Skip to content

Prompt #81, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

November 23, 2011

Dear (poem)

We Write Poems:  
“Dear Santa”, is that how you poem-letter began? Or perhaps you selected someone less imaginary – Mr. Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, Jaques Costeau, maybe Captain Kangaroo? Write a poem-letter was our prompt this week, addressed to some historic person of your choice. The precise form and content of your letter was all up to you. Probably this poem would be more prose in nature, yet even that was open to your poetic muse. Please now let us peek over your shoulder, read your poem for this week.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

15 Comments
  1. November 23, 2011 12:32 am

    http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/an-epistolary-poem-for-wwp/ I’ve written a few of these, but this one is brand new, and silly

  2. November 23, 2011 12:35 am

    Yea, it’s not really a poem, but call it poem-letter if you will.

    a letter from the woods

  3. November 23, 2011 3:43 am

    Here is mine, hope you enjoy it. ❤ http://poesiatorta.blogspot.com/2011/11/468.html

    • November 23, 2011 10:20 am

      Fotógrafo Henri Cartier-Bresson um poeta da fotografia. Este é um poema maravilhoso. Eu gostei muito.
      Atenciosamente,
      Donald

  4. November 23, 2011 4:02 am

    I got on my soap box for this prompt. Frankly, I am fed up with the U. S. Congress, so I spewed. As I enter the poem I am still spewing. However I am ready to baste and roast a big ole Congressman, oops, Freudian slip, I mean Butterball Turkey. Have a great Thanksgiving everyone. Here’s love and peace send to each of you. And for those people in Washington here’s ” A letter to the US Congress, you bunch of dimwits”.

  5. November 23, 2011 4:19 am

    I couldn’t leave you thinking I was cranky. I am really looking at “A new dawn”. Smiles!

    • November 23, 2011 4:30 am

      Smiles! I’ll get to reading tomorrow dawn, meanwhile putting the new oven to the test. Happy thanksgiving dear Americans.

  6. November 23, 2011 5:21 am

    This was an interesting prompt. I had difficulty choosing between a rant (Joe Paterno) or meditative. I opted for meditative with: dear rainer.

  7. November 23, 2011 5:42 am

    I just couldn’t get into full-on epistolary mode, though I’m thinking about dropping a note to the church down the road about their signage.

    I did manage some Political Post Cards, though.

  8. November 23, 2011 8:35 am

    Hi all! Here’s mine: http://ablefires.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/to-the-locust-of-the-swarming-variety/
    It’s a bit on the morbid side….Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. November 23, 2011 8:54 am

    I went with historic-as-in-dead for this one. To Jorge: (Luis Borges), whom I adore.

  10. November 23, 2011 9:46 am

    Glad coincidence to share this response with Irene. The poet who for real birthed my path into writing – seemed appropriate to say.

    letter to William Stafford

    Good Thanksgiving to all.

  11. November 23, 2011 10:08 am


    Mr Shakespeare:

  12. November 23, 2011 12:52 pm

    A happy thanksgiving to all! Sadly, I didn’t have time to write, but maybe next week.

    Pamela

  13. November 27, 2011 8:58 pm

    I chose to write to my great great etc grandfather, Edward Winslow.
    He came over on the Mayflower and while I feel is not a particularly unique
    thing to have a direct relative from the Mayflower, as I get older, and find
    more information, I find the similarities and differences in my generation
    and those after me interesting.
    I chose the serious route this time…there is more to say that go in a
    different humorous vein or continue along this route.

    http://www.siggiofmaine.wordpress.com

    titled with the prompt and date and a photo of Edward Winslow at the top.
    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

Comments are closed.