Skip to content

Prompt #62, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

July 13, 2011

I hear voices!

We Write Poems:  
What new poem identity did you find for yourself this week? Did you find some new shoes to put on your feet? Was it human, animal, or something else? We asked that you write a poem using another’s voice (and point of view) within that poem. Actually this can be a deceptively challenging thing to do, allowing another voice to step to the front. How was this experience for you this week. We hope you found some new window opening as you looked. Time now to share your poem with us! We eagerly await hearing from you!

Thanks again Viv for suggesting this prompt for us all! Another excellent prompt idea.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    July 13, 2011 12:38 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/07/rejection.html

    Not the most pleasant of subjects, but an interesting one!

  2. July 13, 2011 12:50 am

    As the darkness fades from the night
    I put my paws on the windowsill and look
    Out at the still sleeping yard. Once my
    Tail would be twitching in anticipation
    Of that magic period between the darkness
    And the dawn. Even now, stiffened by
    Age and mishaps, my body still draws itself
    Into a lean missile ready to pounce at the
    Slightest disturbance in the dew-covered
    grass . Even through the closed window
    I can hear the morning songs of robins
    And sparrows, eager to greet the day as
    My mouth salivates in remembrance of a
    Fresh kill. “Someday…” I think to myself
    Even as I know that almost all the some-
    Days of my nine lives have disappeared.
    I will be a kitten no more. I sigh as the
    Room grows lighter with the coming of
    Morning. My people still slumber beneath
    That pile of stuff. I am hungry. Wake up,
    People, morning is here. Another day to spend
    Dreaming of a life well spent

    .

    • July 13, 2011 8:53 am

      did you mean to repeat this 3 times? Cleve,r thinking yourself into the mind of a cat.

    • July 13, 2011 2:48 pm

      All too well-aquainted with the “Wake up, People, morning is here” part. Neat idea.

    • July 14, 2011 7:48 am

      Your poem reminded me of the kiitehs my fiance and I used to have a long time ago. I wonder sometimes who is the master: them or us? Your imagery and languages does very well to allow us to peek inside the mind of a cat. Well done.

      -Nicole

  3. July 13, 2011 12:58 am

    Thanks to Viv for a helpful prompt.

    Here’s mine:

    http://imnotaverse.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/two-unpleasant-things/

  4. July 13, 2011 1:14 am

    I had great fun with this prompt – thank you! 🙂

    Balcony Tomato’s Lament

  5. July 13, 2011 3:26 am

    This is a great exercise in understanding perspectives. I can’t explain how exactly I arrived at this voice . . .
    the selection process

  6. July 13, 2011 4:19 am

    I struggled…. Don’t think I quite understood it Lol xx

    http://astheworldgoesby.blogspot.com/2011/07/round.html

  7. Olivia permalink
    July 13, 2011 4:36 am

    Here is my poem for this on….thanks, Viv — and WWP!!

    All Bottled Up

    ~Paula

  8. July 13, 2011 6:34 am

    had trouble with this one but here is mine….

    my poem

    Melanie

  9. July 13, 2011 7:09 am

    I liked it, it was fun!
    https://annellannell.wordpress.com/

  10. July 13, 2011 7:20 am

    Don’t know if this is a poem or a little song, but it came from its p.o.v.
    http://briarcat.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/try-another-voice/

  11. July 13, 2011 8:01 am

    I’m back….and hopefully conveyed someone else’s Vision this week.

    -Nicole

  12. July 13, 2011 8:03 am

    Doggone it, there goes my alter ego again! 🙂

  13. July 13, 2011 9:27 am

    I tried, but my voice refuses not to be heard. I may give it another go in the future. Thanks for the prompt, Viv.

    Pamela

    Pews and Pamphlets

  14. July 13, 2011 11:20 am

    Hi! Mine’s from the POV of a rejected poem…

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/07/from-rejected-piece-to-debonair.html

  15. July 13, 2011 11:57 am

    My voice is stubborn —
    refuses to give up turf,
    so I write as me.

    Here’s my latest Limerick-Off — Fair Limerick.

  16. July 13, 2011 6:00 pm

    Busy work week, but finally, in the middle, a poem.

    the voice of god

  17. July 13, 2011 7:41 pm

    Hello, This is my first visit…♥ Helena

    Thank you and Here is mine:
    http://memoryboxcreations.blogspot.com/2011/02/royals-manifesto.html

  18. July 13, 2011 10:43 pm

    Here is “The Waves” at WordPress or Blogspot. Note, this is also a response to last week’s revision prompt, so I have posted “According to the waves” beneath “The Waves” (beneath the waves, he he…)

    Richard

  19. July 14, 2011 8:08 am

    This one was sooo much fun.
    https://thepoetsquill.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/so-young/

  20. July 14, 2011 11:58 am

    Just couldn’t find the time and inspiration this week for as much as I’d like… luckily, there was a similar prompt at another site last week. Here’s mine from that: Galatea

Leave a Reply

