Skip to content

Prompt #111, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

June 27, 2012

  

The naming of things!

“saying what we mean…”

  
We Write Poems:  

Simple as simple is, this week’s prompt.  However simple can be like a river, broad and deep, and what’s that you mean to say?  So says the quote we asked ourselves to respond to now.  What’s it mean?  You get to say!  No wrong answers here.

What if there were a hidden pleasure
in calling one thing
by another’s name?

~Rae Armantrout

What you say?  Time for your poems now.

And PS.  Just back from my two week vacation to Seattle, living out of a box (I exagerate!), using a computer that wasn’t my friend, and now limbering up my home machine, like making honey pour in the winter time!  But off we go.  Do I even have a poem myself?  Let’s all make a wish!
~neil

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Irene permalink*
    June 27, 2012 2:53 am

    Welcome back Neil. Here’s my offering to a *simple* prompt.

    reining in the hydrangeas

  2. June 27, 2012 3:44 am

    “Destroyer” by Another Name

    Shall I call you ” ice”?
    Or should I call you “snow?”
    The word “arctic” lingers on my tongue.
    You may have been a sea that constantly
    Circled the earth around the north pole.

    Those fierce shining daggers
    Their points silently biding their time..
    Ready to lash out in fury
    The moment you decide
    What is wrong, cold and cruel

    You are not the furious blizzard
    Blinding all who stumble into your path,
    But your roar is almost as great.
    They listen for your howl
    When the north-east wind turns nasty,
    When the waves of the ocean
    Crumble the walls of houses and
    Crush cars sinking into the harbor.

    Like them, everything you touch
    Is not – is never – ever the same-

    What then shall I name you?
    What word will I shout when my world
    Crashes down with the roar of the hurricane?
    And everywhere voices are screaming “Save us! Save us!”

    • June 27, 2012 2:04 pm

      “What then shall I name you?
      What word will I shout when my world
      Crashes down with the roar of the hurricane?”

      Indeed. Well written, Marian!

  3. June 27, 2012 4:01 am

    Hi,
    here’s the association I had when I read the quote:
    http://www.thehappyamateur.com/2012/06/untouched-poem.html
    Thank you for the prompt!

  4. June 27, 2012 4:43 am

    My poem is accompanied by a silly giggle as I recall some of the secret names I have named people: hidden pleasure.

  5. June 27, 2012 5:48 am

    While I thought more about what I was called rather than what I would call someone or something else… This is what I came up with: http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/06/wwp-111-bedazzled.html
    But then this prompt could go in so many directions – thanks for another interesting quote and challenge.
    Be back to read after a ‘spell’…

  6. June 27, 2012 6:42 am

    It

  7. June 27, 2012 8:56 am

    First thing I’ve had time to write in a week! Perfume

  8. June 27, 2012 9:44 am

    Here’s a little something!! Smiles to all!

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/unhindered/

  9. June 27, 2012 12:04 pm

    And I forgot to add, NPR’s ‘All Things Considered’ is inviting a poet to write on the news once a month. They should be encouraged.

  10. June 27, 2012 1:13 pm

    Imaginative prompt. Mine is posted.

Leave a Reply

