Skip to content

Prompt #143 Le Premier Bisou

February 14, 2013

Le Premier Bisou
We Write Poems:
  

embroidery on antique fabric 2010 Iviva Olenick    click to enlarge

embroidery on antique fabric 2010 Iviva Olenick click to enlarge

Le (the) is maculine because bisou (kiss) is masculine, as is premier (first).  Voilà!

The First Kiss    Mais oui!  And, just who doesn’t remember their first kiss? Was it romantic?  Was it just plain awful?  Were your eyes open or closed?

A good book increases my heartbeat as if I’m prey, melts my insides in anticipation of a first kiss, immerses me in its depths.  ~Carmen de Sousa

Did your first kiss live up to such eager anticipation?

No matter if the experience was positive, negative or something in-between, there is nothing quite like the first kiss.  Even though you’re taking a plunge into dark waters, first kisses are so full of possibilites and there’s no way to tell what would happen unless and until you take the plunge.

With a Happy Valentine’s Day upon us, let’s do some reminiscing.  In poetic form take a plunge and ….

Describe a first kiss.

No formal poetry lessons required for this prompt.  No need to feel too mentally challenged.  But, that doesn’t mean that you couldn’t get all iambic pentameter on us and write a sonnet or two.  Or then …. maybe a Hallmark ‘greeting’ is what comes to mind.  There are no rules or scholarly expectatons for this prompt.

In fact … just some Romantic fun or NOT, as the case may be.

Valentine card
     ~Julie
  
Come back to leave a link to your poem next Wednesday when you see our second follow-up post called, It’s Post Your Poems Day!  If you have questions about We Write Poems and our prompt-and-poem process, or if you are new here at WWP, please read our about page.

5 Comments
  1. February 18, 2013 6:18 am

    Great prompt, Jules!!! My wheels-mental cogs are turning. 🙂 Thank you!

    • February 18, 2013 4:51 pm

      Thank you Hannah… positive feedback is always so welcome. Must admit to having second thoughts about this being a bit too frivolous but it was fun to do and I couldn’t resist the romance of V Day! Don’t overwork the ‘wheels’ too much. Remember…. doesn’t have to be THE first kiss ever. Any old first kiss will do.

      • February 18, 2013 5:17 pm

        Oh, phew!! I WAS over-working!! I can’t remember my first!! Should I be embarrassed?! 😉

        • February 18, 2013 5:28 pm

          No red cheeks at all. Must not have been too earth-shattering to be forgotten. I probably should have forgotten mine, as it was in the first grade, but it remains with me still. Speaking of forgotten, I owe you that ‘Hannah’ story that I promised months ago. One day soon I will surprise you… it’s just a cute anecdote but thought you would enjoy it.

        • February 19, 2013 5:27 am

          Yes, that is the conclusion I’ve arrived at…not memorable…that’s okay. Thank you for thinking of me @ the anecdote, Jules!! No rush…I’m not going any where. 🙂

Comments are closed.