Skip to content

prompt 199 about poems about you

February 6, 2014

Seems another world where I’ve been.  changing homes is more than changing pants.  but now here I am, seven hundred miles more north than I used to be.  hardly written a poem, long time.  nonetheless my turn now, so ready or not, greetings.  neil
  
there is a sequence here, so please, read me first.
maybe you’ve seen this video before.  if so, good for you!  maybe you haven’t and this will be your first.  if so, lucky you!  either way we pray, be not jaded nor cynical, be not immune, respond.  no matter how you commonly perceive the world, just for a few moments be new-born.  allow yourself to be immersed, moved by currents.  allow for buoyancy.  observe.  that will do.
now watch (no other disturbances, please).


don’t read here until you’ve watched the video.
here’s one question – what if this were ordinary?
 
however this prompt is not about the video.  the video is simply here to establish a mental frame of reference, a color, a willingness to see.
 
the question of this prompt is about poems and about you.  what makes a poem desirable to you?  what attributes? what makes you fond of it?  yes, that’s a value judgement, although not one of good vs bad.  and not just your own poems, but any poems.  look.  look till you see what is true for you personally.  reason, being reasonable, don’t matter here.  allow obstacles to take a rest.  be honest rather than right.  if you have to choose which poem goes in the boat, and which left behind – how?
 
when you’re trying to grow a poem – what kind of seeds do you look to plant?
 
how much does the poem itself participate?
 
so much as you’re able (and notice if and when you’re not) make positive statements.  descriptions that say what the poems “are not” don’t describe.  (tricky, huh?)
 
seems a simple question, doesn’t it?  but look for a while.  how much are you really able to see and say to this question.  feel free if you wish to include yourself within this environment (like you’re not anyway!).  what is your relationship “within a poem”?
 
and yes, make this all as a poem!  that’s why we’re here after all.  and of course, as ever, if the notions of this prompt begin, then go wandering as they wish, also fine.  (rules say, everything counts!)

neil

29 Comments
  1. February 6, 2014 3:34 am

    Thanks for sharing the video. I had seen it before, but it’s one worth watching again!

    http://laughwithme45.blogspot.com/2014/02/2-for-thursday-hmmm-doesnt-have-same.html

    • February 8, 2014 11:44 am

      thank you Robyn. that video of such merit, not to spread around. of your poems, both, also thanks. would say I understand “place”, all that it means, but not yet. I’m like the cat offered a soft bed but instead finds some other less likely spot as where I nest. not sure my comment stuck on your site, but thanks for writing. ~neil

    • February 6, 2014 7:38 am

      I’ll have to try finding you elsewhere…your link isn’t working.

    • February 6, 2014 8:57 am

      Annell, The ‘i’ is missing in your ‘Think’ – type-o? Try copy and pasting your links. Maybe your ‘link’ is bad?

    • February 8, 2014 11:58 am

      trying to comment via my iPhone via WP, and unsure if working. so if either in error, at least to say thanks. I adore list poems, muchly. neil

  2. February 6, 2014 5:43 am

    Here’s my statement on Poetics
    http://fredherring.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/for-wwp-199-about-about/

  3. February 6, 2014 5:54 am

    Linking to your post today and sharing the video…awesome!

  4. February 6, 2014 6:57 am

    I am always the poet seeking inspiration. And wanting to try new things.
    I regret that WP will not allow me to format this verse so I have to put in a link from my Blogspot space. I hope that even if you cannot leave a comment that you will enjoy your visit.

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2014/02/cd-special-winter-troiku.html

    • February 8, 2014 8:00 pm

      thanks jules, and in your comment, maybe a useful alternate method for doing such on a blog.

      • February 9, 2014 4:26 am

        Neil,
        I did see that…but I haven’t tried it yet.
        Still seems odd that WP can’t take your formatting from your own files and copy it. To have to post first in Blogger then transfer it seems a pain. I might try it though occasionally.

        Also moves can be annoying, but I read somewhere that it takes about six months to feel settled. Good Luck.

      • February 9, 2014 4:49 am

        Ah, your advice is slightly different than the e-mail I got from another friend which suggests posting first in B then transferring to WP (the formatting is supposed to keep) – which might be easier for me than anything to do with photo-play. As I haven’t quite figured out anything to do with photography at all yet. Slightly behind technically, I am in regards to images of any kind.

        The folks who could help me aren’t always available. And while I’ve been shown a time or to it wasn’t enough to ‘stick’. I’m always afraid I’m going to mess up or lose something by pressing the wrong buttons. I’ll live 🙂

        At least I still maintain B as well as WP so I can attempt concrete and forms with words…Thanks though. Something to look into when I have time.

  5. February 6, 2014 7:08 am

    Nice prompt. Here’s my response. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/escape-into-the-heart-of-your-poetry/

  6. February 6, 2014 8:32 am

    I want that to happen tome one day. Chill bumps reign.

    http://georgeplaceblog.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/penning-poetry/

  7. February 6, 2014 10:09 am

    Mentally playing my fluegelhorn one more time. Marianv.blog.co.uk

  8. February 6, 2014 11:25 am

    My poem is on my blog Marianv.blog.co.uk

  9. February 6, 2014 2:07 pm

    Thank you, Neil…I’m glad you’re all moved and I appreciate the time taken out of settling in to bring us this inspiration. 🙂

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/riding-the-spiral/

  10. February 6, 2014 4:50 pm

    Not sure if I nailed it quite but here’s an attempt.

    http://anotherporch.blogspot.ca/2014/02/what-are-you.html

  11. February 7, 2014 11:11 am

    wow…!!! I shall contemplate this wonderful post and wish you well on your new digs neil… miss pie

    • February 8, 2014 11:40 pm

      thank you. I shall await your contemplation and whatsoever cares to arrive. 🙂 neil

  12. February 7, 2014 4:21 pm

    and here is (frosting or flame?) mine,
    l o o k i n g   a t   p o e m

  13. February 7, 2014 9:11 pm

    This makes an answer I hope

Comments are closed.