Skip to content

prompt 151 morning poem

April 11, 2013

  
little pencilPoems, poems, poems everywhere! Here’s something simple, some poem toast for your dawn.
 
The poem prompt.
Pick a morning, any morning, head on the pillow, and then…
What’s your first thought when you awake?  The first thought, not ten minutes or even two minutes later, but the very first.  Simple huh?  But that’s the point – before your day starts making thoughts complex.  Keep the poem appropriate as well, maybe even a haiku, something brief in honor of first morning thoughts (whatever your choice of poetic form).  Just how close to “first” do you really think you can get?
 
wewritepoems-bannerRemember, this “prompt” posting is immediately open for you to post your poem links.  Right now, tomorrow, or a week from now.  At least for now we’ll post a “reminder” the following Wednesday – both to post your links if not already done AND to come read the poems written by others.  But yea, put your poem links right here!
 
Happy poem writing!

19 Comments
  1. April 11, 2013 8:15 am

    Joy – or dread
    the first moment awake
    It all depends on what lies ahead
    Will I rise, rejoicing,
    or burrow deeper under cover
    willing the night to never end?
    It all depends on what lies ahead
    Today…

  2. April 11, 2013 8:57 am

    Borrowing from page 37 in your Hymnal… or Cat Stevens’ song book…

    MORNING HAS BROKEN

  3. April 11, 2013 10:24 am

    Thank God for your prompt. I was being battered by an oulipo. Feel free to ignore post and aim straight at the poem: http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/napowrimo-eleven-even/

    • April 12, 2013 2:32 am

      what, please, is an oulipo?

      • April 12, 2013 6:29 am

        Oh, ViV. I still feel battered. Take a poem and replace all the nouns with whichever word is seven below in the dictionary. Joseph had one a few days ago. His, naturally, sounded cool. Mine… ah well. I may post it today anyway, as we have possibly odd poems with Barbara’s prompt.

  4. April 11, 2013 8:03 pm

    Oh, this is a nice change of pace.
    http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/relief/

  5. April 12, 2013 4:22 am

    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/orchestrated-2/

    Whether or weather…This too shall pass…

  6. April 12, 2013 6:52 am

    satisfaction.
    that was just the way I like it, mmm

    oh. a dream
    now I have to write the thing, again

  7. April 12, 2013 12:46 pm

    I wrote this a few months back. After trying to write a new morning prompt, this reality kept coming back to me:

    http://1lostbeat.blogspot.com/2013/01/anniversary-sale.html

  8. April 13, 2013 7:38 pm

    I have something going on in my life and my first thoughts in the morning, for some time, revolve around it.

    http://roslynrosssmallstones.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/raw-moments.html

  9. April 14, 2013 9:32 am

    Not to prompt. Wakening thoughts were far too personal to share.

    Nothing Normal Nowhere

    Elizabeth

    PS You had to know I’d get here eventually.

  10. April 14, 2013 2:48 pm

    Morning legs dangle
    off the bed, as antique joints
    brace for their touch down.

    • April 14, 2013 6:57 pm

      Do I know that feeling,

      Elizabeth

    • April 18, 2013 12:55 pm

      Nice. I haven’t quite gotten there yet. But when I compare myself with my elders in their 80’s and 90’s I have to think I’m doing OK.

  11. April 15, 2013 12:11 pm

    Rather unexpectedly a poem here, although I take no surprise with the sun each dawn.

    morning poem

  12. April 17, 2013 12:08 pm

    Sneak quietly to the bathroom
    without waking the cat
    who is sleeping on my feet

Comments are closed.