Skip to content

Prompt #59, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

June 22, 2011

Write here, now

We Write Poems:  
Time now to grab your poem-crayons and describe for us what you “observed” this week! This prompt was intended to offer us an opportunity to simplify our poem palettes, get to that most elemental state of observation at the root of writing itself. Did the process of description become a poem for you? What “still life” might you have painted for us to read? Please share with us now what you observed!

Thanks again to Pamela Sayers for this prompt!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 3:48 am

    My iffy still life…

    yeah, it’s me

  2. June 22, 2011 4:09 am

    It’s the first thing I do……most mornings.

    Write here, now

  3. June 22, 2011 4:51 am

    Great prompt! Here is whirling dervish.

    • June 23, 2011 2:57 am

      Not sure my comment got through on your blog. But thank you for participating here. Good sentiment, good prayer, and thanks.

      • June 23, 2011 5:57 am

        Thank you, Neil. I hope to be a regular participant in the future.

  4. June 22, 2011 5:20 am

    Thanks for using my prompt idea. Most days are like this …

    Pamela

    Below the Surface

  5. jeanneaguilar permalink
    June 22, 2011 5:39 am

    I enjoyed this prompt! ~Jeanne

    http://sidelinesbyjeanne.blogspot.com/

    • June 23, 2011 2:18 am

      Thanks for the poem Jeanne! (Can’t post a comment to your blog at the moment.) And that last line… wonderful!

  6. June 22, 2011 7:29 am

    I loved writing it:

    a statement

  7. June 22, 2011 8:01 am

    Here’s a piece about my little world. It feels like mostly observation with no real meat. At least part one does. Feel free to critique…whatever. I’ll likely rework this piece later. Thanks for reading. I’m heading out to do some birdwatching and will be back to read your pieces later.
    ~Brenda
    observations

  8. June 22, 2011 8:26 am

    Once begun, this one could have gone on for three more pages. Good thing I’m short on time,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/passing-the-box/

    Elizabeth

  9. June 22, 2011 10:52 am

    Here’s my “A href=”http://www.madkane.com/humor_blog/2011/06/21/haste-acrostic-limerick/”>Hasty Acrostic Limerick.

  10. June 22, 2011 10:54 am

    Trying again, because I screwed up the HTML. Sorry!

    Here’s my Hasty Acrostic Limerick.

    Thanks!

  11. June 22, 2011 1:28 pm

    A quickie, as I’ve just as I’ve just arrived home and found last Thursday’s prompt. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/where-i-write-for-wwp/

  12. June 22, 2011 3:24 pm

    Took me a while to come up with this, and I bent the intention of the prompt

    Today I Am Not

  13. June 22, 2011 4:37 pm

    As usual, I had some help with this one.
    http://thepoetsquill.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/fiona/

  14. June 23, 2011 7:33 am

    This was written during April’s Poem-a-Day but fits the prompt, and besides I’m extremely fond of my old writing desk.

    http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/my-desk/

  15. June 23, 2011 9:06 am

    You can find my Here Now at WordPress or Blogspot. Off to the movies with my boys; will read and comment later today.

    Richard

  16. June 23, 2011 12:36 pm

    here is mine for WWP#59
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/06.html

  17. June 23, 2011 8:26 pm

    This is my first go at “We Write Poems”. After an engaging conversation with Margo Roby earlier this week about the wonders of this site and the people here, I wandered my way over to participate with Pamela’s prompt. Here is my response:

    http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/the-beginning-of-each-end/

    NOW I can go read! 🙂

    ~Paula

Leave a Reply

