Skip to content

Prompt #116, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

August 1, 2012

  

Unexpected Descriptions

a community poem prompt

  
We Write Poems:  

Joseph asked us to observe and consider common objects you might encounter on a given day.   So did you heighten your observation prowess in the past week? The challenge is to pick the first object that you see and write about it in a completely unexpected way. Writing is observing firstly, isn’t it? Then did you cast your observations into a poem, describing the selected object or moment in an uncommon light, more than the mere literal?

Sincere thanks to Joseph for suggesting a thought-provoking prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

36 Comments
  1. Irene permalink*
    August 1, 2012 1:34 am

    Well, Elizabeth, my poem came unexpectedly too, so I’m grateful.

    a wordy kind of love

  2. August 1, 2012 2:00 am

    Irene, I found the source rather quickly but the poem took some amount of digging. I’m satisfied and grateful,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/dust/

    • Irene permalink*
      August 1, 2012 2:01 am

      I’m always grateful for poems, and the prompts that inspire them. If not, nothingness!

      • August 1, 2012 11:15 am

        I’ve been grateful for well over half of my existence that poetry found me and then decided to stick around. And I couldn’t agree with you more: nothingness is life without it,

        Elizabeth

  3. August 1, 2012 2:39 am

    Itchy trigger finger. The view from here frew me to the most important tool on my desk as per the link above!

    • Irene permalink*
      August 1, 2012 3:23 am

      Walt, I have it stuck into my desk file box.

    • August 1, 2012 10:28 am

      Next to the bed, on a special little stool Riley made in wood shop class!!

  4. August 1, 2012 4:59 am

    http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/a-cure-for-overheating/ Summer was last week. It’s gone chilly again and the laundry is in the garage.

  5. August 1, 2012 6:33 am

    This is my first time posting here. I guess it turned out a little darker than intended, but sometimes it just comes out that way. Anyways, it was a fun exercise!
    http://catherinemargot.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/ode-to-a-water-fountain/

  6. August 1, 2012 6:53 am

    This was a fun one. http://briarcat.wordpress.com/category/prompts-2/wwp/

  7. August 1, 2012 6:55 am

    Like Catherine, this is my first time of posting here, quite a find, I think, with thanks to vivinfrance 🙂

    http://journalread.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/mother-of-pearl/

  8. August 1, 2012 6:56 am

    My first time posting here too, with thanks to vivinfrance for the tip-off.

    http://journalread.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/mother-of-pearl/

  9. August 1, 2012 9:22 am

    A fun prompt. Am new to this site. Title: “Entrance and Exit”

    http://www.writing.com/main/portfolio/view/frabjous/last_item_id/1882983

  10. August 1, 2012 10:06 am

    Another attempt: Sunday at the Cafe

    • August 1, 2012 10:18 am

      Joseph, your first poem was an inspiration for me. I could not help but allow my wings to spread so I could fly past my usual ranty runons. I mean this sincerely, thank you, friend. Amy

  11. August 1, 2012 10:17 am

    Joseph was an excellent springboard (Olympic pun intended!). Peace, Amy http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/07/31/canvas-wwp-abc-poets-united/

  12. August 1, 2012 1:45 pm

    A bit late in the day…Though I wrote it last week – enjoy this uncommon object:

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/08/wwp-116-she-stands-by-sea-shore.html

    • August 2, 2012 6:16 am

      I’ve never been inside…Just seen ‘her’ in passing. But I wanted to find something ‘unusual’ –
      ‘She’ holds no special meaning for me other than being unique. Passed her by quiet often when I lived in New Jersey and we would take day trips to the shore. There are other shapes used for building – while I’ve never been in it either I pass by The Shoe House http://www.shoehouse.us/ periodically too.

  13. August 1, 2012 5:46 pm

    Tough prompt, but I gave it a shot.

  14. August 1, 2012 6:41 pm

    I’m trying really hard to leave my very first contribution here, but this is the third time of trying and I still can’t see the other two (several hours later) … beginning to wonder what I’m doing wrong, never had this happen before … anyway, here we go again, here is mine: https://journalread.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/mother-of-pearl/

    • August 2, 2012 3:44 am

      Hi Polly. Sorry about the delay, but you’re up and posted now. FYI two issues here. First your comment got tagged by Askimet spam filter (not within our control, although we do check and release “not spam” comments as we can). This time too, being a first-poster to this WP site, that requires explicit approval (but not future comments now). However a glitch in the WP process did not email us “comment needing approval” because I guess it came out of the spam release process. (I will let WordPress know about that issue.) So again, sorry for the delay – and welcome here.

      neil

      • August 2, 2012 4:24 am

        Thanks Neil, I guessed it was something to do with my first time of posting … but fancy me being in the trash – duh! 🙂 Glad to make your acquaintance and thank you for your comments on my poem.

        • August 3, 2012 4:38 pm

          Hey, I had many years of being considered trashy. I’m surprised I don’t end up in the Spam Bin more often, ha ha ha. Love, Amy

        • August 3, 2012 11:58 pm

          heh-heh, you are a one, Amy! 😀

  15. August 2, 2012 8:18 am

    …love on several levels: Me Too

  16. August 3, 2012 5:07 pm

    I have LOVED going through these and visiting as many as I could. What a great prompt. Thanks again to all! Amy

    • August 3, 2012 5:54 pm

      That is so sweet, Amy..knowing everyone has their own schtick & busy schedules. Your effort to read counts!

  17. August 5, 2012 7:47 pm

    oops! I wrote this early and then forgot to post it on time. This is called drought.

Comments are closed.