Skip to content

Prompt #68, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

August 24, 2011

Thirteen Ways of Looking

We Write Poems:  
How many ways, how many views, how many poetic points of view did you find to attend the specific object of your poem?  Margo asked us to stretch and expand our perspective on one given subject for our poem this week, each representing one smaller distinct experience expressing, defining that poetic relationship.  She illustrated this poetic format by one poem of Wallace Steven’s, “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird“.  This prompt really calls upon our imaginations to examine and re-examine something we might less often consider in such detail.  Please share your poems with us now!

Thanks again Margo Roby for this elemental and delicious prompt idea.
Tomorrow we’ll present another fine suggested community poem prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

22 Comments
  1. August 24, 2011 12:46 am

    A good idea that I’ll come back to, since I haven’t done it justice.
    Mine is called 10 Variations. But I haven’t had much sleep, and might have miscounted

  2. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    August 24, 2011 12:52 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2010/07/thirteen-colours.html

    Thirteen different ways to look at colour. (Not new, I’m afraid).

  3. August 24, 2011 1:02 am

    I couldn’t get into this one. Sorry. Here’s a dismal eight senryu http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/thirteen/

  4. August 24, 2011 1:40 am

    Haven’t been here for a bit, but this prompt intrigued me,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/thirteen-ways-of-looking-at-trees/

  5. August 24, 2011 1:59 am

    Seeing the Wind Chime at Scrambled, Not Fried

  6. August 24, 2011 2:01 am

    Seeing the Wind Chime at Scrambled, Not Fried:
    http://rlavalette.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/the-tt-wwp-combo/

  7. August 24, 2011 4:34 am

    My last localized Seattle poem, then home again. Thank you Margo!

    http://bearlyaudible.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/thirteen-ways-to-ride-a-ferryboat/

  8. August 24, 2011 4:39 am

    Posting from my phone…let’s see if it works!

    Thirteen Ways of Slicing a Tomato

  9. August 24, 2011 6:34 am

    Here’s mine, didn’t make it to 13 though.

    http://mareymercy.com/2011/08/22/several-ways-of-seeing-gender-poem/

  10. Irene permalink*
    August 24, 2011 7:03 am

    Until an hour ago I was pretty clueless what to write about.

    Thirteen ways of looking at the moon

  11. August 24, 2011 2:52 pm

    I really love this prompt, but couldn’t find the time to write. However, I will enjoy reading just the same.

    Pamela

  12. August 24, 2011 3:00 pm

    I couldn’t get into this prompt either. But I did write this Telecommuting Limerick.

    Thanks!

  13. August 24, 2011 3:14 pm

    I really enjoyed this prompt and thinking about different perspectives. I explored the end of a friendship in one kind of silly attempt, and also looked at breathing in another attempt.

    thirteen ways of looking . . .

  14. August 24, 2011 3:56 pm

    One of the most difficult I’ve done.
    http://thepoetsquill.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/ode-to-my-right-hand/

  15. August 25, 2011 1:16 pm

    I thought I had replied my poem already, but it looks like maybe not.
    I happened to have a quartz rock lying about, so I let it inspire me.
    http://jprescottpoetry.blogspot.com/2011/08/thirteen-ways-of-looking-at-quartz.html

  16. August 25, 2011 5:45 pm

    Wow! This was the cat’s meow!!!

    I have to say this was quite a challenge. I’ve finally come up with something to post…though I wonder if it should really be posted on the back of the basement door! 😉 …just a little something to keep the mice away.

    Here it is: http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/cats-thirteen-ways-of-looking-at%E2%80%A6cats/

    Now I can go read everyone else’s poems….finally.

    ~Paula

  17. August 25, 2011 7:40 pm

    LOVED this prompt. Mine is about one of my favorite subjects: MEN! But not in a slutty way, ha ha ha. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/thirteen-ways-of-looking-at-men/

  18. August 26, 2011 7:52 am

    This was fun! Thanks! Of course, I went the much clichéd route but then again, someone has to do it!

    http://1ightverse.blogspot.com/2011/08/thirteen-ways-of-looking-at-thirteen.html

  19. August 27, 2011 9:26 pm

    Thank you, thank you all. What a really fine, creative, imaginative gathering of poems in response to this prompt.

  20. August 28, 2011 9:18 am

    Mine also is not a new one, though slightly revised: Thirteen Ways

Trackbacks

  1. Thirteen ways of looking at the moon | lost in translation
  2. CATS! Thirteen ways of looking at…CATS! « echoes from the silence

Comments are closed.