Skip to content

Prompt #13: It’s Post Your Poems Day

August 4, 2010

Big Bad Wolf by plums_deify on Flickr.com

.

Did you write something inspired by Little Red Riding Hood this week, or is the Big Bad Wolf more your style? Last Thursday Irene Toh prompted us to revisit the Red Riding Hood fairy tale. Today it’s time to post your links to your work, then visit your peers’ work to see how we imbued Little Red Riding Hood with new life. As always, remember the spirit of community when commenting on others’ work, and only post positively! Check back tomorrow for a new prompt.

32 Comments
  1. August 4, 2010 12:04 am

    Here’s mine: PLANS FOR THE EVENING

  2. August 4, 2010 12:43 am

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2010/08/cry-wolf.html

    Role reversal in mine!

    • August 6, 2010 2:54 pm

      Enjoyed the twist at the ending and the gallop of the rhythym and rhyme. Again, for some reason am unable to comment directly at Blog Spot. My apologies.

  3. August 4, 2010 1:28 am

    Here’s my big, bad wolf!

    http://melrosemusings.blogspot.com/2010/08/cautionary-tale.html

  4. August 4, 2010 1:46 am

    I enjoyed writing this:

    wolfish grins

    • August 6, 2010 2:59 pm

      Really enjoy how the ‘road’ (and all suggestiveness) is part of this poem, adding a rich depth about this often told tale Red and Wolf. Enjoyed ending.

      Sorry cannot respond blog spots. When I go to comment the visual verification box is a blank box with a red ‘x’. My apologies.

  5. August 4, 2010 1:53 am

    Trying to stir my muse to ignite my riding hood spark — still unlit…

  6. Irene permalink*
    August 4, 2010 2:59 am

    Yay I’m gonna read poems later..to make up for a really crappy day.

    flowers, cake and wolfskin

  7. August 4, 2010 4:08 am

    Back in the land of the living…here is my offering for this week:

    Tears and Teeth

    -Nicole

  8. August 4, 2010 5:44 am

    I can’t provide the jump between how my mind went from Red Riding Hood to the poem I wrote—but here’s the poem;
    http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/08/revision-of-fa.html

  9. August 4, 2010 5:56 am

    Here’s mine…I should say that while I avoided the prompt, or it avoided me….it was fun when it did come. Thanks Irene!
    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2010/08/danny-woodsman.html

  10. August 4, 2010 6:35 am

    Here’s mine…. Tinkerbell!

    http://troublebeingstrong.blogspot.com/2010/08/tinkerbell.html

  11. August 4, 2010 6:54 am

    Nice prompt, Irene. I’m enjoying this.

    Red

  12. angie permalink
    August 4, 2010 7:21 am

    tread lightly out there today, my friends.
    there are wolves in grandma’s clothing —

    http://another2doors.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/dear-red/

  13. August 4, 2010 8:57 am

    Interesting prompt… here’s my response:

    <a href="http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/red-in-the-hood/&quot;

  14. August 4, 2010 9:02 am

    oops, that doesn’t look quite right 🙂 but the address is correct:

    http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/red-in-the-hood/

  15. August 4, 2010 1:27 pm

    I’m going to cheat since I’m new here, and toss up a link to my recent Grendel poem.. close enough to the big bad wolf, eh?
    http://mjwheeler.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/spirit-guide/
    Like what I’ve read so far

  16. August 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    I love the images and let them take me along in the flow of the story.

  17. August 4, 2010 11:13 pm

    A joint prompt poem response this time around. Each more allowed the other to be as it needed to be. Thanks Irene.

    red wolf

  18. August 5, 2010 4:40 am

    I had some trouble posting this, but I have read most of the posted links and left comments and I thank those of you who have found your way to my posting and left comments.

    I do love to get comments! This was a challenging prompt but I enjoyed trying it, though it turned out a bit dark! Thank you and here is the link to my poem “Girl in the Hood.”

    http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/

  19. August 5, 2010 10:17 pm

    *** posted for Peggy by Neil Reid ***
    *** There is an as yet unknown reason because of which Peggy’s poem posting is not getting listed here, so I’m doing it in her behalf. *** If anyone has any observations or suggestions regarding this, please contact me via the Support@WWP email link. *** ~Neil

    Peggy’s post as follows:

    I have read most of the posted links and left comments and I thank those of you who have found your way to my posting and left comments. I do love to get comments! This was a challenging prompt but I enjoyed trying it, though it turned out a bit dark! Thank you and here is the link to my poem “Girl in the Hood.”

    http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/2010/08/photo-netherlands-1987-88-written-for.html

    • August 5, 2010 11:23 pm

      OK Peggy, a small mystery remains for now. I didn’t see your post when I looked a few minutes ago. But as soon as I posted in surrogate for you, your earlier posting immediately also came up. Don’t know why. Couldn’t find anything in error about the earlier posting (yours or the copy Mary tried to enter for you?). For now we’ll just keep an eye open and do let me know if the problem happens again. ~Neil

  20. August 5, 2010 10:35 pm

    Hello I am Happy Flower. I have a wolf poem. Do I have to be a member of this group? I did post poem at

    http://happyflowerwordzoo002.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/wolf-new-neighbours-the-hood-sleep-deprivation-poem/

    Hoping am not a party crasher. If I am, just ignore me.

    • August 5, 2010 11:12 pm

      Thank you Happy Flower for posting your wolf poem link!

      WeWritePoems is a community for folks who like to read/write poems (you’re already qualified!) and support each other in a positive encouraging manner. We welcome any and all to participate. Thursdays we post a new weekly prompt, then come back the next Wednesday (or soon after) to post the link to your poem (just exactly like you’ve done right here). Sooner is better than later, else other people may miss your posting, otherwise no deadline really.

      Welcome to WWP! Have a look around and hope to see you again. ~Neil

    • August 5, 2010 11:14 pm

      Ohh… and I forgot to add, great poem too! Good story, good humor through and through. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

