Skip to content

prompt 155 A red-letter day

May 8, 2013

Welcome back. You’ve described the usual. Now describe a red-letter day. It could be a recollection or it could be a reference. Or it could be just about feeling special. In fact that is what you should actually aim for. What made the protagonist feel special? What is indelible? The day the protagonist discovered a passion for something maybe. It can be a public occasion. It can be completely internal. You may wish to take one element from the first poem and develop it. And just to jazz things up, and if it fits the story of your protagonist, drop the name of a celebrity. You know, it could add some razzmatazz or glamor and perhaps, glamor is what the protagonist needs. Substitute glamor as needed. A margarita?

So this is the second poem in the series.

You can link your poem to this post once it’s written. You have all week to write. Next Thursday, we’ll see you for a new prompt. Hint hint: It’ll have to feature the protagonist. The idea is that the protagonist will somehow tie all your poems together so there’s a kind of storyline going on. We’ll explore. We’ll make the ordinary extraordinary.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 12:02 am

    Yesterday was a red letter day for those surrounding my protagonist http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/more-news-from-poseidon/

    Now I must see if I can make him happy. I have some plans for him, but they don’t fit this prompt, so I shall have to think again!

  2. May 9, 2013 5:06 am

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2013/05/identifying-her-heart-wwp-115.html

    ordinary and extraordinary both have …eyes. Interesting to see what they see.

    • May 9, 2013 7:32 am

      Just an added explanation of my ‘name’ choice of ‘Id’:

      Cannot instinct have a name? Perhaps Rebel would have been a better choice for a name? However, I’ve always been a rule breaker. Best to write about what one knows…and how one is comfortable doing so.

      “Know thyself” and all.
      And is it also truth that our muse is really that which is within us? ‘Me, myself and I…and all that. 🙂

      • May 9, 2013 3:15 pm

        Me, myself and I…I like that. Definitely go with your own truth, so write on!

        • May 9, 2013 3:25 pm

          Jules, I tried to leave a comment on your site, but once again, I disappeared each time I tried. I like what you’ve done so far and look forward to more,

          Elizabeth

      • May 13, 2013 3:50 am

        I’ve tried twice to post to your blog, Jules, but it’s chucking it away and not even showing the usual “Waiting for moderation”.

  3. May 9, 2013 6:41 am

    Have a busy day ahead of me, will be back later to read and comment. Thanks Irene, this is turning out to be a very interesting project.

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/old-frank-at-the-feed-store-remembers/

    Elizabeth

  4. May 9, 2013 2:29 pm

    Irene, this is one of the best prompts ever. Thank you.

    Pamela

    http://wordsandthoughtspjs.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/marlene-part-two-red-letter-day/

    • May 9, 2013 3:21 pm

      So glad you’re rolling on this ride. Actually it feels like a really slow roller coaster. I think you guys can’t wait to get on the Battlestar Galactica. I see Paula joining us, yay!

  5. May 9, 2013 3:40 pm

    Moving onward. (how many more installments, Irene?)
    http://briarcat.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/for-wwp-red-letter/

    • May 9, 2013 3:58 pm

      I was hoping someone would write about the protagonist’s birth. Fantastic & moody, Barbara.
      I was thinking ten. Ten would be a decent number for a series don’t ya think?

      • May 9, 2013 4:04 pm

        Is good. Had something I wanted to use & was wondering how long to hold it.

  6. May 9, 2013 6:11 pm

    Here’s the link to mine, if you hadn’t gotten there already.

    miz fish explains the origin of name

  7. May 9, 2013 9:27 pm

    I think it has a little more positive elements this time!

    http://mindlovemisery.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/absinthe-and-her-rabbits/

  8. May 10, 2013 10:06 am

    Not so sure Olivia had a “red letter DAY”…but she sure has had a red letter LIFE…

    http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/olivia-and-the-extraordinary/

  9. May 13, 2013 12:34 am

    The second I have written to this prompt – the first, very long poem needs work and may yet be submitted somewhere. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/red-letter-day/

  10. May 13, 2013 3:40 am

    I had to wait while my muse chewed this one over in my head for a few days. 🙂

    http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/the-house-on-damper-hill/

  11. May 13, 2013 10:40 am

    Would you like to see Helen R. Jones fly? We have Liftoff!.

    -Nicole

  12. May 14, 2013 9:08 am

    My protaganist remembers a Red Letter Day at my blog Marianv.blog.co.uk

    • May 15, 2013 5:47 pm

      My comment doesn’t register so here it:

      Your writing is so cinematic, Marian. This reads like a voiceover. I hope you write on. You’re a storyteller.

  13. May 15, 2013 8:52 pm

    I am late with this one, but here it is: http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/day-at-the-fair/

  14. May 16, 2013 8:29 pm

    My poems are not linking up, so just visit: http://purplepeninportland
    and look for them. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

