Skip to content

Prompt #38, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

January 26, 2011

Morning Wake-up Call

Imagine… it’s the moment of dawn! Tell us now what is that morning wake-up call like for you. Invite us into that space as dreams flee the light. How do you feel? Is dawn a welcome event, gladly received? Or are you looking for that first cup of coffee before you’re willing to admit wakefulness? Either way, tell us please how that transition arrives for you. Whatever your poetic view and result, now is the time to share.

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

          **********

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

29 Comments
  1. January 26, 2011 12:39 am

    Enchant

  2. January 26, 2011 12:39 am

    Hey everyone! It’s been a while since I’ve written poetry, but I thought I’d start again. Here’s my response to the prompt: http://damianinreallife.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/crowded-eyes-a-poem/

  3. January 26, 2011 2:33 am

    I have two. The first thing that came to mind:

    this bubble universe knows aches and pains

    and, after I thought about it a little,

    what does his mother think

  4. Irene permalink*
    January 26, 2011 2:47 am

    Good morning everyone! (well, imagine it’s already morning if this is the wrong time zone). I like this prompt, I think coz we all wake up everyday don’t we, (physically real), and of course, we’re supposed to write something more than the physical (I think).:)

    morning wake-up call

  5. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    January 26, 2011 3:29 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/01/written-to-annoy-you.html

    A thoroughly irritating poem.

  6. January 26, 2011 3:52 am

    It’s 5:48Am. At 7:00AM a ole sawbones will be slicing and dicing me. I will be down and out for a spell so I will miss our Wednesday morning poetic sharing. I’ll be back. Now y’all write some nice stuff now. Upon awakening I was still cradled in the arms of Morpheus and this little philosophical ditty came to mind.

    Pounding on dawn’s door

  7. January 26, 2011 4:27 am

    http://dannyearlsimmons.blogspot.com/2010/10/alisha.html

    Alisha
    Danny Earl Simmons

    Avoiding my cold morning run
    lying next to you – covered and cuddling
    in your arms, our legs tangled, I kiss
    softest skin of your body, so warm,
    hear you breathe my name, hear you say –
    Alright, my love. It’s time to run.

  8. January 26, 2011 5:09 am

    My fairly literal poem about myearly morn:

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2011/01/morning-wake-up-call.html

  9. January 26, 2011 8:16 am

    I am not a morning person and this poem expresses that.

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2011/01/mornings-silence-please-sun-shining-in.html#comments

  10. January 26, 2011 8:22 am

    Slept in, so this isn’t going up til now. Go figure. Lazarus, Rest

  11. January 26, 2011 8:30 am

    I actually wrote the poem Matutolypea * earlier in the month, but because I kinda woke up on the wrong side of the bed on this snowy day, I’m posting it for this prompt:

    http://1ightverse.blogspot.com/2011/01/todays-post-has-been-brought-to-you-by.html

    (Please scroll down as it’s the 2nd poem in that particular post. Thanks!) ☼

  12. January 26, 2011 10:15 am

    Poem can be found at htto//Marianv.blog,co,uk

  13. January 26, 2011 10:47 am

    Here’s my morning wake-up call haiku:

    Morning legs dangle
    Off the bed, as antique joints
    Brace for their touch down.

  14. January 26, 2011 10:51 am

    Hello. It’s been a while. I thought I might submit today since mornings get my attentions a lot lately. I wrote this draft, Monday Morning Symphony, for this week’s prompt. I want to offer another recent morning poem, Prodded to Wake, because I wrote it.

  15. January 26, 2011 11:08 am

    This was so much interesting topic .. i never realized i have this routine of waking up :

    http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/i-am-awake/

  16. January 26, 2011 11:34 am

    I enjoyed writing for this prompt. One of my recent mornings:

    http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/2011/01/poem-dogs-of-morning.html

  17. January 27, 2011 10:15 am

    Here’s my poem to start the morning: Snowy Woods

Trackbacks

  1. Wake-up call | Vivinfrance's Blog

Comments are closed.