am

    Halloween has never been an Australian tradition which is strange given that it comes from the Celts, has remained a Scottish and European tradition and they made up a large segment of our early settlers. Then again the sun is bright and the sky is blue in Australia in October so perhaps just not gloomy enough.

    • November 3, 2013 5:11 am

      Interesting, Roslyn. I wasn’t aware that Australia doesn’t observe Halloween. Thanks for writing to my prompts.

  4. October 31, 2013 7:56 am

    This one’s having to stand for a batch of halloween prompts.

    http://briarcat.wordpress.com/2013/10/31/for-quickly-a-little-ditty/

    • November 3, 2013 5:17 am

      To you also, Denise. Thanks for the poem.

  5. October 31, 2013 9:00 am

    :a Dia de los Muertos

    Mi Corazon, mi Hija Mi Esposo

    If we celebrated la Dia de los Muertos
    Like they do in Cuernavaca, what
    A party we could throw!

    Between you, Pa and Annette
    La cerveza and el vino would overflow

    That little corner of the cemetery
    We would reserve for our familia
    and one day of the year,
    We would be merry!

    • November 3, 2013 5:20 am

      Yes, Marian. It is just like that. Thanks for writing to my prompts this month.

  6. October 31, 2013 9:48 am

    thank you Pamela for all the prompts this month along with this flavor of Mexico.

    me too, busy I mean. changing homes and I’ve a month’s worth of sorting and, mostly, throwing away. never to be a pack-rat again! less, not more, my mantra now.

    maybe that’s my practical real life poem, saying farewell to dead history…

    again, my thanks Pamela. good job!

    • November 3, 2013 5:21 am

      And my thanks to you, Neil. It has been a pleasure.

  7. October 31, 2013 10:29 am

    Blame a sci-fi novel about an AI’s harrowing experiences with her creators, the spirit of Halloween, a bit of research, and some Nine Inch Nails for this poem. You want creepy? You got it. Poor Aanteekwa.

    The Face in the Mirror Won’t Stop

    -Nicole

  8. October 31, 2013 5:24 pm

    You want creepy? Like that, Nicole.

    My creepy

    Adios Pamela, thanks for the prompting!

    • November 3, 2013 5:34 am

      Thank you, Irene. I have had a great time reading the poems (when I had time that is). Life needs to slow down for me. I am looking forward to Christmas vacation, which just round the corner.

  9. November 2, 2013 2:50 pm

    haven’t posted here for a while so thought I’d get one in for Dia de Muertos – great writeup, Pamela… & I’ve always liked the Mexicans’ attitude around death…

    http://turtlememoir.blogspot.ca/2013/11/autumn-regrets-last-dance.html

    • November 3, 2013 5:35 am

      Thanks, Ruth. It is great to see you here.

  10. November 4, 2013 8:28 pm

    You may not find Comfort in your company.

Comments are closed.