Skip to content

Prompt #53, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

May 11, 2011

Directed cento poem

We Write Poems:  
What writer or poet did you choose as the source for your cento poem this week? Did you find the “gathering” an interesting process in itself? We hope you had a poet whose writing offers you a sense of personal internal well-being. That was our special “direction” for your source lines as you recall. How then was the re-assembly into a new poem for you? Did the character, the quality, of the new poem reflect something of the source or did you go off into another direction. Please now share your cento poen result with us. And also please remember to credit the poet (and poems) used in this process.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

40 Comments
  1. May 11, 2011 2:45 am

    This was an interesting challenge! Here’s mine:

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2011/05/still-breathing.html

    • May 11, 2011 10:19 pm

      Mary, I couldn’tget my comment to stick on your blog. We KNOW how difficult it is to write a coherent poem using someone else’s lines, but you have made it look easy, and given us a delightful experience into the bargain.

    • May 12, 2011 7:28 pm

      Hey Pamela,
      Went to you site but it said the Blogger was down. I do not know Charles Bukowsk. I do like what you have done with his poetry. There is a flow that seems natural in the way you have laid the lines to compose your Cento. Great work!
      Regards,
      Don

  2. Irene permalink*
    May 11, 2011 4:05 am

    A cento poem is like thievery with attribution but the result is kind of amazing.

    whirlpool

  3. May 11, 2011 4:07 am

    I’m with Irene, amazing theft,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/strictures-and-structures/

    Elizabeth

    • May 11, 2011 10:34 am

      MR. WALKER, PAY HEED. Your brilliance reinterpreted, and with gusto. See what an inspiration you are, Richard? Nice job, Elizabeth! Amy

      • May 11, 2011 10:32 pm

        Amy, I’m paying careful attention, even if it’s a little late.

        Richard

    • May 11, 2011 10:31 pm

      Elizabeth, you can “steal” from me anytime you like. It’s not really stealing if it’s offered freely, is it?

      Richard

  4. May 11, 2011 4:07 am

    My thanks to Mary Oliver.

    apples and bears

  5. May 11, 2011 4:36 am

    From M. L. Smoker, a Montana poet.
    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2011/05/m-l-smoker-cento.html

    • May 11, 2011 10:57 pm

      Commenting on your site proved impossible, but these “confused bloodcells” wanted to thank you for the delightful introduction to ML smoker’s poems.

    • May 17, 2011 1:19 am

      (ditto comment post) But thanks much. Yes yes, interesting evocative poet you’ve introduced and your cento was very well done indeed. Thank you Brenda.

    • Irene permalink*
      May 17, 2011 4:26 pm

      Her lines are subtle like smoke.

      I like the imagery in “my cries combust into purple flames
      swallowed by glaciers the size of ten thousand buffalo”..

      Blogger didn’t respond again.

  6. May 11, 2011 5:36 am

    That was fun! Trees, based on lines by Robert Frost.

    • May 11, 2011 11:19 pm

      The blogosphere is throwing a wobbly this morning, yours is the third where I have been unable to comment directly.

      Your arborial poem is my favourite of all the entos I’ve read so far. I just loved it, with no consciousness that the lines ever started life elsewhere,

  7. May 11, 2011 5:46 am

    I broke the rules and wrote an entry in the Diary of a Lost Soul

    -Nicole

  8. May 11, 2011 6:00 am

    I borrowed from Langston Hughes for The stars went out and so did the moon

  9. May 11, 2011 6:10 am

    Almost forgot to post…a busy morning!

    I took from about twelve Frost poems:
    http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/centofrom-frost/

  10. May 11, 2011 6:12 am

    Question for anyone who knows: are centos submittable for publication? i.e. Are they considered legitimate given the thievery with attribution?

  11. May 11, 2011 7:08 am

    Margo: you can certainly submit them for publication! But yes, make sure you indicate which author(s) and poem(s) you’re borrowing from.

    Mine: Running through the Underworld

    • May 11, 2011 7:50 am

      Wonderful, Joseph! Thank you. Because I do love writing these.

      • May 11, 2011 10:07 am

        Always listen to Joseph. He is not only talented; he is a man of infinite resources. Amy

  12. May 11, 2011 9:59 am

    I rarely venture into this form, but reading Carl Sandburg last night, I was inspired. THANKS for the prompt; it was certainly timely! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/womens-work-a-cento/

  13. May 11, 2011 10:49 am

    I dream of thee, This it is, and nothing more.

  14. May 11, 2011 11:24 am

    Instead of a cento, I celebrated National Limerick Day (and Edward Lear’s birthday — May 12) with an acrostic limerick.

  15. May 11, 2011 12:18 pm

    Fun prompt and a kind of poem I would not have written without the prompt. I love how different prompts can stretch my writing. I used three poems by Margaret Atwood. Here is my link:

    http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/2011/05/poem-pre-still-life.html

  16. May 11, 2011 1:17 pm

    Glad you’re still around.

    I’m not much on reading poetry for healing, etc, but I found some lines from e.e. cummings

  17. May 11, 2011 1:41 pm

    I did e.e. cummings, one of my favorites, from “since feeling is first,” “humanity” and others. Great prompt. Thanks!

    http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/syntax/

  18. May 11, 2011 9:02 pm

    Done, but late. I really enjoyed this. Looking forward to seeing what everyone else did. 🙂

    http://tasmith1122.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/memories/

  19. May 11, 2011 9:54 pm

    Two for the price of one: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/2-centos-euphoria-and-tranquility/

    The second is to the WWP prompt, and the first to Bigtent’s last prompt.

  20. May 12, 2011 12:10 pm

    I really enjoyed this prompt, it was very fun to work with.

    I’m a day late but below is my poem!

    http://wordsbystacy.blogspot.com/2011/05/prompt-writing-directed-cento-poem.html

    • May 16, 2011 8:32 am

      Thanks for playing Stacy. (comments on your blog unresponsive, so… ) Yes, her lines are rather ripe with possibilities, could start a poem from many many of those lines alone. Almost too ripe perhaps. Catch my breath. Thanks!

    • Irene permalink*
      May 16, 2011 7:23 pm

      Stacy, what you did was precious and introduced a poet new to me. Thank you. The lines are weaved like one long poem, sewn so beautifully, and the title is mesmerising. If I could just quote one section,

      winter blew you open
      like a cold stone of the south,
      the days when change lined the living room
      till I gave up what was blank.

      Blogger did not respond one bit to the click to post comment.

Comments are closed.