Skip to content

Prompt #21, It’s Post Your Poems Day!

September 29, 2010

Color Scheme

What are your favorite colors, we asked of you. Do you hear their voice? What might they be whispering – or did they shout? And how many – did you use three or more, or become obsessed with only one? What did they suggest to you as a whole? We hope you found this a relaxing prompt, maybe revealing something of your tastes or self, but then prompts can wander anywhere, just as they want. Time now to share your colorful results. We look forward to reading your poems!

Don’t have a poem yet? Perhaps read a few done by others here, be inspired. There’s still plenty of time to discover a poem for yourself!

Leave the links to your poems in the comments of this post, then go visit your fellow writers’ sites and read their work. Remember to leave only positive comments in the spirit of sharing and not critiquing. We look forward to reading your poems!

          **********

Please remember to include a link with your blog poem post that links right back to here, this “Post Your Poems Day”, so that others reading your poem can also share in this community poem experience – maybe even someone new to We Write Poems!

If you are new to WWP, please be welcome to look around and read. The full prompt description you can find under “Recent Posts” on the top right of our page.

37 Comments
  1. September 29, 2010 12:17 am

    three short colors in no particular order coloring 1,2,3

    • September 29, 2010 3:27 pm

      Great creativity. I love the image.

    • September 29, 2010 11:30 am

      Don’t know why my browser is so shy about your blog (hard to comment there). Not my sentiment at all.

      Nice poem and I like how you let the colors evolve and open themselves inside of you. I so appreciate your participation Pamela. ~Neil

    • September 29, 2010 11:53 am

      My troubles with Blogger today. So my comment here…

      I like your grand scope (and sky) of a sort of list poem here with its multiple elements, color pallet in hand. Good coloring, both inside the lines and out! Thanks.

  2. September 29, 2010 1:16 am

    I hope this fits the bill.

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2010/09/green-plus-blue.html

    • September 29, 2010 12:08 pm

      Blogger don’t like me today! My comment here.

      Thank you for the rainbow of your poem Gautami. Quite a dish. Vibrant, breathing. Thanks.

      • September 30, 2010 1:37 pm

        Neil, I feel your pain. It’s a Blogspot world; I’m a lowly wordpresser, just sharing the planet! Amy

  3. September 29, 2010 4:45 am

    One colour dominates my taste!

    http://melrosemusings.blogspot.com/2010/09/colour-me-blue.html

  4. September 29, 2010 5:54 am

    Deep Azure

  5. September 29, 2010 6:54 am

    This is my colour scheme:
    http://flyingmonkey23.blogspot.com/2010/09/colour-scheme.html

  6. September 29, 2010 7:56 am

    A few haiku: Three haiku: Pembrokeshire

  7. September 29, 2010 8:42 am

    Enjoyed this prompt. Here is mine:

    my poem

    Melanie

  8. September 29, 2010 8:43 am

    Sorry will try again….

    my poem

    Melanie

  9. September 29, 2010 8:45 am

    Not having much luck.

    my poem

    Melanie

    • September 30, 2010 1:26 pm

      By Jove, I think she’s got it! LOL

      Commented on your site, but feeling your frustration at posting today. Lots of folks were having it – poltergeist? And if so, what color? ;^) Amy

  10. September 29, 2010 11:01 am

    Busy busy, long night, little sleep, too hot.

    Eskimo snows

    Lovely to see all the poetic responses here!

  11. September 29, 2010 12:11 pm

    Hopefully you will find my poem “Spring’s Parade of Colors”
    at http//marianv.blog.co.uk

    • Irene permalink*
      September 29, 2010 2:58 pm

      Lovely spring poem! (could not comment on blog)

      • September 29, 2010 3:27 pm

        On Marian’s blog if you use two names or at least a last initial, it will take the comment.

        Elizabeth

  12. September 29, 2010 1:34 pm

    Lovely prompt – had such fun with it!

    http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2010/09/29/rainbow-dreams/

  13. Irene permalink*
    September 29, 2010 2:17 pm

    A relaxing prompt huh? Alarm clock still set to wake up at 4am to leave for airport so I’m stupidly early. Maybe good since a poem tumbled out.

    color me beautiful

    • September 30, 2010 8:50 am

      Lovely poem Irene.

      However here I also want to suggest to everyone reading your prior poem too, Chinese Travels, which is just wonderful. Good good work Irene!

  14. Linda permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:01 pm

    My poem started with two colors and morphed into something unexpected.http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/09/political-diatribe.html

  15. September 29, 2010 3:18 pm

    My url didn’t show up correctly.

    http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/09/political-diatribe.html

  16. September 29, 2010 3:25 pm

    My url didn’t show up correctly.

    http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/09/political-diatribe.html

    • September 30, 2010 1:08 pm

      I couldn’t leave a comment on your blog, so I’ll do it here:

      Burned into stretched linen, indeed. Not just the heat of your colors (opinions) but the stretching of the canvas, indicating ACTION taken.

      No matter what side of the political aisle (wish it was 360 degrees, but not these days), your words hold true. Stand by your beliefs, but take time to breathe under the cooling cliff… perhaps to listen to others? I can’t be a true progressive if I don’t listen to the steadfast beliefs of the opposite end of the spectrum!

      Great work, Linda! Peace, Amy

  17. September 29, 2010 7:57 pm

    my poem is about gold

  18. Victoria Hendricks permalink
    September 30, 2010 7:06 am

    Here is my color scheme effort – wrote a bunch of color poems in May and don’t seem to be able to write new ones now, so I’ll share a couple. Here’s the link. http://victoria-andnowpoems.blogspot.com/2010/05/colors-three-and-four-brick-red-and.html#comments

  19. September 30, 2010 1:02 pm

    Mine is about race. Expecting some real feedback from this one!! Thanks for a prompt that was so open, my mind was free to go anywhere in the Grand Scheme.
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/natural-bronze-we-write-poems/
    Amy

Trackbacks

  1. grey – a childhood memory « Vivinfrance's Blog

Comments are closed.

