Skip to content

prompt 166 what’s it like to be your age?

July 18, 2013

What’s it like to be your age?
 
We are each unique in age (and place). The others of us, we don’t really know, what it means to be a certain age in this time and place we all inhabit now. Only you can inform of us your experience.
 
Think to the events both large and small that have had impact upon your life from youth and on. What has changed, and you were there for that transition. Did you walk on the moon? Or watch it live on TV? Remember before and after there was a polio vaccine? Was there a time before computers in your life? Remember no remote controls, and you had to get out of your chair to change the channel? Radio, no TV? (Am I giving too much away personally?) These are big obvious external realities. But dig a little deeper too. Look for the small colorations that yet inhabit how you think and even perceive your world.
 
Take a broad look and consider what you’d like to say that tells us “others” how it was and is for you. Not so much a history review, but how that history lives inside your skin. Make it as thoughtful or emotional as you wish. Do you step spryly or favor a weaker leg? Aches and pains? Do you face a crisis more calmly now from experience? How’s your “balance”, either physically or emotionally?
 
Direct your focus however you wish. Need not be an essay, maybe just relate through a few images or attitudes. All your choice. They say the young don’t appreciate the older generations, as well the older don’t understand the young. Here’s your chance to make a bridge. Imagine you’re listening from the outside. What would you want to ask of yourself?
 
Write down some notes, your history that has meaning for you, your attributes, thoughts, feelings, a painting in words if you wish. Then toss it out and write what sticks in your mind to say. Whatever you get, that will be just fine.
 
Sometimes the smallest moments tell the most.
 
What can we learn from your life experience?

17 Comments
  1. July 18, 2013 4:00 am

    Inspiring tell-tale prompt, Neil. 🙂

  2. July 18, 2013 5:18 am

    Not my age, but a time that changed everything I knew: Walt at 13

    http://aleerily.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/1969/

  3. July 18, 2013 8:01 am

    A general sort of poem: Where Were You When

  4. July 18, 2013 10:50 am

    I wasn’t sure where I was going with this, but then another line from a friend’s blog as well as my enjoyment of Alice in Wonderland and the magic of the mirror showed me this way…
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/kindred-wwp-166/

  5. July 18, 2013 10:45 pm

    Interesting prompt. Here’s my attempt: http://andrewgearypoetry.wordpress.com/2013/07/19/climbing/

  6. July 19, 2013 2:11 am

    Apologies for going missing for so long. I couldn’t resist this prompt, though: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2013/07/19/ageing-disgracefully/

  7. July 20, 2013 7:25 pm

    What I know now…

    Because I knew the world when it was younger, more free and held more hope, because I grew up an a family and neighborhood that included people with all kinds of accents,
    Because the little children on my street could run around in just a diaper or a pair of underpants, because the old people would still stop and bless themselves when the Angelus bells rang and the family next door ate by candlelight on Friday nights. Because grown-ups were always called Mrs. or Mr. or Miss and we said “Yessir” and “Yes ma’am” when speaking to people older than us . Because the snow was clean enough to make snow cones. Because everybody had a garden and we never cut across people’s yards. Washing hung out on clotheslines. Lawnmowers were pushed. We were taught not to make jokes about being “on relief” or WPA. Ice men delivered ice and milk men brought their milk in small wagons pulled by horses.

    I can still hear (faintly) the lonesome whistle of a steam engine. Count the number of cars that rattled past on a Railroad street crossing.

    I have lived long enough to learn that some “Chickens come home to roost.” I have learned that change is not always for the better.

    When I was a child, time was endless and days and nights could go on forever. Now that I am old, I have learned how everything gets crammed together at the end. I have heard the remark “A good thing Grandpa, or Grandma, didn’t live to see this.” I have learned that the dead are not very far away from us. I am still happy to hear the news that somebody is expecting a baby.

    • July 21, 2013 3:41 am

      I found this absolutely inspiring, Marian.

  8. July 21, 2013 2:01 am

    Had another go at it.

    Bella remembers an old trunk

    And look what quote I found:

    “You get older, gain knowledge and experience, but inside you don’t grow as a person one little bit. Take away the outer appearance and the superficial knowledge and what’s left is no better than a child.”

    — Hiroyuki Kano of Ōmu Shinrikyō
    from Haruki Murakami’s Underground: The Tokyo Gas Attack and the Japanese Psyche

  9. July 22, 2013 11:59 am

    Time and technology have changed how I leave my Imprints.

    -Nicole

  10. aprille permalink
    July 24, 2013 8:16 am

    Hello, my first visit here and the prompts look fascinating, as do the poems written to them.
    My attempt can be found
    HERE

  11. July 24, 2013 3:03 pm

    http://purplesplatitudes.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/at-my-age/

    Hopefully, I understood how this works with posting on which days lol

Comments are closed.