Skip to content

Prompt #75, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

October 12, 2011

Poems and Prompts!

We Write Poems:  
Alright, you’re in the driver’s seat this week! We asked you again to put on your poet’s hat and suggest a prompt for us to write our poems in response. The prompt topic is totally up to you to select as to topic and type of poem. We asked also that you provide a poem of your own to illustrate the prompt. Challenging or just for fun! Your dance to say! Over the coming weeks and months we will select and offer your prompts to our We Write Poems community here.

Even if you’re still simmering, please no fret, we really want to encourage your participation. Even if you feel less than thrilled about your ideas, give us a try because you never know if that one prompt might be the perfect thing for someone else just waiting to write. We will continue to monitor responses here throughout the entire coming week.

Leave the links to your prompts and poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

18 Comments
  1. Irene permalink*
    October 12, 2011 2:14 am

    You can find my prompt below my prosy piece.

    something something about the Signified

    Ha, eating sweet strawberries, and thinking, maybe a second poem prompt!

  2. October 12, 2011 2:39 am

    Trick or Treat, and happy Halloween at The Last Day of October

  3. October 12, 2011 3:09 am

    my prompt and poem are here http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/imaginative-clocks-for-wwp/

    I have another one I’m working on – save for next time.

  4. October 12, 2011 3:48 am

    My prompt is, “have some fun with haibun,” and you will find it here:

    tree

    Looking forward to reading all the prompts and poems!

  5. October 12, 2011 5:29 am

    My prompt is to “write a poem about something that takes place in an instant”, which turned into this one: E Train Sculpture Garden

  6. October 12, 2011 6:06 am

    I have the foolish dream that one day there will be no discrimination against race, creed, or color or physical form of being. That all humans and creatures of the earth will respect one another and live in peace and harmony. Then I woke up from the dream to face the reality of the human existence. My prompt is about world civil rights. Yeah I know, heavy stuff but then if not you who will wear These Shoes?

  7. October 12, 2011 6:14 am

    My prompt is below my poem: You and Me, We Know About Time

    -Nicole

  8. Irene permalink*
    October 12, 2011 6:30 am

    Helloo!! Worthy poets with your worthy prompts. Sleepy time but I want to get round to everyone, sooner or later, I mean later. I mean, we have the whole week, so go ahead and toss more than one poem prompt if you dare.

  9. October 12, 2011 9:00 am

    Hope this works for you. It’s a sound idea. (sorry pun) I’m trying to make myself work on revision for a while, so I’m sort of skimping on the poem.

  10. October 12, 2011 11:06 am

    All righty, I finally got this done! It has audio & video, but the text is printed as well as two prompt ideas, and the video is only about 1:30, I promise!

    http://mareymercy.com/2011/10/12/prison-hounds-new-videopoem/

  11. October 12, 2011 11:53 am

    Here’s my contribution:
    http://hoofprintsinmygarden.blogspot.com/2011/10/desert-living.html

  12. October 13, 2011 11:14 am

    Well I’ve been looking, thinking, simmering, maybe half-baked about this topic for long enough, so why not share, offer a piece of the pie…

    the rules of poems

  13. October 13, 2011 11:22 am

    Still room for more! Late arrivals welcome here. Really really.

    Got a friend, a fellow writer you much adore, or someone who says, “you should write a poem about… “? Well here’s the chance to invite them inside and share the feast. And a big thank you to all who’ve already shared with us. Seconds are welcome too! Not like we’re gonna gain any weight from another plate. 🙂

  14. October 13, 2011 12:05 pm

    I am not really a late arrival because I posted my poem yesterday, leaving a prompt that was also reflected in my poem.I hope you will post my prompt & the link to my poem. I posted here last week & the week before.,nut I will check “guest” & see what happens.

    My promp is about things one can do in a group of people. (This covers stuff like sports, games, make music, play in a band, sing in a chorus ect.

    This is the link to my poem
    http://Marianv.blog.co.uk/2011/10/12/poem-for-wwp-6-oct-12005477/

    [link corrected, nr]

  15. October 13, 2011 2:17 pm

    Hi everyone, here is what I have come up with for a prompt idea: Accumulate a minimum of twelve words, and write little snapshots of time, memory etc… two line poemlets. (Viv taught me that word 🙂 ) I did this for the Sunday whirl when I was stumped by the words. Here’s my attempt from Sunday.

    Pamela

    Twelve Little Poems Have Lost Their Way

  16. Irene permalink*
    October 13, 2011 6:31 pm

    So, here’s my second poem prompt. I’m feeling prolific. Maybe try for a third baby? Er, maybe not.

    I simmer

Trackbacks

  1. The Last Day of October « Miskmask

Comments are closed.