Skip to content

Prompt #50, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

April 20, 2011

First lines!

Something simple for your busy NaPoWriMo fingers this week. Time to catch your breath. Write a poem that begins with either of these two lines we asked.

I’m willing to eat… or
I do my laundry when

Hope you enjoyed your recess this week!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

          **********

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 12:21 am

    I’m willing to eat
    when I’ve finished my laundry,
    unless I fold first.

    Now that I’ve gotten that haiku out of my system, here’s my latest Limerick-Off challenge.

  2. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:37 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/04/laundry-blues.html

    This response is from the heart!

  3. April 20, 2011 3:05 am

    Like moon pie, but that’s too sweet…

    big yellow bus

  4. earlybird permalink
    April 20, 2011 3:18 am

    http://wp.me/s1hixd-laundry

  5. Irene permalink*
    April 20, 2011 3:38 am

    Is time to do the laundry? Sheesh.

    another laundry poem

  6. April 20, 2011 4:44 am

    While I didn’t use it as a first line, my piece was inspired by one of the first lines… Thanks for the prompt!
    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2011/04/napowrimo-20-we-write-poems.html

  7. April 20, 2011 6:06 am

    Rough week, nothing terribly interesting… Expecting a Guest

  8. April 20, 2011 6:48 am

    “I’m willing to eat”… anywhere — a real-life account of my experience in 60’s all-night diners: Sneakin’ Up On Breakfast

  9. April 20, 2011 7:26 am

    Not to prompt, still on my journey,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/sevenling-ever-burning-fire/

    Elizabeth

  10. April 20, 2011 1:50 pm

    I honestly tried to write “I’m willing to eat” about my military experiences in Southeast Asia during jungle survival training. But then I realized no one could finish reading it without swallowing hard. I have spared you from an upset tummy. This will have to do.

    I am

  11. April 21, 2011 6:09 am

    Here’s my poem, starting with “I’m wiling to eat”:
    http://sadlywaiting.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/doggy-love/

    • April 21, 2011 7:08 pm

      Thanks for reminding me, Richard! And sorry I kept calling you “Carl”; I have no idea where I got that!! Humbly, Amy

  12. April 21, 2011 10:04 am

    I’m a little late but here it is:

    http://ravenswingpoetry.com/2011/04/18/napowrimo-poem-10-the-door-the-lock-the-key/

    Note: it’s password protected. Contact me in Comment Moderation or by email if you’d like to read. 🙂

    -Nicole

  13. April 21, 2011 7:07 pm

    Wow, Mr. Walker, thanks for reminding me! I’m having a hard time with the “remember to come back” part of this site, sad to say…
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/willing-to-eat-worms-day-18/

Leave a Reply

