Skip to content

Prompt #61, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

July 6, 2011

Revisionists Unite!

Pardon please, our local heatwave resulted in a power outage for the whole late half of this day. Just recently restored, so we’re now back with our post for you.

We Write Poems:  
You know how we sometimes feel, alight we’ll post that poem but it really feels not so “done” as it might be. Maybe meaning to come back, yet seldom do. So this was that opportunity for you. Take something out of that dusty box. This week we asked you to revise an old poem of yours, one that you felt could be somehow better said.

Please post both newly revised and original poems now, or provide us a link to the initial poem please. We wanna see! And how do you feel? Is that poem now done, or yet awaiting one more day? Time to share.

Next prompt we’ll be returning to our community prompts!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

18 Comments
  1. July 6, 2011 3:28 am

    Glad you’re back with us! http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/the-bra-saga/

  2. July 6, 2011 4:09 am

    The poem I re-worked is called giddyup modern art.

  3. July 6, 2011 4:40 am

    Revisionarily, Good Neighbors, again.

    I can’t believe I got up early enough to get a head start on posting.

    • July 6, 2011 5:35 am

      Congratulations on the Poet Laureate at Poetic Asides Joseph,

      Elizabeth

    • July 6, 2011 7:07 am

      Wow Poet Laureate! Congrats Joseph!

    • July 6, 2011 8:13 am

      Congratulations, Joseph: two poems in the top fifty AND Poet Laureate at Poetic Asides.

  4. July 6, 2011 4:48 am

    Hello…
    Here’s my revision: Between the Lines.

    ~Paula

  5. July 6, 2011 7:04 am

    Well I’m not sure it’s coherent (it’s late) but I managed to revise an old poem. I shall read it again in the morning light.

    the leaves of butterfly

  6. July 6, 2011 7:16 am

    I revised a 2009 poem. The link to the initial piece is in my post. This was a good exercise for me. I don’t often revise old work. Thanks for the nudge that way.
    seven saved

    Title

  7. July 6, 2011 8:59 am

    Here is my revision of a draft I have been ignoring. I’ll be back later to comment. We have powerwashers on the deck and I can’t think straight:
    http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/2021/

  8. July 6, 2011 12:09 pm

    I went back to the beginning of my blog in 2010. While this is not a favorite of mine. I liked a few lines, and felt it was worth a revision.
    Pamela

    A Trip to Oklahoma with a Mirror

  9. July 6, 2011 6:37 pm

    I’m just working my way back into writing after a long hiatus, and this revising prompt was a lovely way to ease my way in! Here’s my post:

    On Mass and Matter

  10. July 6, 2011 11:28 pm

    I confess this isn’t a revision. Instead, it’s another flare-up of my new addiction to acrostic limericks. Thanks!

  11. July 7, 2011 10:57 am

    Seems like I’m late on everything this week. Sorry.
    I don’t think I’m far enough away from this one. Appreciate your comments
    Revising Miranda

  12. July 7, 2011 8:36 pm

    sometimes late…but allways pormpt…hopefully tomorrow I will share….sooooooooo much gardening to dooooooo

  13. July 12, 2011 8:44 am

    Sorry so late posting.
    my poem

    Melanie Bishop

Comments are closed.