Skip to content

prompt 177 “The Road”

October 3, 2013

Donkey On The Road To Bahia De Los Angeles

(Photo courtesy of Wikicommons)

“The need for change bulldozed a road down the center of my mind.”

Maya Angelou

 

Good morning, WWP poets. My name is Pamela Sayers and I’m honoured to be here. I’ve been generously invited to provide you with prompts for this month – this lovely month of seasonal change, and I welcome it.

Today I’m going to ask you to write about “roads”. Using myself as an example: twelve years ago, my husband and I made a decision to move South of the Border. We packed a few belongings and started on an adventure. I have no regrets, though there were times I thought: “Oh, what have I done?” Ultimately, most days here are a treasure because there is always something to make me think, and make me smile, if not on the outside, surely on the inside.

So this is your prompt, dear poets: Write about the “roads” we take in life and where they
lead us, or the turns we take that make us wonder about the whys, wheres and hows of our decisions.

A big thank you to Neil and Irene for this opportunity. I’m excited to see what everyone writes.

Pamela

20 Comments
  1. October 3, 2013 12:55 am

    welcome to this prompting road Pamela. we’re delighted having you with us here! suppose one could say of me, I’m a person of many few words. love your prompt, love the picture too.

    actually we think this idea of sharing the prompting process is one of the best ideas to land here on WWP. like letting the bigger family taking turns driving the car. love the variety of poetic sensibilities this open up. welcome (also means we thank you).

    see? many few words! 🙂

    • October 3, 2013 5:04 pm

      Ha! Thanks, Neil. This is going to be a pleasure.

  2. October 3, 2013 3:37 am

    Hey, Pam.
    Back later

  3. October 3, 2013 3:54 am

    Hi, Neil and Barb. I actually managed a poem of my own for this prompt.

    “On the Cheek” We Write Poems #177 – The Road

    Pamela

  4. October 3, 2013 6:05 am

    Thanks for the prompt Pamela. I really had to think about this- so many ways to go but I finally narrowed it down.
    http://georgeplaceblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/roads/

  5. October 3, 2013 6:47 am

    Great photo. Reminded me of only one thing…

    http://oneshoreinsilence.blogspot.com/2013/10/theres-always-ass-on-road.html

    • October 3, 2013 11:16 am

      (blogger trouble, so… ) playful, yes. I like the repetition with this poem. thanks.

  6. October 3, 2013 9:13 am

    thank you for the lovely prompt

    here is my contribution, i hope you enjoy it

    http://warningthestars.blogspot.com/2013/10/on-evening-drive-poem.html

  7. October 3, 2013 9:42 am

    Hi Pamela. Here’s mine. A longer than I’d intended, but such is life.

    http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/the-day-i-chased-white-paint/

  8. October 3, 2013 10:48 am

    Great prompt. Thanks, Pamela. My poem….
    http://lornacahall.blogspot.com/2013/10/passing-mount-hood.html

  9. October 3, 2013 2:46 pm

    Here we go. Your pic set me off in this direction
    http://wp.me/pdTja-4zb

  10. October 3, 2013 4:50 pm

    What a fantastic start, Pamela. October is rolling and you got me rolling

    here

  11. October 4, 2013 7:06 am

    Here is my take

    Be Gentle With Yourself

  12. October 4, 2013 1:57 pm

    This is about a road I am familiar with
    Marianv.blog.co.uk

  13. October 4, 2013 8:07 pm

    Thanks Pamela, I had fun with this.
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/narrowly-straight-wwp-177/

    To all I know I’m a tad behind on return visits. I hope to catch up on some this weekend.

  14. October 5, 2013 11:53 pm

    kind of slow to arrive but at least it’s lame!

    mule

    • October 6, 2013 2:32 pm

      Not lame at all, Neil. I loved it.

  15. October 9, 2013 6:07 am

    Hello Pamela! This prompt allowed an infinite number of roads down which to travel. 🙂 I decided to tell another portion of Helen R. Jones’ story here:

    Highway 87

    -Nicole

Comments are closed.