Skip to content

prompt 197 Prophet

January 23, 2014

I came to poetry through the prophets of the Old Testament, who often spoke in metaphors and similes. They spoke of consequences: today’s actions and how they form tomorrow’s reality. They spoke of promises for certain behaviors, and they spoke of love, both divine and human. They used mnemonic acts (actions that create images of specific memories), like Jeremiah shouldering an oxen yoke to tell his people they were in danger of becoming slaves with a heavy burden, if they did not change their ways.
 
They might have been “chosen”, but were not always accepted by the people because they often brought harsh truth and hard reality with them to a people comfortable in their chosen denial. It was Jesus who said that prophets are not welcome in their own home towns.
 
I deeply believe that poets and prophets share the same, or similar, energies. To that end, your poem may use the word itself, or speak of your own sense of it, or a person who embodies that sense. You might like to read some of the words of the prophets and use a line from that as an epigram for what you create. This doesn’t have to be a religious piece, although it should be poetic, and speak of, or to, that similar energy.
 
Although I have used this idea in many poems, I will share my very favorite today: The Call.
 
Have fun and keep writing,
 
Elizabeth

30 Comments
  1. January 23, 2014 4:21 am

    Thank you Elizabeth. http://somethingsithinkabout-annell-annell.blogspot.com/

    • January 23, 2014 7:30 am

      Thank you much for your wonderful response, Annell

      Elizabeth

  2. January 23, 2014 5:09 am

    Busy day ahead, keeping this piece short;
    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/wwp-197-prophets/

    • January 23, 2014 7:38 am

      Your acrostic might be brief, but it captures the essential prophet,

      Elizabeth

  3. January 23, 2014 7:22 am

    This poem has a story behind it,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/two-prophets/

    Elizabeth

  4. January 23, 2014 10:05 am

    This is How the Light Got In.

    -Nicole

    • January 23, 2014 11:29 am

      You did a great job on the prompt, Nicole…may your light shine brightly,

      Elizabeth

  5. January 23, 2014 1:41 pm

    My poem “Lost, All is Lost, the Prophets Say” is on my blog Marianv.blog.co.uk

    Elizabeth, Your poem is anazung

  6. January 23, 2014 1:42 pm

    My poem “Lost, All is Lost, the Prophets Say” is on my blog Marianv.blog.co.uk

    Elizabeth, Your poem is amazing

    • January 23, 2014 5:08 pm

      Thank you Marian for capturing the voice of todays prophet. Not sure my comment was accepted at your site…have my fingers crossed.

      Elizabeth

  7. January 23, 2014 5:18 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration, Elizabeth.

    Here’s my gloppy mess

    • January 23, 2014 6:19 pm

      Your jagged toothed beauty is a delight to read, Irene…Thank you,

      Elizabeth

    • January 24, 2014 12:27 pm

      This is definitely a work of art. Beautifully written ros,

      Elizabeth

  8. January 24, 2014 3:29 am

    This prompt had me working, reworking, reworking, etc.
    http://laughwithme45.blogspot.com/2014/01/what-do-you-see.html
    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • January 24, 2014 2:34 pm

      You pose a very deep and possibly disturbing question, Robyn,

      Elizabeth

    • January 24, 2014 2:53 pm

      I really like your very human prophet/poet, Barbara,

      Elizabeth

    • January 24, 2014 3:02 pm

      Bone-rattling truth is never boring, Misky.

      Elizabeth

  9. January 24, 2014 2:06 pm

    Elizabeth, a smile spread over my face as I read your piece and followed the link to The Call – a poem which had a profound effect of me when you first posted it, and a printed copy of which is still stuck to the side of my computer to read often. I may come back with a poem of my own, but am thinking taking a restorative break from poeming, as I am not satisfied with what I am writing these days.

    • January 24, 2014 3:04 pm

      A suggestion? Take six or seven words from The Call…and do a wordle,

      Hugs to you, Viv

      PS There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking a break.

  10. January 24, 2014 2:45 pm

    Love the prompt, Elizabeth. Hope find energy and time to write to it.

    Pamela

    • January 24, 2014 2:46 pm

      *hope to find*

    • January 24, 2014 3:06 pm

      Ditto, what I said to Viv…there really is nothing wrong with resting a while,

      Elizabeth

  11. January 24, 2014 4:24 pm

    Thank you, Elizabeth for this prompt and I also want to thank Robyn Greenhouse. I noticed this site on her blog, so decided to give this a try. http://mainelymugups.blogspot.com/2014/01/a-prophet.html

    • January 25, 2014 8:39 am

      Your comment section wouldn’t accept my offering, sorry. Your story verse is clear and points out both the rewards and down side of living with the prophet energy. Thanks for joining us,

      Elizabeth

  12. January 24, 2014 4:29 pm

    I’m fairly certain I’m the one who needs the break. Yup, another one,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/from-prophet-to-poet-and-back-again/

    Elizabeth

  13. January 26, 2014 8:39 am

    please, please check my work out, and share it with your followers if you like them. I’d really appreciate criticisms from a blogger like you!! thanks!! http://www.ticktockgrow.wordpress.com

  14. January 28, 2014 8:17 pm

    Guess I am really late with this one.

    http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/the-prophet/

Comments are closed.