Skip to content

Prompt #73, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

September 28, 2011
tags:

I smell poem pie!

We Write Poems:  
How’s your poem pie?  Yousei Hime invited us to write a poem filled with scent!  Now the poem didn’t need be “about” scent, yet scent should perform as an important component informing the content or essential quality of the poem.  Scent is indeed one of the most quiet yet evocative of our physical senses.  Did scent set the background of your poetic scene, engage emotional perspective, or further define some single element within the poem for you?  (Just a few of the many possibilities.)

Time now to share your result, let us read (or smell !!) how aroma plays its’ role in your poem please.  And thank you again Yousei for your contribution to our poem prompts!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 12:05 am

    http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/a-smelly-poem/ I didn’t manage to include a pie!

  2. September 28, 2011 1:35 am

    Here is my poem: http://umaathreya.blogsome.com/2011/09/27/laced-with-silver/

    Thanks for the great prompt!

    • September 28, 2011 3:44 am

      I tried twice to comment on your blog, but the catchpa defeated me. My attempts may be in your spam box.

    • September 28, 2011 5:15 pm

      I had the same problem with the catchpa. I really enjoyed the poem, the trail of scent throughout. I’m glad you enjoyed the prompt. Thanks for participating.

    • September 28, 2011 10:44 pm

      Hope my comment got through as well. Wonderful poem! Subtle and perfect.

      neil

  3. Irene permalink*
    September 28, 2011 2:25 am

    Thanks for the prompt Yousei!

    smell, shores & shell

  4. September 28, 2011 3:20 am

    Somethings stay with you like beautiful sunsets, birth of a child, the cuddling squeaks of warm puppies or “That smell”.

  5. September 28, 2011 4:05 am

    Went way back in time for this – but these smells are still with us
    poem “Lessons from the air”

    • September 28, 2011 6:40 pm

      Marrian, I can’t get your link to work. Can you post it again. I would love to read your “Lessons from the air.”

  6. September 28, 2011 5:34 am

    (I can’t get no) Satisfaction

  7. September 28, 2011 6:47 am

    I didn’t quite do what the prompt asked, but it was a starting point.

    http://mareymercy.com/2011/09/28/essence-poem-2/

  8. September 28, 2011 7:42 am

    Great prompt idea! Really enjoyed this one!

    http://lolamousedroppings.blogspot.com/2011/09/autumn-battle-creek-cypress-swamp.html

  9. September 28, 2011 7:50 am

    I enjoyed this and I have pie, ViV!
    http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/poem-in-response-to-we-write-poems/

    margo

  10. September 28, 2011 10:15 am

    I went a bit sugary on this. Childhood memories can do that sort of thing, I suppose.

    Pamela

    Blairstown

  11. September 28, 2011 3:24 pm

    Don’t know what this is, but it does have smells in it.

    http://wp.me/pjEG1-96

  12. September 28, 2011 6:03 pm

    Here’s my post:

    http://siggiofmaine.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/we-write-poems…73-fall-scents/
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  13. September 28, 2011 7:20 pm

    Everyone! Thank you so much for your participation. I really enjoyed reading your poems and am proud to have had a tiny part in sparking them. Here is the link to mine (I just barely like it, but it will have to do. I’m leaving to visit family, and there are too many things to be done.) Write well and I hope to be back next week. 🙂

  14. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    September 28, 2011 10:54 pm

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/09/noses-have-it.html

    I didn’t know whether t be romantic or earthy so I combined both.

  15. September 29, 2011 12:55 pm

    Hi all, here’s mine for the week.
    http://ablefires.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/how-the-nose-remembers/

  16. September 30, 2011 6:42 am

    I am very late this week. Sorry! Here is a poem *and* a recipe 🙂

    pea soup

Trackbacks

  1. Poem in Response to We Write Poems « Margo Roby: Wordgathering
  2. Scent Poem | Shiteki Na Usagi
  3. Prompt 20: Sniffing Out a Good Poem | Which Silk Shirt

Leave a Reply

