Skip to content

Prompt #74, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

October 5, 2011

Left-hand first!

We Write Poems:  
Oh boy, was this a difficult task? We asked you to experiment with the physical act of writing this week by switching hands, using your non-primary or “other” hand along with paper and pen. We know we become “educated” to use only one hand, and some things resist being reversed. Yet physical is closely related to mental, so it seems an interesting challenge to face despite the discomfort likely to be found.

Maybe some found it too difficult to do (although we hope you wrote something anyway), and maybe some found it “no trick at all”. Your poem could be about the process itself or anything else. We hope however you’ll share what the process brought to light for you.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Irene permalink*
    October 5, 2011 1:33 am

    Erm, I didn’t do it literally. In spirit, fishily.

    of love & loathing

  2. October 5, 2011 2:14 am

    Oh, it’s too long as I see afterwards, but then…

    left hand draft

  3. October 5, 2011 4:25 am

    I wrote a few poems with my left hand, pen to paper, and then this poem pushed out… I think from the dominant side — after reflection on the process: highly unlikely

    [To be honest, I crumpled up all the left-hand written poems and sat down and typed this. Cheating? Maybe. But it *was* discovery. Thanks for the interesting prompt. I will try this again.]

  4. October 5, 2011 4:37 am

    Yeah, I did the exercise in hand exchange. In the process I chewed my tongue down to a nub, drank a liter of wine, experienced incontinence for the first time, and used a multitude of colorful explicatives (none of which are in the poem although I was tempted. Viv would have used them, but then she’s in France.). It’s all about which hand is connecedt to which side of the old noggin noodle.

    Right of Left

  5. October 5, 2011 5:39 am

    Didn’t really get anything out of actual left-handed writing, unfortunately. I did write this one a few days ago, and it’s more sing-songy and versey than I usually get: Ramsey Black Rocks. Best I can offer for this morning…

  6. October 5, 2011 6:19 am

    Hi all! Here’s mine for the week:
    http://ablefires.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/what-can-my-left-hand-say/

  7. October 5, 2011 7:08 am

    Interesting experiment. With my limited trial, an anecdotal, not scientific outcome. I concluded that I don’t write right-handed.

    Two Left Brains Opt for Butter Pecan

  8. October 5, 2011 11:03 am

    I did originally write this with my right hand. Not a very pretty sight!
    http://lolamousedroppings.blogspot.com/2011/10/no-hand-left-behind.html

    • October 6, 2011 5:24 am

      Can anyone tell me what’s gone wrong with commenting on blogger – I’ve wasted hours recently writing pearls of wisdom and appreciation which have disappeared into the ether.

      Lolamouse, your poem was great fun, and very wise.

  9. October 5, 2011 1:11 pm

    scribbling with L hand brandy in R hand NOTHING LEFT at
    www.http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/10/nothing-left

  10. October 5, 2011 6:54 pm

    Hi, thanks for the prompt my response is at

    http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/go-back-to-eden-wind/

  11. October 6, 2011 1:12 am

    I love the idea of this prompt, but I do fall into the haven’t tried it yet crowd. Still, it definitely informed my writing just thinking about it.

    http://t.co/XdMCjoso

Trackbacks

  1. go back to Eden, wind… « turtle memoirs

Leave a Reply

