Skip to content

prompt 183 Let’s Take a Ride

November 14, 2013

Welcome back for our second prompt of November, and many thanks for joining in last week for our bridge prompt. So where are we going this week? We’re on our bikes!

My first bike ride was short, and then I fell over, cracked a rib and bloodied my knees.

(c) Misky Shoots Bicycles 2011

(c) Misky Shoots Bicycles 2011

Let’s write a short, zippy poem with a quick meter — boom-boom-boom. Cut out all the unnecessary words from your draft version, throw away your training wheels, and go for speed and a short burst of words – visual, wind-in-your-hair, zippy. Keep your balance with speed, just like your first sprint on a bicycle. If it helps, keeps each line constrained by syllable count (tanka; cinquain; shadorma or nonet, perhaps?), and yes, I know that our friend Viv will growl, but growling is good exercise for the diaphragm; tightens up those core muscles so you can stay on your bike.

Think of all the things that a bicycle (or tricycle) represents: speed, exercise, balance, momentum, knees, legs, pedals, wheels, bicycle bells, newspaper delivery, vehicular traffic, freedom, fresh air, biking holidays, childhood, flat tyres, playing cards pegged on spokes, bloody knees…

Is your muse confused? Maybe you left yourself stranded on last week’s bridge – if so, use your bicycle to continue your journey.

I hope you have fun stretching those imaginary wheels. Happy biking!

(I took this photo in the loft space of Egeskov castle in Denmark. Here’s a link to their website, if you’re interested. http://www.egeskov.dk/en  )

36 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2013 2:18 am

    I’ll start the wheels rolling! http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2013/11/14/we-had-a-need-for-speed/

  2. November 14, 2013 3:47 am

    Going to have to do two then this week. I like the haibun format for the ‘story’ –
    But I also like short forms. 😉

  3. November 14, 2013 4:17 am

    Good morning, Misky. I’ll be back with something. Love the pic and prompt.

    Pamela

    • November 14, 2013 6:16 am

      Good afternoon, Pamela! I’ll be here. And I’m glad that you enjoyed the photo and prompt. I hope your muse is happy with it, too.

  4. November 14, 2013 4:32 am

    The shorter piece(s) – I’ll work on the story soon this week 🙂

    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/11/14/biking-wwp-183/

    Morning all – Little ones arriving soon enough…

    • November 14, 2013 6:16 am

      Excellent. I’m popping over to read it now, Jules.

  5. November 14, 2013 5:57 am

    Here’s a start
    http://wp.me/pdTja-4HS

    Try for better, later

    • November 14, 2013 6:21 am

      Completely and totally delightful, Barbara. Thank you for the smile.

  6. November 14, 2013 7:58 am

    Had great time with this one, here’s what came of the prompt:

    http://warningthestars.blogspot.com/2013/11/of-morning-and-manta-poem.html

    • November 15, 2013 3:20 am

      I thoroughly enjoyable read, Miss Stacy. Yes, I do like the idea of slipping away to a warm Spanish-speaking country right now. The cold is upon us sooner than I’d hoped. Thank you for your lovely poem. (ps, I had problems posting to your blog, so I’ve commented here. I’ll try again later in the day).

  7. November 14, 2013 4:04 pm

    I’ve had this memory waiting to be a poem for a long time…thank you, Misky.

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2013/11/14/moonlight-ride/

  8. November 15, 2013 3:53 am

    Pedal Power

    Pedals and feet
    Greet but don’t go
    Straight though

    Upright and uptight
    Gravity’s grip tips
    Pulls me down slow

    Two uncles full
    Of pushing power
    Drained of gas
    Within the hour

    Tried and tried
    And tried til blue
    They both quit
    So I did too

    Walked my bike
    Sad back to home
    Pondering dreams
    Of riding and roam

    But there was a will
    There was a way
    Had to let my bike
    Have its way

    Off to the station
    To inflate the tires
    Ride and roam
    Still my desire

    No uncle power
    No one by my side
    Tried again
    To win my pride

    Pedals and feet
    Greet churning
    Turning
    To go real slow

    Hands and handlebars
    Pedals and feet
    Beginning in motion
    Quite a feat

    Pushing and steering
    Full of pedal power
    Riding and roaming
    Not feeling sour

    Balanced and poised
    Feeling the greed
    Pushing and pedaling
    Savoring the speed

    Still riding and roaming
    On the great silver fox
    With the banana seat

    • November 15, 2013 6:09 am

      Oh, Benjamin, this gave me such a wide smile. It’s wonderful how something as simple as a bike can create such vivid memories and freedom to explore. Thanks for writing this lovely poem and posting it for us read.

    • November 15, 2013 6:30 am

      Such a sense of accomplishment when we don’t give up. Nice memories.

    • November 15, 2013 3:22 pm

      This reminds me of the story my hubby tells of when he learned to ride… by himself when he was visiting relatives. Nicely told. Cheers, Jules

  9. November 15, 2013 5:41 am

    Love it when things work…when combining prompts –
    Spell Bound continues here:
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/2-spell-bound-twists/

    • November 15, 2013 6:10 am

      Oh such fun! I’m on my way to read it now, Jules.

  10. November 15, 2013 7:42 am

    Do not ever, ever, ever, ride a mountain bike whose mother was a stubborn mule
    particularly when you are headed down hill and it has a Mind of its own.

    • November 15, 2013 8:45 am

      Oh, Donald, my heart was in my throat on reading that one! Goodness me. 🙂

      • November 15, 2013 9:15 am

        True story, I was in a mountain bike race in Arizona 11 years past. Had shoulder surgery two years ago to repair the damage with which I have been living. Still ride.

        • November 15, 2013 11:29 am

          Carefully, I hope, Donald!

          >

  11. November 15, 2013 3:38 pm

    I swear there’s a bicycle in

    there

    • November 16, 2013 5:51 am

      going round and round the garden on the bike… it is a lovely poem. How could it not be with garlands, the moon and RABBITS! (oh,my)

      • November 16, 2013 6:57 am

        Hey Yousei said the same thing. Are you guys ganging up?

    • November 16, 2013 8:21 am

      I absolutely saw a bicycle in that lovely poem. Splendid writing, as always.

  12. November 17, 2013 12:25 am

    This poem had a heartfelt stoicism about it, and some wonderful wordplay.

  13. November 17, 2013 4:40 am

    Hi, everyone! Here’s my attempt: http://maelstromonthemoon.blogspot.de/2013/11/training-wheels.html

    • November 17, 2013 7:27 am

      I loved that poem, Andra. So wonderfully memorable. Thanks for joining in.

Leave a Reply

