Skip to content

In the Light of this day

December 14, 2012

 

In the light of this day,

For what sadness must be, for what pain has been now presented at our door, as it is somewhere in this world every single day. We can only receive what is given, whether that was our desire or not. What we are responsible for is simply, directly the response of our own lives and heart.

Never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.
     ~John Donne

It doesn’t interest me what planets are squaring your moon…

I want to know if you have touched the centre of your own sorrow

if you have been opened by life’s betrayals

or have become shrivelled and closed

from fear of further pain.



I want to know if you can sit with pain

mine or your own

without moving to hide it

or fade it

or fix it.

I want to know if you can see Beauty

even when it is not pretty

every day.

And if you can source your own life

from its presence.



It doesn’t interest me who you know

or how you came to be here.

I want to know if you will stand

in the centre of the fire

with me

and not shrink back.


It doesn’t interest me where or what or with whom
you have studied.

I want to know what sustains you

from the inside

when all else falls away.

     ~excerpts from The Invitation by Oriah

May all beings awaken together.

     ~the staff of We Write Poems

11 Comments
  1. December 14, 2012 4:35 pm

    Thank you…I don’t have words at this moment.:-[

    • December 14, 2012 4:39 pm

      I hope it is okay….I posted this on my facebook wall…if you wish, I can remove it. I didn’t have the strength to think of how to email everyone…print and email were the only choices, and I am alone, with family and most friends far away and wanted to share this.

      • December 14, 2012 4:56 pm

        You are more than welcome to share our response.

        We are in truth thankful if those words and sentiments are of service to you, and thank you for your response. ~neil

  2. December 14, 2012 8:32 pm

    Perfect.

    • December 15, 2012 4:23 am

      Thank you. Embracing the best of sentiment is important right now, this day – and every day.

  3. December 15, 2012 2:53 am

    We Write Poems and Wonderful Writing Friends –
    Thank you for sharing: In Light of this Day
    My own theme for my daily pieces is ‘Light’ this month…

    In respectful honor of Sandy Hook Elementary, Newton, CT, USA

    Light
    Innocence…
    Gone.
    Healing…
    Together!

    © JP/davh

    • December 15, 2012 4:26 am

      Thank you too for sharing with us. May we not so much remember this one day, but keep to heart who we most want to be in all our living days.

  4. December 17, 2012 8:33 am

    I’d like to share my own response to this tragedy: “Candles

    -Nicole

    • December 17, 2012 9:22 am

      Thank you Nicole. Your response is beautifully expressed.

  5. December 17, 2012 3:24 pm

    Thank you for these words and for what they ask of each of us,

    Elizabeth

    • December 19, 2012 6:49 pm

      Thank you Elizabeth. More to come, as you’ll soon see. I’m not of a mind or heart to just casually allow this moment fade away. And if you have any specific thoughts in this regard I’d surely value your suggestions my friend.

      Tonight’s next prompt will more address this issue for us.

      Regards, Neil

Comments are closed.