Skip to content

Thursday Prompt #1: Boxes

May 5, 2010

"Flotsam" by dotpolka on Flickr. (Click photo for link.)

Welcome to our very first Thursday Prompt! To start us off, I’d like you to write about boxes, ordinary objects that we all come in regular contact with yet probably don’t think very much about. We all have them in our homes: shoe boxes, refrigerator boxes, cereal boxes, to name just a few. Find a box in your home and write about its contents, or take a different angle and write about an empty box. With this prompt, take the time to deepen your understanding of boxes. What significant meaning do they hold for you? What special items do you keep in boxes? Do you have a particular memory associated with boxes? Spend the week working with the prompt, and next Wednesday I will post asking you to leave the poems you wrote during the week in the comments. You can either leave the poem itself or a link to the poem on your blog.

Happy poeming!

19 Comments
  1. May 8, 2010 7:07 am

    Here is my poem.

    my poem

    Melanie

    • May 9, 2010 1:25 am

      Thanks Melanie,

      Be sure to come back on Wednesday and link to your poem in the comments of my “Post Your Poems” post!

      Best,
      Mallery

    • May 12, 2010 5:17 am

      Hi Melanie,

      You do it the same way you linked to your poem in the comments here, but you do it on the most recent post I made: It’s Post Your Poems Day

  2. May 8, 2010 12:03 pm

    I will post my poem on Boxes on my blog, Wednesday and try to link it to here. Thank you for the fun! Best, Heartspell

  3. May 9, 2010 3:15 am

    Her is my piece: Boxes — Contemplation in 3 Parts

    • May 9, 2010 3:42 am

      Hi Rob, Glad the prompt inspired you to write! I’ll wait ’til Wednesday to read it. Remember to come back then to post your poem’s link on the “Post Your Poems” post.

      -Mallery

  4. May 10, 2010 12:25 pm

    Boxes

  5. May 11, 2010 7:22 am

    Here is my poem – http://umaathreya.blogsome.com/2010/05/11/my-grandfathers-stepmom/
    Will come back again on wednesday to post the link.

Trackbacks

  1. Not all the time, but at least once. « Jason's Chatter
  2. Thoughts Have Wings » Little Boxes
  3. Conversation starter: Why I like writing from prompts « Improvisations:
  4. Why I like writing from prompts « Improvisations:
  5. My Garden - Uma Gowrishankar :: My Grandfather’s Stepmom :: May :: 2010
  6. WWP Poem #1: Detonate « Raven's Wing Poetry
  7. We Write Poems: boxes (notes) « carolee sherwood
  8. fuel for the game « Jason's Chatter

Comments are closed.