Skip to content

Prompt #96, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

March 7, 2012

Haibun party fun!

a community poem prompt

 
We Write Poems:  
The “haibun” combination of prose and haiku poem offers a rich and fertile opportunity to really examine our use of language. We hope you took a little time to review the background information provided with the prompt. While prose and poems are often more distant cousins, still, good writing is good writing no matter the form. And here the relationship is drawn much more tight and close even of yet oblique. We hope you enjoyed perhaps a new face for your writing pen this week and now eagerly await reading your results.

Thank you Nan for suggesting this interesting and challenging poetic form. The diversity of community suggested poem prompts is something we really value here.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

53 Comments
  1. March 7, 2012 12:32 am

    http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/haibun-for-wwp/ Not a new one. I’ve been away, and not exactly writing!

  2. March 7, 2012 1:05 am

    Fur is flying as the rabbit rushes here and there. Two poems this week. The first my initial own response to this prompt (the one I like better) back last October, but wanting to be current, here too a second that could stand considerable edit/revisions. I like what this prose/poem form begins to suggest to me. Hope folks had fun with this!
    blind haibun joe, number one
    summits, number two

  3. March 7, 2012 1:12 am

    Pretty sure my haibun is one in name only. It’s password-protected, but just type in ….. submit Haibun of Hamilton Avenue

    • March 7, 2012 1:13 am

      submit
      That’s without punctuation

  4. magicalmysticalteacher permalink
    March 7, 2012 3:03 am

    I have written two haibun for this prompt so far:

    Nature’s Songs

    Nature Walk

    Please click the links to visit my blog. Thank you.

    (I’m assuming the plural of “haibun” works the way it works for “haiku,” or “deer,” staying the same. Someone please correct me if I’m wrong. Thanks.)

  5. March 7, 2012 3:10 am

    Hello all ~ my first time in posting here. Looking forward to reading your poems.

    http://byclaireylove.blogspot.com/2012/03/we-write-poems-prompt-96-haibun.html

    • March 7, 2012 9:32 am

      Love the tulip ears, Claire. Welcome!

    • March 7, 2012 10:54 am

      Claire, a lovely haibun… I had an extensive comment but blogger would not allow me to post it to your blog (wish I’d saved it to post here…)

    • March 7, 2012 4:08 pm

      “new foliage flapping like broken skin” – wonderful imagery throughout this poem. Welcome Claire!

    • March 7, 2012 8:42 pm

      😦 I had a bit of trouble commenting as well. So I cut and paste (having read of others’ woes).

      Rich and lush and vibrant–I’d like a walk in this garden. I enjoyed this very much.

    • March 7, 2012 11:02 pm

      Thank you all for posting here and sorry my blog was so inhospitable!

      • March 7, 2012 11:32 pm

        I managed it, Claire – and yes, I copy-pasted my comment a couple of times before it stuck! Welcome to this great bunch of poets.

        • March 7, 2012 11:59 pm

          Have fiddled with my comments filter now so hopefully I’ll become a more welcoming site!

  6. March 7, 2012 3:38 am

    Hello everyone,
    Here’s my attempt:

    http://www.thehappyamateur.com/2012/03/place-haibun.html

    Thank you for the prompt!

  7. March 7, 2012 4:22 am

    AAhhhh….spring! Phew!

    Odoriferous

  8. March 7, 2012 4:31 am

    Haibun – Welcome Spring

    How I rejoice when after a long, dull winter, the grass begins to show threads of green. Farewell to those boring shades of brown and grey! Our world has been resurrected as
    A friendly sun coaxes buds to open on bare, naked branches, And popping up here and there in the freshly green lawns, little suns burst open – the dandelions are in bloom!
    Later on in the season, gardeners will yank them out by their roots as they crowd out the legally planted vegetables. Their flowers will turn into crowns of fluffy seed heads which the birds, the wind, and children will blow and scatter over every lawn and garden. But for now we can enjoy spring’s new, bright colors, the handsome green grass, the yellow-green of the willow trees, the darker green of stems and leaves as seeds open and new plants begin their journey to the sun.

    Dandelion flowers
    Small yellow buttons hold
    The grass to the earth.

    • March 7, 2012 7:35 am

      Marian, I love how you’ve given dandelion’s a legitimate reason for being… 😀

    • March 7, 2012 8:10 am

      and dandelions are so cheerful. I love ’em. Yesterday I found enough daisies to cover with both hands – welcome Spring.

