Skip to content

prompt 159 Wizard of Oz revisited

May 28, 2013

We know this is very early and the time is out of sync and all. It’s Tuesday in the Northern Hemisphere and Wednesday in the Southern Hemisphere. But what if we swopped places? What if you’re no longer in the place that you are? Does it mean you would have time-travelled? Something that happens when you fly between time zones anyway. That’s what we’re doing for this week’s prompt. We’re (i.e. your protagonist is) travelling. If you haven’t posted a poem to the last prompt, you can still do so. It’s just that we’re now travelling at different velocities. But don’t we do that anyway, each one of us? And don’t we also find ourselves in a different place each time?

Do you read fiction? The sort of fiction where the protagonist goes through a storm/hole/well/mirror/door? Well, this is what you will have the protagonist do. Your protagonist will permeate some wall/door/mirror thing and enter a parallel universe, one which obviously is very different from the usual space he/she was inhabiting. You don’t have to do it literally if you don’t want to. The point is to place the protagonist in a strange place, so he/she will be thinking, how bizarre! Or at the very least, how interesting! The place is unfamiliar. The protagonist visits a strange land, stumbles into alien territory. You know, like Dorothy/Alice/Gulliver, etc etc. What is in this landscape? Who is there? Is it a dream or part of the story? Is this landscape the protagonist’s imagination? What does it all mean? How does it relate to who the protagonist is? Is it part of a quest? This is the place marked X on the map which says, “here there be dragons/monsters/centaurs/unicorns!” Is this where dreams come true? Is this where the protagonist undertakes a journey he/she needs to realize destiny? Or is this part of a psychic exploration? Whatever it is, we’re not in Kansas anymore!

So this is the sixth poem in the series. We’re working on ten prompts for the series. You may choose to write selectively to any prompt as if it’s a stand alone prompt or you may choose to write a series of poems on the protagonist. The choice is yours. You are not compelled to write ten poems on the protagonist. Only if you want to.
Please link your poem to this post once it’s written. You have all week to write. Next Thursday, we’ll see you for a new prompt. Like we said, you are free to write a series or treat these prompts as separate jumping off points for a new poem. However, if you choose to write a series, then the idea is that the protagonist will somehow tie all your poems together so there’s a kind of storyline going on. You are taking your protagonist on a journey one prompt at a time.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2013 5:16 pm

    Well, if you are following the saga, my poem for this prompt is

    here.

  2. May 29, 2013 4:27 am

    What do you do when your character is already in Wonderland? http://wp.me/pdTja-4jD

  3. May 29, 2013 5:47 am

    I have an inkling of where to go…You’ve picked one of my favorite stories of all time…
    I have over 25 books of the Wizard of OZ and in several languages! Not that I can read them all… But I most likely will not be posting until later today as it will be a full day with my grandson… Thanks for this prompt, I know I’ll have fun with it.

  4. May 29, 2013 7:11 am

    I didn’t think this would be ready so soon, but I thought bout it last night, dreamed a little & suddenly the whole thing made erfect sense. (At least to me, it makes sense, others may have another opinion.) On Marianv.blog.co.uk

    • May 29, 2013 4:39 pm

      A wonderful thing being a tree in your story of war and liberty. (I can’t comment on blog, Marian.)

  5. May 29, 2013 8:54 am

    Yay – I needed the early prompt! 😉
    My mind’s eye has seen where Olivia will go…now, just to capture it in words. (I’ll be back.)

    • May 29, 2013 5:48 pm

      Your mind’s eye is about to be translated to words. *drum roll*

  6. May 29, 2013 6:07 pm

    Up, up and away…

    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/we-write-poems-159-p6-mistaken-identity/

    I did have fun. After the first writing I turned it into one concrete poem which evolved…into…
    Well I can’t give everything away now can I? You’ll have to go and see 🙂

    Back tomorrow to attempt some reading. Another full day with my little guy.

  7. May 29, 2013 11:02 pm

    Nice; i posted this at my blog in April Oz

    much love…

  8. May 30, 2013 8:09 am

    Greetings from rain-soaked, squidgy England. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/on-a-sheet-of-wind/

  9. May 30, 2013 9:57 am

    Couldn’t quite find the ending until I grabbed another prompt. Sorry I’m late,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/interview-with-miz-anastasia-fit-in-which-she-does-all-the-talking/

    Elizabeth

  10. May 30, 2013 12:02 pm

    I didn’t see this prompt until just now, so the poem is pure doggerel: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/time-traveller-doggerel-poseidon-6/

    • May 31, 2013 6:34 pm

      I love your poem series! Viv, if you’re not subscribed to WWP, you could “like” WWP on FB so you won’t miss a posting. We’ll try and behave and stick to timelines..try we said.

      • June 2, 2013 11:57 pm

        Every time I try to sign up, it tells me my user name is invalid. I used to be a “follower” but haven’t had a WWP email for yonks. That said, WWP is always visited by me regularly, specially Wednesdays and Thursdays, but the timetable seems to be different nowadays.

  11. May 31, 2013 3:00 pm

    Irene, does it count if Marlene is surrounded by the crumbling garden and hasn’t left the cellar as of yet? That darn Marlene doesn’t want to come out of the cellar. I will be round to read other this evening. Thanks for the prompts, Irene.

    Pamela

    • May 31, 2013 6:52 pm

      Of course it counts. But she absolutely has to come out of it next week. The prompt will ask her to, that’s the thing.

  12. June 1, 2013 11:40 pm

    Just another piece of the story.

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/awakening-a-body-once-living/

    Elizabeth

  13. June 3, 2013 5:31 am

    I have another part 2 I wanted her to be closer to the sensorium so if the next prompt throws me for a loop haha

    http://mindlovemisery.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/absinthe-and-the-netherworld-2/

  14. June 3, 2013 8:55 am

    i really enjoyed playing with this prompt! it sort of took me in it’s own direction. here is my poem: http://warningthestars.blogspot.com/2013/05/alice-in-clouds-poem.html

  15. June 5, 2013 12:40 pm

    Helen has gone “Through the Looking Glass” this week.

    I am still waaaay behind on reading everyone else’s. I’ll hopefully catch up soon.

    -Nicole

  16. June 6, 2013 4:06 pm

    Since I did not allow my dogs to speak for themselves, I sent them on an adventure.

    http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/marion-and-mur…-visit-a-ranch/

Leave a Reply

