Skip to content

Prompt #69, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

August 31, 2011
tags:

Formulaic 3 + (x) = Poem

We Write Poems:  
Amy suggested this simple and interesting poem form: three lines, plus (one), the x-factor, in parentheses that informs the lines coming before it in the poem. This creates some possibilities for the poem to take a double stance, even talk back to itself, or change the mode of expression and phrasing (just as a few opportunities). The subject matter was all up to you; rather it was only the manner in which the poem defines and expands or clarifies its meaning that was suggested for us to use. Time now to please share your poem with us.

Thanks again to Amy Barlow Liberatore for this interesting poem form and prompt this week!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

27 Comments
  1. August 31, 2011 1:17 am

    I like this prompt, even if I can’t count. Thanks Amy!

    recipe

  2. Irene permalink*
    August 31, 2011 3:04 am

    Not sure if this is even coherent, but wait, maybe the point is incoherence.

    (make no mistake)

  3. August 31, 2011 3:59 am

    I had fun with my first try at this form, and will come back to it, no doubt.

    the future comes true

    • September 2, 2011 11:32 pm

      (no blogger comment allowed today, so… )

      Nice poem nan (although I’m sure I don’t know what you’re talking about, “dial phones”?) 🙂 And I’m glad you liked this form; I think it could be done and done again and learn something new each time. Thanks.
      neil

  4. August 31, 2011 7:48 am

    A short little observation.

    http://dannyearlsimmons.blogspot.com/2011/08/haiku-1.html

  5. August 31, 2011 10:03 am

    Love’s Language

  6. August 31, 2011 10:30 am

    I am having a writer’s block. This kinda came out of nowhere:

    http://firmlyrooted.blogspot.com/2011/08/red-of-life-retreats-in-cart.html

  7. August 31, 2011 10:40 am

    I loved the prompt and the poems, but haven’t managed to pull one off. Oh well…. Here’s some haiku and a tanka.

  8. August 31, 2011 1:54 pm

    I wrote a poem for this prompt and my computer sent it I know not where. No time to work my through the thought processes, having worn my brain to a frazzle with other things. Here are some lanturne poems which in a way are a similar form. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/wheat/

  9. August 31, 2011 3:50 pm

    I wrote this yesterday. I half thought about not posting it, but I read an article today that made me realize there are so many serendipitous moments… Thanks for an interesting prompt, Amy.

    Bring Freedom Back

  10. August 31, 2011 7:28 pm

    I was feeling a little bit experimental…

    Three Englynion

  11. August 31, 2011 8:06 pm

    A neat form I’m going to use in the future. Tried a couple of things. The one that makes more sense is
    Memory as a Floor Plan

  12. August 31, 2011 8:31 pm

    I’m totally late to the party, but I hope I can still play:

    “Sharkie”
    http://mareymercy.com/2011/08/31/sharkie-poem/

  13. August 31, 2011 9:34 pm

    I’m sorry I cannot get around to your blogs just yet (considering it is my form), but must board plane tomorrow for trip to Labor Day festivities… hence the irony of my posting, concerning the most anti-Labor governor in the United States. Thanks! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/homeless-this-winter-madison-wi-2011/

  14. September 1, 2011 6:33 am

    I’m running a little late.
    http://annellannell.wordpress.com

  15. September 1, 2011 7:49 am

    Again, Amy, LOVE this form!
    de

    Mine’s here:
    http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/fine-print/

  16. September 1, 2011 8:31 am

    Sorry I was a day late in posting. Dealing with yet another little disaster! This was a fun form! Thanks!

  17. September 1, 2011 11:19 am

    glad to be able to participate this week… there have been so many good challenging prompts lately but always so late… thanks amy for the challenge i enjoyed it as well as reading the responses… ms pie.. ephemeral eternal

  18. September 1, 2011 4:55 pm

    Voices is my first take on this prompt idea. I can easily see returning to it again. Will be back to read later; must get boy to soccer practice.

    Richard

  19. September 2, 2011 11:04 pm

    To all of us, (because sometimes people seem to have concerns about… )

    Responding to WWP prompts is a “no fuss” affair. The respond to prompt posting goes up Wednesdays as you already know. How soon should you respond? Really, there’s no official time at all. Within the first two or three days would be good, mostly because responding later means fewer people are likely to notice and come visit, read your poem. (So you see, no “rule” here, just a practical matter.)

    Also if you don’t already know, or feel some odd if your poem is not exactly written “to the prompt”, that’s perfectly alright with us too. Maybe nothing comes to you about a given prompt, or maybe you just have something else you’re itching to share with folks. Please, please go ahead, share your poem with us!

    We Write Poems is here to encourage you to write and share your poems. That’s first and last with us! Add a full measure of appreciation and you got it figured right.

    neil

  20. September 5, 2011 6:30 pm

    Thanks for that, Neil….especially since I’m coming late Monday with my attempt! 🙂

    http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/waste-among-the-blooms/

Trackbacks

  1. Wheat | Vivinfrance's Blog
  2. Waste Among the Blooms « echoes from the silence

Comments are closed.