    • March 7, 2012 10:50 am

      This is lovely, Marian,
      I enjoyed reading this very much.
      I have dandelions in my haibun, too 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher permalink
      March 7, 2012 2:45 pm

      Your haiku is as powerful as dandelions are tenacious! 🙂

      Haibun: Nature’s Songs

    • March 7, 2012 3:53 pm

      Lovely, Marian. Great use of this prompt and form.

    • March 7, 2012 8:46 pm

      Your prose is an anticipatory celebration of spring (I join you). Yet I really loved that closing haiku.

  9. March 7, 2012 5:02 am

    Good morning poets!! I have to say I really enjoyed the haibun. It did indeed put a fresh facet on my felt-tip poem-ing pen! I wrote two and if no one minds I’ll just put a clickable link on the bottom of the one I posted (on my blog). I welcome any tips and pointers as I enjoyed reading into this form and would hope to “get-it-right,” in the future of haibun-ing. Thank you so much everyone~ ~Smiles

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/your-depth/

  10. March 7, 2012 5:33 am

    Haibun is an interesting form, and I am glad to know others enjoy it also! Here is my submission for the prompt:
    the danger was real

  11. March 7, 2012 6:08 am

    Well, here’s something, more or less: Wheels of Fortune

  12. magicalmysticalteacher permalink
    March 7, 2012 7:11 am

    I’d be happy to have you visit my latest haibun, “First Flowers of Spring.”

    Thank you!

  13. March 7, 2012 8:13 am

    An effort; not sure of the prose part of things.

    http://wp.me/p1ZKiY-GS

  14. March 7, 2012 9:26 am

    Here’s mine:
    evening at Willows Beach

  15. March 7, 2012 10:16 am

    I offer this blast from my past to join in your celebration of the haibun…

    The Taste

    It was an embrace I’d wished had been endless, at our tearful farewell – your body supple and warm, pulsing with life.

    lips lush as cognac
    open softly to kisses
    urgently linger

    I passed through security, turned and fixed on your gaze – prayed it was not the last time I’d look into your eyes. I wandered dazed down the ramp, to the jet that would take me to the fury of hell. I locked your face of love deep in my heart.

    That cherished image proved my grasp on sanity through two years of horror – through the sting of separation, the bitter taste of war, the foul stench of death.

    I return this day, facing reality at 30,000 feet, the salt of sadness on my lips. I am ashamed, frightened to see and touch you again, but I burn to do so.

    so different now
    my hands angry with bloodshed
    innocence is lost

    I fear a kiss from my killer’s mouth, will forever defile your precious lips – lush as sweet cognac, that day we parted.

    • • •

    rob kistner © 2010

  16. March 7, 2012 11:23 am

    This was a challenge. Mine is up.

  17. March 7, 2012 11:23 am

    Here’s mine. I like this form. The link between the haiku and the prose is a little more direct than I would have liked but couldn’t find a way around that.
    http://hoofprintsinmygarden.blogspot.com/2012/03/tomato-jam.html

  18. March 7, 2012 3:58 pm

    i love haibun! this one was written as such because we felt it needed the haiku to summarize the story. my collaborator, Ainsley Allmark, and i hope that you enjoy it ~

    http://haikulovesongs.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/imaginary-friend-redux/

    {i’ll be back tonight to visit others.}

  19. March 7, 2012 5:27 pm

    I am tired, just getting over the flu. New job, not enough time to do much of anything, but I did manage a poem for the prompt. Thanks nan.

    Pamela

    Paper, Time, and Clocks

  20. March 7, 2012 8:27 pm

    Despite all my haiku, here is my first haibun.

    http://tasmith1122.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/texas-haibun/

    • March 8, 2012 5:37 pm

      Your very first?

      • March 8, 2012 5:42 pm

        Yes, I think so. My very first intentional haibun. I may have written other posts that seemed liked haibun (probably did, given my tendency to babble). I’m surprised it took me this long to write one.

  21. March 8, 2012 9:23 am

    This was fun. and am so happy with this :

    http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/for-lonely-hearts/

  22. March 8, 2012 2:01 pm

    Just for fun: the Japanese translation of my haiku. I’m not doing the prose bit, though, my head will explode. :\

  23. March 8, 2012 3:44 pm

    …love the haibun form… it is too sweet and glad to be able to participate today … miss pie

  24. March 8, 2012 3:45 pm

    oops forgot the link… wwp.today

  25. March 8, 2012 5:24 pm

    A haibun party, I wouldn’t want to miss.

    tick tock clock of dreams

Comments are closed.