Skip to content

prompt 150 sounds like a wordle

April 4, 2013

  
little pencilHow’s your April poem challenge going for you all?  Warming up?
Here’s something I hope will be a pleasure to do.
 
The poem prompt.
Have a seat somewhere.  Be comfortable.  Inside or outdoors, you decide.  And no, you don’t need to close your eyes!  Just listen.  (and OK, you can walk too, if that’s what you want)
 
Notepad in hand, write down a list of sounds you hear.  Loud, obvious or subtle, barely audible.  Man-made or natural.  Be specific.  More than one word is alright, but keep it to a few, 2 or 3 at most per item.  Keep listening till you have 6 to 10 sounds or so on your list.
 
OK, the poem now.  Use those single sound words (or simple descriptors) as a wordle source to write your poem.  The poem can be about anything, any form you want – like wordle poems are.
 
That’s the prompt.  Make your ears happy.  Simple huh?
 
wewritepoems-bannerHere’s the other half of our new poem prompt-and-response cycle.
 
Some of you really liked taking a week to let your poems simmer, just as we’ve done it thus far.  Some folks write fast, want to respond when they are ready to go, and we respect that too.  I’d like us to have it the way that works best for each of us.
 
So now this “prompt” posting is immediately open for you to post your poem links.  Right now, tomorrow, or a week from now.  At least for now we’ll post a “reminder” the following Wednesday – both to post your links if not already done AND to come read the poems written by others.  But yea, put your poem links right here!
 
This is a little bit of an honor system, remembering to read poems by those of us who write more slowly.  That’s up to all of us.
 
Happy poem writing!

7 Comments
  1. April 4, 2013 4:35 am

    Here’s my sound poem. http://miskpad.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/blinks-of-time/

    ~ Misky

  2. April 5, 2013 10:01 am

    Great Idea! I did a literal sound post of a friends tree filled with birds on Wednesday. Maybe someone who can’t get out could use this. http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/6150/
    I really am writing poems too.

  3. April 8, 2013 10:14 pm

    I’ve had the list for days, but couldn’t find the right place for the sounds.
    http://mizquickly.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/wwp-walks-like-a-wordle/

    • April 9, 2013 1:31 am

      This *is* the right place. ūüėÄ
      And I almost forgot we could post anytime once the prompt comes out.

  4. April 10, 2013 5:28 am

    I did forget that we could post anytime. I picked up my sounds yesterday and wrote this morning…Thanks to a new form I …and Miz Q, I played what I call ‘stuff the prompt’ because I used the same piece for two (or more) prompts. Enjoy.

    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/miz-q-10wwp-150-a-spring-avalanche-of-sound/

  5. April 10, 2013 6:45 pm

    Things have been very, very busy lately and this is a poem I wrote when I was fifteen. I hope it is okay to cull the archives.

Comments are closed.