Skip to content

prompt 152 animals

April 18, 2013

  
little pencilGetting a little April fatigue? Well we’ll try to calm your senses just a bit.
 
The poem prompt.
If you were a color, what color would you be? (Silly, huh?) OK, if you were a tree, what tree would you be? (Still silly.) Or not silly enough? So let’s do this… If that tree were that color (and no, please don’t say “green”) AND you were an animal up in that tree – what animal would you be? (And please, being twice silly is what we’re after here halfway through this April month!) An ostrich, a porky-pine, an elephant would all apply. Rules of gravity (and good sense) do not!
 
Think of this as a little stretching exercise mid-marathon writing month. If you’re feeling serious, then play. If exhausted, let whimsy rule. Being genuinely silly, that counts for enough. Have fun!
 
wewritepoems-bannerRemember, this “prompt” posting is immediately open for you to post your poem links.  Right now, tomorrow, or a week from now.  At least for now we’ll post a “reminder” the following Wednesday – both to post your links if not already done AND to come read the poems written by others.  So yea, put your poem links right here!
 
Happy poem writing!

13 Comments
  1. April 18, 2013 12:26 am

    Just now watching the news
    I believe I’d be an ostriches
    With fleas which flees
    Forget the tree
    There might not be too many
    Left to choose
    To climb and paint
    And build a nest of blue
    Coo coo ca-chooo

    • April 22, 2013 8:14 am

      Very cute. I wouldn’t like to be an ostrich – they lay such huge eggs!

  2. April 18, 2013 8:10 am

    That’s pretty quick, Carol! All I figured was I would be a purple aubergine/tree/elephant.

  3. April 20, 2013 2:23 pm

    I needed this one:

    NaPoWriMo: Twenty is Plenty

  4. April 21, 2013 11:57 pm

    Silly

  5. April 22, 2013 6:37 am

    I like animal poems.

    Bridget was a tiger

  6. April 22, 2013 2:09 pm

    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/better-than-a-black-fly-on-a-white-wall-wwp-152/

    Just because I had time today…I think I’ll keep the rest of the week easy and open for catching up on reading…Ha – like that is ever going to happen, but I can try.

  7. April 23, 2013 11:57 am

    This week I am a raven in a sycamore…and I am Home.

    -Nicole

  8. April 24, 2013 10:32 am

    Just a bit of whimsy and such.

    Belated Birthday Sonnet

Comments are closed.