Skip to content

Prompt #86, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

December 28, 2011

A Natural History of My (room)

We Write Poems:  
Did you find some place, some comfy chair, to settle into this week and deliver us a taste of history from inside your home?  We asked you to write a poem entitled “A Natural History of My (room)“, selecting whatever specific room you desired and given in a very personal sense.  So what room did you decide to describe? A room where you feel the most at home, maybe a room where you most feel connection with family, or perhaps a room that challenges your perceptions of place? Is your poem more direct physical description of the environment or evocative of personal memories gathered in place? We look forward to reading your results.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

16 Comments
  1. Irene permalink*
    December 28, 2011 1:57 am

    It’ll be terribly interesting to read about each other’s rooms won’t it?

    a natural history of my balcony

  2. December 28, 2011 4:06 am

    Took some bits from a few older poems and mixed them
    Natural History

  3. December 28, 2011 5:33 am

    Here’s mine:
    http://www.thehappyamateur.com (‘A Natural History of My Room.’)

  4. December 28, 2011 6:17 am

    Maybe not a “room”, per se… A Natural History of the Closet

  5. December 28, 2011 8:45 am

    My kitchen can be found at Marianv.blog.co.uk

    • December 28, 2011 9:47 am

      Marian, your link doesn’t work. Can you copy paste the actual link from your poem.

  6. December 28, 2011 9:00 am

    Interesting prompt. I did some cleaning in the spare bedroom…

    Pamela
    “A Natural History of My Spare Bedroom”

  7. December 28, 2011 12:27 pm

    I piggy-backed this prompt with the “In-Form” prompt (the Dizain this week) over at http://poeticbloomings2.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/in-form-poet-dizain/ to come up with this one:

    http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/the-natural-history-of-my-office/

    ~ Paula

  8. December 28, 2011 1:36 pm

    Coming back to spread my wings. I collect media. Books, movies, albums, tapes, CD’s and DVDs. Is was only natural to recount the history of my library.

    http://wojisme.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/the-natural-history-of-my-library/

  9. December 28, 2011 2:39 pm

    Mes chers amis, Happy New Year.
    “This room holds history”

  10. December 28, 2011 7:22 pm

    this is My Room….a slight variation of my poem… THE ATTIC
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/12/my-room.html

  11. December 28, 2011 7:43 pm

    Bread crumbs I think…

    a natural history of my kitchen

  12. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    December 29, 2011 12:04 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/12/room-full-of-candles.html

    Thank you for an unusual prompt. I got a bit carried-away!

Comments are closed.