Skip to content

Prompt #80, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

November 16, 2011

Bread Crumbs do a poem make

We Write Poems:  
Our prompt this week was something to perhaps clear your palate, find some roots in the fog of words.  Pamela Sayers asked us to accumulate a minimum of twelve words, then write little snapshots in response to each word.  Each small “poemlet” could stand on its’ own or perhaps have some relationship to the rest.  Please remember to tell us how you selected your initial gathering of words (we’re nosey that way!).

So time now please to show us your bread crumbs leading home.

And thank you again Pamela for this prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

22 Comments
  1. November 16, 2011 12:23 am

    love poemlets

  2. November 16, 2011 12:40 am

    Thanks Pamela. This was just the prompt I needed to break loose from not writing much of late.

    bread crumbs

  3. November 16, 2011 3:54 am

    It was very freeing to write 12 poemlets and not worry that they necessarily connected with one another . . . and then finding that in an odd way, they did flow as moments of time. Here is my try: 12 poemlets of time

  4. November 16, 2011 4:59 am

    I like the word, “poemlets”. Did you invent it, Pamela? I also like that there’re twelve days of Christmas and twelve apostles. *digressing*

    twelve poemlets

  5. November 16, 2011 8:47 am

    my “Pamelet”..I mean “poemlet” consists of 12 random (crumb) words taken from 12 first lines of poems
    I have never finished. 12 words are capitalized…thanks Pam..
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/11/crumbs.html

  6. November 16, 2011 9:24 am

    Great prompt! I played with a bit, of course.

    “facebook pages for the dead” – http://mareymercy.com/2011/11/16/we-write-poems-prompt-80-bread-crumbs/

  7. November 16, 2011 9:47 am

    Ended up with: Off the Wagon

  8. November 16, 2011 10:35 am

    I couldn’t very well miss my own prompt (could I?), I haven’t been here in several weeks. Here is my offering…

    Pamela

    “Counting Life From Different Views”

  9. November 16, 2011 12:06 pm

    Here are my poemlets: http://ablefires.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/bread-crumb-poems/

  10. November 16, 2011 12:16 pm

    Mine came from some haiku, and they sort of rubbed off on me. sort of. http://wp.me/pdTja-2mL

  11. November 16, 2011 7:39 pm

    Finally (at least it’s not 11:59) here is my collection of drips and drops.

    We Write Poems That Crumble and Whirl

  12. November 16, 2011 8:19 pm

    Hi all, first time posting here. This was a cool prompt, Pamela – thanks! My poemlets ended up sort of connected. I used seven words from The Sunday Whirl, and five from my own “random word box.”

    http://www.starsandwillows.com/2011/11/model-behavior/

    • November 18, 2011 4:29 am

      Really, your first? Glad to see you here, Kelly.

      • November 20, 2011 8:05 pm

        I know, Irene – seems strange. I could be wrong, but I couldn’t find any past posts on my blog tagged We Write Poems.

  13. November 16, 2011 8:40 pm

    this was fun and through your comments I found another wonderful place to play.. mine is Here

  14. November 18, 2011 8:51 am

    Pamela, I apologize for not offering something along the lines of your prompt. I returned last night from a trip out of town. The following little ditty is a poem I had sitting in my unpublished file. I know it is a heavy subject to lift but try to help me answer: “What gives meaning to life?”.

    To everyone, have a marvelous weekend, and….tell someone you love them.

  15. magicalmysticalteacher permalink
    December 3, 2011 3:53 am

    Here are a dozen “bread crumbs.”

  16. magicalmysticalteacher permalink
    December 3, 2011 3:57 am

    I have posted 13 more “bread crumbs” here.

Comments are closed.