Skip to content

Prompt #60, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

June 29, 2011

Write here, (bigger) now

We Write Poems:  
In terms of “observation” this prompt requested we take a landscape point of view, that is to say, broad and inclusive. Take a walk outside your front door, we said to you. Be expansive, for this part two of our observational prompt. Have you noticed that’s how our own eyes are built – to take in the wider view? Also that’s how the horizon circles us, standing broad and whole. Were you more attentive to movement and change and interaction in your observations this week? Did you also notice that you are inside this greater image, included too? What of all these ripe possibilities made it into your poem? We are eager to learn your results!

Thanks Pamela for the prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

19 Comments
  1. June 29, 2011 12:16 am

    The poet as observer, the poet as internal witness. That’s the function of poetry. That’s why poetry can hold up a mirror and be amazing.

    up to a point you’re in this picture

  2. jeanneaguilar permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:21 am

    Ever go to write to a prompt…but stray somewhat? Here’s mine…

    http://sidelinesbyjeanne.blogspot.com/2011/06/i-thank-god.html

  3. June 29, 2011 12:36 am

    It thought this one was off-prompt, but it is observational. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/victoria-market/

  4. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    June 29, 2011 1:16 am

    I went out as far as I could and came in again.

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/06/in-miniature.html

  5. June 29, 2011 3:36 am

    I didn’t get far, but for me it was like traveling to the moon.

    the walk to the mailbox

  6. June 29, 2011 3:47 am

    Took a good friend with me,

    Unfolding Knowing

    Elizabeth

  7. June 29, 2011 4:27 am

    It’s the rainy season, and this is what the afternoon looks like …

    Cacti Want to be Flowers

    Thanks again for using my prompt idea,
    Pamela

  8. June 29, 2011 4:48 am

    Just a bit of an extension from last week…

    The Beginning of Each End…and Back Again

    Thanks for facilitating Pamela’s wonderful prompts these past two weeks! 🙂

    ~Paula

  9. June 29, 2011 5:01 am

    A good prompt. Why am I having trouble?
    This is sort of descriptive, I guess. About watching it rain

  10. June 29, 2011 5:51 am

    My piece this week has a long place name for its title. The observation took three visits to the place (which I love). I took notes and tried piecing something together from the visits. It was good practice. I appreciate it, and will accept both constructive feedback and praise for this piece. 🙂 It feels like it’s still a work in progress…although *almost* complete…if that makes sense. I might submit this to a couple of regional publications….so truly, I’d love the feedback.
    Benton Lake National Wildlife Refuge

    P.S. I use the relative pronoun “who” rather than “that” when referring to birds in the piece…is that a stylistic choice that doesn’t matter in poetry…..or? I do fear the grammar police. 🙂

    • June 29, 2011 9:56 pm

      I rather like the choice you described. More personal, less objectified. Or, at the least, it shakes common thoughts by some measure. So please do!

      And the only grammar police around here just hand out colored balloons!

  11. June 29, 2011 6:07 am

    Last weekend I made a trip to one of our lakes where sand is hauled in by truck to form an artificial sandy bathing area. I took my beach umbrella however the only creatures there, besides my shaded self were Beached whales. An observation of what my eyes beheld.

  12. June 29, 2011 6:34 am

    Just could not manage a title for this one. Oy.

    (untitled summer morning poem)

  13. June 29, 2011 8:45 am

    This limerick is off-prompt, I confess:Mathematical Cat Fight.

    Thanks!

  14. June 29, 2011 2:38 pm

    here is my second part…..Beyond The Attic
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/06/beyond-attic.html

  15. June 30, 2011 2:48 am

    “The Fruit Stand” is ready for you to read at http://wp.me/p1bqY3-b4
    I hope you enjoy it!

Comments are closed.