Skip to content

Prompt #70, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

September 7, 2011

taking snapshots of place

We Write Poems:  
This poem prompt was focused on “place”, your home place specifically, and reaching outward from there in multi-parted form. The range and breadth, as well the unit of measure or change for each part, we left up to your poetic discovery. (If you’re still curious and haven’t written yet, please read the original prompt.) Time now to share your result and our curiosity is definitely peaked!

Coming up tomorrow, another poem community suggested prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Irene permalink*
    September 7, 2011 12:43 am

    I was watching Red Riding Hood, the twilight version, and decided to run with that story…

    red riding house

  2. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    September 7, 2011 12:50 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/09/walking-backwards.html

    This was an interesting meme which will, I’m sure. result in equally interesting poems.

  3. September 7, 2011 4:05 am

    Here’s mine. I think I wrote to prompt. I found this one a little confusing. The prompt, not my response. 🙂

    http://mareymercy.com/2011/09/06/week-93-new-poem/

  4. September 7, 2011 6:04 am

    How would you measure a life?

    Dimension

  5. September 7, 2011 9:02 am

    This prompt reminded me of independence day here, which is September 16th, but the big celebration is the 15th for El Grito (the yell, cry or scream). Depends on who you ask 🙂 People are already selling Mexican flags all over downtown.

    Pamela

    In the Town Square

  6. September 7, 2011 12:31 pm

    Yikes! This prompt was way too hard for me! But I did write an acrostic limerick, also hard, but at least doable for me. 🙂 Operatic Acrostic Limerick

  7. September 7, 2011 1:51 pm

    This is my first post here. It’s good to see old familiar names from Read,Write,Poem…..look forward to interacting with y’all again and meeting new poets too. My poem is focused on the place within and how I evolved to where I am today.

  8. September 7, 2011 7:48 pm

    Don’t know why, but this one gave me trouble. Not happy with my sense of place poem

  9. September 8, 2011 7:38 pm

    A day late, but hopefully not a dollar short:
    When I Died in Bed, the Other Night in Chelsea

  10. September 9, 2011 1:47 am

    Nothing so new, dragging both my tale and tail. Although not so long in writing it was slow to arrive (nor what I’d expected it to be).

    postcards home

    • Irene permalink*
      September 9, 2011 6:09 pm

      Well if you’re the tail, I’m the head..so glad to see everyone here!

  11. September 16, 2011 6:21 am

    I’m very late responding to this prompt, but here is My Room.

    • Irene permalink*
      September 16, 2011 6:07 pm

      That’s our other tail wagging! I hope no one misses your lovely poem.

Trackbacks

  1. here and there and back again | turtle memoirs
  2. Divergent Paths | Zouxzoux

Leave a Reply

