Skip to content

Prompt #108, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

June 6, 2012

  

Face up to it!

The Body, a series, part 3

  
We Write Poems:  
Whenever there was a pet around in my life, it has always been a cat.  Most cats when they look, they look at your hands – that part of you that brings them food or a friendly stroke, or maybe just sometimes, they’ll look at your feet – that part of a giant human which they need attend, not to get stepped upon.  And rarely, most rarely and by only a few, those that would look upon your face, look you right in your eyes, like they were aware of another being there.  So faces, yes faces count, and it is there that we humans look when we want to know and understand someone else.

So this week we asked you to join in that regard, face to face, and this time – Write a poem about your face.  What’s the story we might see revealed there?  Maybe even a story that your face wants to tell for itself.  How does your face carry you into this world we share?  What are the whispers, what are the howls?  So that’s the topic in the broadest sense, and like always, we invite and hope you’ll surprise us some in how you dare respond.  Time now to face forward and have your say!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 12:41 am

    Leaving for the airport in two hours..I’ll read your posts if ever there’s wifi.

    face off

  2. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    June 6, 2012 1:19 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com.au/2012/06/trapped.html

    I hope mine fits the bill. Enjoy yourself!

  3. June 6, 2012 5:00 am

    Missed this series! The latest installment: Pilgrimage III: The Kiss

  4. June 6, 2012 5:05 am

    Hello everyone! My poem explored the way the face can be telling in a given circumstance. Thank you!

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/passing-mask/

  5. June 6, 2012 5:22 am

    Lies my mirror told me

    Then there are those times
    when I want to reach behind the mirror
    even smash through if I have to-
    I see her smirk, feel her mocking laughter
    (She knows what I am looking for)

    And isn’t everyone?
    Who gazes with intent to pluck an eyebrow?
    Squeeze a bit of antibiotic on a rising zit?

    “Beauty is only skin deep,” Mother always told us.
    Was she a beauty? No, not through the eyes I use now.

    Father thought she was perfect.
    He thought we were, too.
    His little girls, growing into the age of zits.
    His beautiful wife, touching up those
    pesky gray hairs….

    Face in the mirror, I see the eyes of my mother -
    Too small and close together, like those of an old
    woman who has spent her life stitching fine embroidery
    by candlelight..
    Already little crinkles have formed around the edges
    And I realize I should have paid attention to all those
    suggestions that I wear sun-glasses.

    Does anyone, ever, really know how things are going
    To turn out?
    That she might find a man like father who sees only beauty
    in her small and crinkled eyes?

    Or perhaps she might grow into a society that does not examine all
    the fine points of some silly standards now discarded and
    actually see the whole, real person she has become?

  6. June 6, 2012 5:27 am

    I haven’t written here in awhile. My poem is called: face facts.

  7. June 6, 2012 6:09 am

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/06/wwp-prompt-108-countenance.html

    So much reading to catch up on, so little time. Thanks to We Write Poems and all the contributors and the posting poets!
    Busy day ahead, I hope to catch up this millennium :)

  8. June 6, 2012 6:13 am

    Here’s mine, which I did using a ‘personal cinquain’ poetic form. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/poetic-form-personal-cinquain-misky/

  9. June 6, 2012 6:30 am

    Lines

  10. June 6, 2012 6:55 am

    Don’t know why this was so hard. Guess I COULDN’T face the challenge. http://briarcat.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/for-wwp-face/

  11. June 6, 2012 9:35 am

    My face took a circuitous, but familiar path to being who I have become.

    http://wojisme.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/he-has-his-mothers-eyes/

  12. June 6, 2012 11:29 am

    Hi, I’m new to We Write Poems. Since I haven’t kept up my PoetBay.com membership I’ll just post it here. Thanks to Walt’s poetry posts for leading me here.

    A Wall

    Today, my face
    without makeup,
    natural lighting,
    sallow, defeated.

    The face I show the world
    a barrier, a wall.
    This illness
    has torn me down.

    At times this false façade
    has more paint and more promise.
    But today, in daylight
    the shutters are closed,
    the windows dark.

    6/5/12

    © Anne Westlund

    • June 7, 2012 7:53 pm

      Welcome Anne to WWP and thanks for the poem.

      In simple words this poem casts a big shadow (maybe showing that not all so much is hidden?). And yes, even a wall is a face. That’s a worthwhile thing to say I think, and something we sometimes forget to say when it’s so. Thanks.

      • June 8, 2012 11:07 am

        Thank you, Neil! I’m not always so negative, but I have a nasty cold right now. :)

  13. June 6, 2012 4:06 pm

    I wasn’t sure at first what to do with this prompt but I like what I ended up with –
    http://hoofprintsinmygarden.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/the-face-of-my-father/

  14. June 7, 2012 7:26 am

    Late to the party, but here’s mine: http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/facing-it/

    Thank you!

  15. June 7, 2012 1:26 pm

    here is mine..”Wired Face” @
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2012/06/wired-face.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers