Skip to content

Prompt #54, It’s post your Prompts and Poems day!

May 18, 2011
tags:

Take the driver’s seat!

We Write Poems:  
Alright, something different this week! We asked you to write a poem prompt for our community of writers. Time to end the suspense and share your prompt(s) with us now. (And yes, it’s fine if you have more than one.) What poetic topic or form would you like to see this community address and respond to with a poem? Remember please, we’re not trying to resolve the world’s problems or write that one perfect poem. Some prompts are simple, some thoughtful, some emotional, and some even with a dash of whimsy. You all get an “A” for participation!

Optionally, to illustrate, you could go ahead and write your own poem as stated by the prompt you wrote. Share that as well along with your prompt (we know you love to write poems!).

From these prompts we’ll select some or all to use as our community prompts over the coming weeks or months. Thanks for playing with us!

Don’t have a prompt yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your prompt/poem in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your results!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

24 Comments
  1. May 18, 2011 12:34 am

    I prompted myself by using the serendipitous oxymoron prompt generator, which inspired these two limericks: Adorable Tyrant and Tasty Tragedy (I link to that very cool generator at both posts.)

  2. May 18, 2011 12:59 am

    I think the idea is good, if you can figure out what I’m talking about, but.
    I am a bad prompt writer.
    Prompt B1

  3. May 18, 2011 2:37 am

    I had great fun with this one. Thank you!

    http://imnotaverse.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/dancing-with-pikus/

  4. Irene permalink*
    May 18, 2011 4:24 am

    Code word, p2. Erm, I meant prompt + poem.

    the poet is thinking about the universe

    • Irene permalink*
      May 18, 2011 6:14 pm

      Brenda, love the documentary prompt. And one of the uses of poetry is to be a mirror to life and you’ve done exceedingly well on that score with the native Americans robbed of their land. Thank you! (blogger is unresponsive)

  5. May 18, 2011 5:39 am

    This one was already in the works:

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/have-dictionary-will-dance/

    Elizabeth

  6. May 18, 2011 5:40 am

    I am really terrible with prompt ideas, but this is a method I sometimes use.

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2011/05/highways-intersect-with-visions-we.html

  7. May 18, 2011 5:51 am

    Such fun, even if I did start late!
    Prompt and response: http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/prompt-and-response-to-we-write-poems/

  8. May 18, 2011 6:11 am

    I set myself another task – to write a quatern. I don’t recommend following where the prompt took me!
    http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/quatern-warning-poem-in-bad-french-with-worse-translation/

  9. May 18, 2011 6:29 am

    Here’s my prompt and poem: Tonic Town (WordPress) or Tonic Town (Blogspot)

  10. May 18, 2011 7:10 am

    Here’s my prompt and poem: Change.

    -Nicole

  11. May 18, 2011 9:30 am

    And here’s what I bumped into the other day.

    better out than in

  12. May 18, 2011 10:50 am

    I looked on the calender & out the window & decided to write about that day, how I was feeling, the weather, more thoughts, memories, ect. This prompt could be used for any date, I used Monday 16 May. The poem is on my blog site.

  13. May 18, 2011 11:30 am

    Good job, good job one and all.

    How much work you’ve now given me to do! But welcome work. Good prompts for these weeks and months to come.

    I’m not yet done even reading all, but work-for-money calls me away for a while. Thank you all.

  14. May 18, 2011 3:39 pm

    Prompt = Tree and Shade

    Here is my poem…

    http://dannyearlsimmons.blogspot.com/2011/05/what-i-can-give-you.html

  15. May 19, 2011 1:13 pm

    My prompt:
    Write a note to your muse.
    Thank her, ask her a question, give her a piece of your poetic mind, bid her a “Dear John”-style adieu…whatever gets your pen scratching.

    Here’s mine:
    http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/landlocked-2/

  16. May 19, 2011 1:15 pm

    Some great prompts here! Nice work, all. Thankful to have this reference for the “dry days”…

  17. May 19, 2011 9:22 pm

    here is my poem using my prompt The Hot Corner
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2011/05/La-Esquina-Caliente.html

    • May 21, 2011 12:03 am

      Welcome back and thanks for the prompt/poem Wayne. Much color and sound, like a painting and more. Thanks.

  18. May 20, 2011 1:04 pm

    My form is odd, like I am! It’s called:
    Formulaic: 3 + (x) = Poem.
    Three lines, plus one in parentheses that informs the lines coming before it. I really enjoyed doing this, even if no one uses it! And anyone who knows me knows I don’t “do” forms… Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/05/20/render-surrender/

Comments are closed.