Skip to content

prompt 209 Liturgy

April 17, 2014
Any soul that drank the nectar of your passion was lifted.
From that water of life he is in a state of elation.
Death came, smelled me, and sensed your fragrance instead.
From then on, death lost all hope of me.
-Rumi

Throughout April, I’ve been offering prompts that touch upon the early origins of and uses for poetry. This week, we will go in a bit of a spiritual direction.

I titled this prompt “liturgy” to encompass a broad range of spiritual purposes for which poetry is written. Where I work, the term liturgy is used to refer to a collection of texts used for public, communal worship. What sorts of poetry might this call to mind? In Jewish and Christian traditions, one might think of the Book of Psalms, where parallelism, both synonymous and antithetic, is a common poetic device. Consider this excerpt from Psalm 27, usually attributed to King David (King James Version):

King David

The LORD is my light and my salvation; 
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the strength of my life; 
of whom shall I be afraid?

One might also think of our modern Christian hymns, and there is certainly crossover between hymns and poetry in that regard. One of the most prolific hymn writers of the 19th century, Fanny Crosby, began first as a poet. She wrote her hymns and poems mostly in four-line stanzas with an a-b-c-b rhyme scheme, as evidenced by the first verse of “Near the Cross” which I quote below:

Fanny J. Crosby

Jesus, keep me near the cross,
There a precious fountain,
Free to all, a healing stream,
Flows from Calvary's mountain.

Throughout human history in other religious traditions and faiths, poetry has been used for praise, thanksgiving, supplication, prayer, and expressions of sorrow to the deity or deities in question. The Rigveda, a Sanskrit collection of hymns written in verse form composed between 1700 and 1100 BC, is a great example of this. The hymns in the collection address several Hindu deities, including Ratri, or “night”. I’ll quote a portion of a hymn praising her from book 10 of the Rigveda:

1. WITH all her eyes the Goddess Night looks forth 
approaching many a spot: 
She hath put all her glories on.
2 Immortal. she hath filled the waste, the Goddess hath 
filled height and depth:
She conquers darkness with her light.
3 The Goddess as she comes hath set 
the Dawn her Sister in her place:
And then the darkness vanishes.
4 So favour us this night, 
O thou whose pathways we have visited
As birds their nest upon the tree."

Spiritual poetry can also speak of more elevated themes, such as unity with the deity, the transcendence of one’s physical existence, and prophecy. The lines of Rumi’s poetry which began this post are a perfect example. Rumi, a Persian poet, theologian, and Sufi mystic, believed very much in the use of poetry, music, and dance to reach God. He spoke freely and frequently of seeking union with the Divine, as evidenced by this example:

Rumi

I died as a mineral and became a plant,
I died as plant and rose to animal,
I died as animal and I was Man.
Why should I fear? When was I less by dying?
Yet once more I shall die as Man, to soar
With angels bless'd; but even from angelhood
I must pass on: all except God doth perish.
When I have sacrificed my angel-soul,
I shall become what no mind e'er conceived.
Oh, let me not exist! for Non-existence
Proclaims in organ tones,
To Him we shall return.

Many of us are in the middle of religious observances right now. Some of you are observing Passover and the Easter season this week. You might use this prompt to ground yourself mentality, emotionally, and spiritually to prepare yourselves. Might you consider the stories of your faith as a starting point for this prompt? Perhaps you seek greater union with the Divine. Perhaps you are full of praise and thanksgiving, or like King David to whom authorship of Psalm 23 is attributed, you have walked through “the valley of the shadow of death” and you need to cry out in sorrow.

For the agnostics, atheists, and questioning folks among us: this prompt might be a great opportunity to think about belief (or lack of) and consider it further. Perhaps you might explore the moment you began to question what you were told about God. For the scientific or humanistic minded among us, what does creation say to you? How do you feel about faith as a general concept and other’s expressions of it? There are many directions in which you can go.

Meditate upon this, and write where your muse takes you. I’m looking forward to the results.

-Nicole

16 Comments
  1. April 17, 2014 8:36 am

    My Poem “We Holy Fools” is on nmy blog Marianv.blog.co.uk

    • April 19, 2014 1:57 pm

      Your poem makes it evident that in the Christian world, Genesis 1:28 has been horribly mistranslated. What if we are called to be stewards of creation, rather than to subdue, rape, and pillage as we like? We will pay for our foolishness if we don’t stop — and speaking of “fools” a very appropriate title for your poem indeed.

  2. April 17, 2014 6:33 pm

    http://georgeplaceblog.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/holy-hope-of-faith/

    Not a new one but recent and it fits the bill for how I feel

    • April 19, 2014 2:45 pm

      And is a simply wonderful response to this prompt. People need to feel more comfortable speaking of their faith, or questions of. I like this.

    • April 19, 2014 2:55 pm

      “Words are meaningless and forgettable”…as Depeche Mode put it. Sometimes that is true. Nicely done.

    • April 19, 2014 3:00 pm

      Amazing poem. If you’re looking for a door in the darkness, I hope you find it.

      • April 19, 2014 7:12 pm

        I don’t think I’m in darkness although I can if I want feel it. I’m all sunny and dark at different times. Am I the only one?

  3. April 18, 2014 7:43 am

    I try to stay away from politics and religion. However to some Astrology is also a type of religion and today at Imprompt we were asked to create a modern Astrological sign.

    I think the majority of us are The Stylus:
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/imprompt-stylus/

    • April 19, 2014 3:11 pm

      Very nice! I do see a connection of this to religion and faith. Very clever.

  4. April 19, 2014 1:25 pm

    The poem finally came to me, left of center:

    http://ravenswingpoetry.com/2014/04/19/gbadus-song/

    -Nicole

  5. April 19, 2014 7:26 pm

    Gods in rain puddles


    I would not call myself religious, but I wouldn’t call myself an atheist either.
    I believe in magic. I don’t believe in hell.

    • April 23, 2014 8:55 am

      I don’t believe in hell either, but I believe in beauty. Like your poem.

Comments are closed.