Skip to content

prompt 179 “Food, Glorious Food”

October 17, 2013
by

 

mexico city, mexico market

Market in Mexico City, Mexico. (Courtesy of Wikicommons)

Good morning, dear poets. I’m back again with another prompt for you. Let’s write about food; it’s one of my favourite subjects to write about, though, honestly, I haven’t done much writing on the subject lately.

However I always get a sense of aliveness when walking into a green grocer here. The colours simply beg you to buy and try them. I have bought some varieties of fruit that take some getting used to, and some you never do.

So tell us about the food you love to eat, prepare, or serve and share with others, or just anything you want to write about food. I’m looking forward to your poems to this prompt. I know a few of you are food lovers out there.

I have included a poem of mine written to one of Margo Roby’s prompts back in January 2012 (when I had time to write.) I miss those days.

Have fun writing.

Pamela

“All the Berries have Different Names”

Maybe weighing words
is a like a visit to the grocers

where piles of shapes
in different hues fill

visions — greens, cafes, reds,
in rows on aisles of bare wood

floors, in warm air confining
capsicum, thyme, rosemary leaves

A journey into another language
where tangerines are sierra

sweetness, and leeks lean proud
against glossy, purple eggplants

But pronunciation rolls
awkwardly off my tongue when

seeking an unusual fruit
I am a spiked, unyielding,

artichoke in hand,
preferring to present

this with finesse — a dash of
chili sprinkled on a mango

Perfection’s freshness when
pen sheds paper, its

serration a fringe to
segue beyond borders,

like golden olive oil
drizzled on green beans.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2013 6:34 am

    Your food metaphors for writing are so fresh, Pamela. Mine turned out kind of drear.

    we sat in grandma’s kitchen

  2. October 17, 2013 7:56 am

    I am going to re-post a poem I wrote in 2009. I cannot explain any better than with this effort why we Live, love, work, play and eat in the South. It’s all about food. I’m cooking Pumpkin Crisp tonight for dessert.

  3. October 18, 2013 12:48 am

    Here’s little offering for the week.

    http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/the-hungry-little-trout/

  4. October 18, 2013 2:46 am

    “The Bad Son” is empty-handed at Scrambled, Not fried

  5. October 18, 2013 9:37 am

    http://monthofapril2008.blogspot.com/2013/10/food-glorious-food.html

    A traditional south indian fare… Slurp slurp- maybe? 🙂

  6. October 18, 2013 12:16 pm

    This week I wrote about Ice Cream:

    http://ravenswingpoetry.com/2013/10/18/ice-cream/

    -Nicole

  7. October 18, 2013 5:08 pm

    I had to think about this for a bit. Didn’t go the favorite route…thought that might have helped.
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/amber-waves-wwp-179/

  8. October 19, 2013 10:26 pm

    thanks Pamela. your poem images are always so rich with place – very nice – might, maybe even become a prompt sometime.

    here, my usual odd prompt response, eating this

  9. October 21, 2013 12:43 pm

    This one came to me a few weeks ago and the timing was a good fit with the prompt. Here is my take:

    http://1lostbeat.blogspot.com/2013/10/procrastinators-stew.html

  10. October 21, 2013 4:13 pm

    Muskrat Feeds is about something our neighbors & relatives used to do in the winter, but not any more, as too much building has taken place, the swamps are either drained or turned into “ponds” & the muskrats have mostly moved across the lake to Canada where there are places that are still wild.

    Muskrat Feeds Marianv.blog.co.uk

Leave a Reply

