Skip to content

Prompt #46, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

March 23, 2011

Street Art Poem

What poem did you see in that city street scene? The focal point was a street art painting done by the Australian street artist Rone. Did you stay with the painting exclusively, include something more of the environment too, or simply go for a poetic stroll down the street? Now’s time to say and share with us your result. A poem for your thoughts?

Thanks again to Nicole for this prompt.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

          **********

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

25 Comments
  1. March 23, 2011 1:12 am

    She looked to me like someone who was emerging from the darkness.

    I will let the door open

  2. Irene permalink*
    March 23, 2011 1:26 am

    Emergent artist! Despair not.

    writing a woman’s life

  3. March 23, 2011 1:53 am

    I’m afraid I’m terrible at drawing inspiration from artwork, photos, or other visual prompts. So instead, I’m posting my
    Two Limerick Odes To World Poetry Day. I hope that’s kosher. 🙂

    • March 23, 2011 2:07 pm

      Very much kosher, Madeleine. 🙂 I loved your poem of the myriad of forms and ways to write in honor of World Poetry Day. I can’t figure out how to post on your site still. I know it has to do with AOL though, because when I went on the explorer I could post. By the time I get through with the responses, I forget. This is a long explanation but I do want you to know I enjoy your work very much though you wouldn’t know it necessarily from my responses. 🙂

      • March 23, 2011 3:06 pm

        Thanks so much, Judy. I appreciate your kind words. I’m not sure why my SPAM filter’s allergic to the AOL browser, but that does seem to be the case. (Something about proxies, whatever those are. :)) Look forward to seeing you on Explorer. And thanks again!

  4. March 23, 2011 3:35 am

    Nicole, sometimes a prompt stands up and demands a response, thank you for this one,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/1-thru-12-the-true-story/

    Elizabeth

  5. March 23, 2011 4:40 am

    Thank you for the picture, Nicole. It will be interesting to read the pieces it inspired. https://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/prompt-46-its-post-your-poems-day/

  6. March 23, 2011 4:41 am

    Sorry about that, I linked us back to this page. 🙂 Here’s my piece:
    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2011/03/satans-wires.html

    • March 23, 2011 4:32 pm

      Small and electric poem, Brenda. Reverberates with me. (blogger unresponsive so I’m saying it here)

  7. March 23, 2011 4:51 am

    You’ve trained us well! Thanks!

    http://1ightverse.blogspot.com/2011/03/toast.html

  8. March 23, 2011 4:52 am

    Wow, this art was powerfull for me.
    http://judyidliketosay.blogspot.com/2011/03/vision.html

  9. March 23, 2011 5:22 am

    Thanks to Nicole. Interesting idea. I didn’t expect to wind up where I did

    Wonder

  10. March 23, 2011 5:44 am

    Here is my offering for this week:

    Woman

    -Nicole

  11. March 23, 2011 5:57 am

    Can’t decide where to sit.

    Train goes by

  12. March 23, 2011 6:41 am

    My attempt: Genius Loci

    And if anyone’s curious, the story behind the woman in the artwork can be found here

    • March 23, 2011 5:34 pm

      Thanks for digging out the back story Joseph..I found it interesting that the artist’s choice of location is tied to the idea of a woman’s face being literally weathered by age and nature, the expression of anger and sorrow reflected the real woman’s own feelings about her marriage and that with the passing of time, as the art grew weathered, her marriage ended.

  13. March 23, 2011 7:33 am

    First time participating, here is mine. http://poesiatorta.blogspot.com/2011/03/448.html

  14. March 23, 2011 8:34 am

    This poem went in a different direction
    Marian Veverka
    queenie@coastalwave.net

Trackbacks

  1. How Things Are « I'm Not A Verse
  2. Inspired Poetry
  3. EVERFRESH STUDIO

Comments are closed.