Skip to content

Prompt #54 Take the driver’s seat!

May 12, 2011
tags:

  

Take the driver’s seat!

We Write Poems:  
Well here’s the mirror image for last week’s cento poem prompt. This time we’d like you to be the source and seed for a poem writing prompt. That’s what we mean, taking the driver’s seat! Take a look, consider what poem prompt you would like to address, what interests or challenges you the most? What prompt would you like this community of writers to use for a poem? Here’s your chance to share and provide direction to our poems! We’re excited to offer this opportunity to expand our shared participation.

So here’s what we’d like you to do. First consider what prompt would be an interesting and challenging prompt for you, including then what you think would be good for the group. Then 1) write a brief paragraph describing the poem prompt itself, and 2) go ahead and write your own poem to that prompt. Bring that back to share with us in a week. From those prompts we’ll select some or all to use as our community prompts over the coming weeks or months.

Come back next Wednesday when you see,It’s Post Your Poems Day!” and leave a link to the poem on your blog. If you don’t have a blog, then please, post your poem in the comment itself.    ***    You are invited to respond to the prompt given here, but if you have something else you’re just itching to share, please feel welcome in doing that. Our first desire here is to encourage you to write and learn and share.    ***    When leaving comments to other’s poems, please be appreciative and encouraging. We are not a poem “critique” site (unless someone specifically asks for that). Be kind with each other (and yourself!).    ***    Please consider including a link with your blog poem back to the prompt response here at We Write Poems so that others may see and join our community. More participants do make better soup!

10 Comments
  1. May 13, 2011 5:09 am

    Hi Neil,
    Can we contribute a prompt from another source if we attribute it?
    margo

    • May 16, 2011 8:17 am

      OK, yep. Rules are blowing in the breeze you know.

      But you understand this “prompt” here is not just about getting a pile of prompts (nice as that is), but engaging folks to play from both sides of that line, prompt/poem. (Maybe you could do both!)

      That said, yes, I’ve always been willing to borrow (steal) anything of quality that appeals to me! 🙂 (yes, with credits due)

  2. May 16, 2011 9:00 am

    I know 🙂

    I think it’s a great idea. I am not good at coming up with good prompts but would love to learn how and this is a chance to practice. If I don’t come up with something, I have a fun prompt in reserve.

    Thanks, Neil 🙂

    • May 16, 2011 12:08 pm

      You make me smile again! Say after me… I believe in prompts, I believe in prompts… 🙂 But really really, the relationship between a prompt and the poems that come is about as elastic as anything will ever be. So no frets. And the state of “not knowing” is a very good place to be! Over and over, I’ve seen that be true. Unexpected results… good poem soup.

      Besides, what’s one prompt, one poem in the scheme of things? There’s always another, another. Simple math. To be honest, sometimes I struggle just to do a prompt I like, but it is never the struggle that produces the result, rather only willingness (sometimes big ears too). All good I think.

      And a big thanks for saying Margo! This counts too. 🙂

  3. Irene permalink*
    May 16, 2011 6:38 pm

    What a deep exchange, you two! 🙂

  4. Irene permalink*
    May 16, 2011 6:40 pm

    Margy, I tried writing a poem first, then the prompt. It worked too. It seems easier than to think of a prompt first, at least for me.

    • May 16, 2011 6:45 pm

      🙂 @ Margy: Isn’t it? But I wanted to be part of this and was worrying that I wouldn’t be able to come up with a prompt myself. As it is I sort of did what you suggested before I saw your comment. I came up with a prompt after a poem I have always wanted to try. Now I’m working on my poem!

  5. May 16, 2011 6:46 pm

    Sorry, I was distracted–that’s @ Irene!

  6. May 17, 2011 8:41 pm

    just bac k fro Cuba….mind still on the Prado in Havana….and soooooooooo much yard workd to do…but I will try to come up with something Amigos

Comments are closed.