Skip to content

Prompt #36, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

January 12, 2011

Revisionist Writing!

Welcome to the new year of writing! Something new, something borrowed, something of any color will do. So what older poem of yours did you decide to revisit and revise? Was it a simple “face lift”, major “fixer-upper”, or a whole new stance on the original poem, be it in concept or form? All those choices were yours to make. Time now to reveal your result. Please remember to include reference to the original poem (be it a labelled copy into the new post, or simply a link to the original) so that we can appreciate the change. Any additional writer’s process notes might be especially useful for this prompt (at your option).

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

          **********

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 12:30 am

    Look for the before/after poems at
    http://Marianv./blog,co.uk

  2. Irene permalink*
    January 12, 2011 1:15 am

    Yay! I wrote my revised poem in a jiffy. And like it far better than the original labored version.

    near drowning

  3. January 12, 2011 1:51 am

    I edited large parts of my original poem.

    http://firmlyrooted.blogspot.com/2011/01/refresh-page.html

  4. January 12, 2011 4:47 am

    I realllllllly need to work on my revision skills. This is still in need of some hard pruning, but I think you can find the sentences now.
    spell

  5. January 12, 2011 6:27 am

    Loved this prompt as it forced me to revise a poem with a difficult format issue. Any comments, critiques, ideas, suggestions welcome. I want to keep working on the poem.
    Before and after can be found here: http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/before-and-after/
    margo

  6. January 12, 2011 7:34 am

    I hate revising, but sucked it up and did it for this: Sendings (Revised)

  7. January 12, 2011 9:28 am

    I revised one for better or for worse 🙂

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2011/01/hidden-meanings-we-write-poems-36.html

    • January 12, 2011 1:44 pm

      Pamela, I really liked the villanelle, even tho the all the big words were a little ott-putting. Bu the 2nd. reading went a lot better. I looked up your 1st version & this is a lot better. I like villanelles, but find them hard to write
      Marian

      • January 12, 2011 3:35 pm

        Marian thanks. I find the villanelle a difficult form and then with the technical words. I certainly got myself in a mess.
        But what is done, is done.

    • January 12, 2011 11:42 pm

      The villanelle form is a favourite of mine, ao I was biased in favour of the re-write before I even read it! The revision process is anamorphosis itself!

      • January 13, 2011 9:11 am

        Viv, I also like the villanelle. I find it challenging to write.
        There are many mistakes I made with this poem. Starting from the beginning using the technical words for example. But live and learn. Isn’t that what it is all about?

  8. January 12, 2011 2:20 pm

    Three past I wrote this poem while sitting in my garden admiring the azaleas and enjoying a soft spring breeze. It has always been one of my favorites. I did some revision to it and offer it for your pleasure. The picture is of one of the blossoms.

    This single kiss

  9. Rinkly Rimes permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:03 pm

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2010/12/smoothing.html

    It seems ages ago that I wrote this, with Xmas and New Year coming between! Anywy, here it is!

  10. January 13, 2011 10:01 am

    Explanation is on the blog. Tweaked extensively. Now I really WILL stop posting until after the move, but I could not resist this prompt, so thanks! Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/one-for-we-write-poems/

  11. Irene permalink*
    January 13, 2011 2:38 pm

    Posting for RJ Clarken (linky problem)

    Singing in the shower

  12. January 16, 2011 7:52 am

    Mocked

Trackbacks

  1. A re-written poem for WWP | Vivinfrance's Blog
  2. near drowning | lost in translation
  3. Seeing things differently revisited « poetrydiary

Leave a Reply

