Skip to content

Prompt #130, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

November 7, 2012

  

Osmosis

absorbing poetic style

We Write Poems:  

Greetings all you busy poem-a-day poets (and you not-a-poem-a-day poets too).

Not to overload your plates, we’ll not repeat the prompt.  But in essence we asked you to become quietly aware and open to the process of less conscious or deliberate absorption of another writers style through the simple act of reading.  Really, this is perhaps the most common means by which we learn near anything.  So we asked you to read a little, let that simmer for a time, then write while allowing that “other sensibility” to exist within the words, the poem you write.

If you recall, it would be more instructive for the rest of us if you tell us who that other writer was for you (and perhaps a short sample of their work), along with any observations about this experience for yourself.

Time now please to dip the ladle and share with us your results!

**********

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

12 Comments
  1. November 7, 2012 1:28 am

    I revelled in this prompt: thank you Neil. My response is here: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/the-gift/

  2. November 7, 2012 1:44 am

    This really was interesting. Thanks

    https://briarcat.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/osmosis/

  3. November 7, 2012 1:50 am

    I combined this prompt with another one and here is the result: http://maelstromonthemoon.blogspot.ro/2012/11/songs-of-birth.html

  4. November 7, 2012 2:24 am

    Thoroughly enjoyed this prompt. Thanks! http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/the-last-edge-of-romance/

  5. November 7, 2012 5:47 am

    Perhaps I’ll try this another time – and follow the rules…but this time I didn’t.

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/11/wwp-130-style.html

  6. November 7, 2012 6:13 am

    A quickie attempt.

    transcriptions of a supermarket in California

  7. November 7, 2012 6:40 am

    This week, I tried to call up the Ancient Fire….

    -Nicole

  8. November 7, 2012 8:22 am

    Not thrilled with the result, but here is my attempt at an Aimee Nezhukumatathil poem, more or less: Windfall

  9. November 7, 2012 8:42 am

    An early poetic influence

  10. November 7, 2012 10:23 am

    As much as I admire the writer I chose, I don’t think my poem captured the flavor of many of his. But, I did post it!

  11. November 7, 2012 10:29 am

    Hello/Good Day

    Enjoyed the prompt as I did recall poets I enjoy. I cannot write like them. I pursued my current love, the sonnet.

Comments are closed.