Skip to content

prompt 195 Weather Report

January 9, 2014

In her book, A Cloister Walk, Kathleen Norris explains a wonderful little writing exercise: writing out your own emotional weather report. I did this for a while in my journal and it was an interesting exercise. Tom Waits does something similar in his song Emotional Weather Report:
with tornado watches issued shortly
before noon Sunday, for the areas
including, the western region
of my mental health
and the northern portions of my
ability to deal rationally with my
disconcerted precarious emotional
situation, it’s cold out there…

Somewhere in your poem this week we’d like you to give us an internal weather report. Is there a cold front moving in, overcast skies, high winds or balmy breezes? Are there ways to detect storm warnings from another individual? Can you “see” a heat wave coming in the near future? Allow us to see and feel what is happening on the inside, either your own internal weather, or that of another individual. You might want to “report” on a relationship between two people, or with a certain object, or even an animal. Have fun and write.

Elizabeth

30 Comments
  1. January 9, 2014 6:01 am

    I have a weather report inside me, I know I do. Great prompt, Elizabeth. I will stay away from those silly old clichés, lol

    Pamela

    • January 9, 2014 11:33 am

      We all have at least one inside of us, Pamela…the problem is usually getting it out. Sometimes old clichés can be interesting especially when twisted, lol,

      Elizabeth

  2. January 9, 2014 7:11 am

    I think I relate it, every time I hear the weather report.

    http://somethingsithinkabout-annell-annell.blogspot.com/

    • January 9, 2014 7:21 am

      I couln’t get my comment to ‘stick’ on your blog, Annell, so here it is: So very cheerful. I’m glad you have no rain, ice or snow where you are. Or do you just have a vivid imagination!

      • January 9, 2014 11:35 am

        A remarkable and in depth relationship report, Annell

        Elizabeth

  3. January 9, 2014 7:13 am

    I wrote my poem before I read the prompt. Psychic or what?

    A Taste of Summer

    • January 9, 2014 11:43 am

      Yes psychic and your poem brought back a lot of wonderful memories…

      Elizabeth

  4. January 9, 2014 8:45 am

    Not what I was expecting and feeling a bit set up by my own person, lol,

    Weathering Effects

    Elizabeth

  5. January 9, 2014 9:22 am

    Here it is…an “Empire of Dirt”:

    http://ravenswingpoetry.com/2014/01/09/an-empire-of-dirt/

    -Nicole

    • January 9, 2014 11:50 am

      Really like the weather play between your characters, Nicole

      Elizabeth

  6. January 9, 2014 10:53 am

    Not much longer before my storm strikes again!
    http://laughwithme45.blogspot.com/2014/01/todays-weather-report.html

    • January 9, 2014 11:56 am

      Reality weather throughout the day. I could see you on a tv screen, pointer in hand,

      Elizabeth

  7. January 9, 2014 11:41 am

    All I can say is sorry. Sorry. Sorry. I’ll try again later. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/a-cyclonic-temper/

  8. January 9, 2014 2:20 pm

    how funny that i picked up that book at a garage sale…. what a surprise…. and here we are…. personal weather report…. i like that!!!!!

    • January 9, 2014 5:57 pm

      Synchronicity is always intriguing. Hope you enjoy,

      Elizabeth

  9. January 9, 2014 6:07 pm

    Stormy weather everywhere:

    http://1lostbeat.blogspot.com/2014/01/barometric-drop.html

    • January 9, 2014 7:14 pm

      Really like the building of your stormy poem,

      Elizabeth

    • January 10, 2014 8:04 am

      The struggle between siblings can be both rewarding and frustrating.

      Elizabeth

  10. January 10, 2014 8:39 am

    Here’s a piece I put together. Not, sure it fits the prompt very well.

    Missus Mythology We Write Poems #195-Weather Report

    Pamela

  11. January 10, 2014 11:31 am

    I was dissatisfied with the first, so I revised.Tell me what you think, please.

    Missus Mythology rev2 We Write Poems #195-Weather Report

    • January 10, 2014 1:01 pm

      Left a note at your site…this version seems to have a bit more clarity to it.

  12. January 11, 2014 7:36 pm

    I’m here with my
    daily weather report

Comments are closed.