Skip to content

It’s Post Your Poems Day!

June 9, 2010

Last Thursday Angie asked us to erase Dorothy Miller Richardson’s words to create a poem. How did you go? Did you erase most of the words, or very few? Were you happy with the words how they were arranged on the page, or did you re-arrange them on paper or in your own Word document? Leave a link to your Erasures poem in the comments and be sure to visit your fellow poets’ links as well. I’m excited to see how many different meanings we’ll certainly have found in this one text!

A reminder on how to participate:

Post your poems in the comments of this post by linking to your poem on your blog, or by leaving your poem in its entirety. Once you leave your own comment, be sure to visit everyone else’s links. After all, we’re a community, and one of the best ways a community of writers can support its members is to read and comment on one another’s work. As we read each other’s poems, let’s remember why we created this community. We are a group of poets who seek inspiration, challenges, and a social community of other poets. If you comment on another poet’s work, please do so thoughtfully and positively – we are not a critique group.

58 Comments
  1. June 9, 2010 12:07 am

    A bit of abstract poetry: Eve’s Eyes

    • June 9, 2010 11:21 am

      Loved this, Rob. The centering of the words worked well, as did the image above. Amazing prompt and exercise; we all worked on the same words, yet we managed to cull completely different words and emotions from that work. Angie ROCKS prompts!

    • June 9, 2010 2:10 pm

      SUGGESTION: It is great to leave comments regarding the work of the other writers/poets here on WWP, but you should also leave that comment on the writer/poet’s actual blog, under their particular work — or they may never see it… 😉

      • June 10, 2010 9:35 am

        Yes, I agree, Rob. I try to do both, but sometimes my comment doesn’t “take” on a particular website… keeps looping me around to signing in, etc. So when in doubt, I try to do both, and if I can’t I come back here and comment!

  2. June 9, 2010 2:20 am

    Looking forward to these! Here’s mine: Mirrors

    • June 9, 2010 11:46 am

      The best line for me was “green Chartreuse/warming people with trembling limbs and burning eyes” – altogether wonderful. Again, so many variations! Thanks, Pamela! Amy B.L.

      • June 9, 2010 12:53 pm

        Thanks Amy I really appreciate that!
        Pamela

  3. angie permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:12 am

    I did two (couldn’t stop myself!!)
    can’t wait to read everyone’s — I’m glad you had fun!

    http://another2doors.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/so-much-had-collected-in-the-misery/

  4. June 9, 2010 5:13 am

    I wrote a “Found Poem” with phrases from Jogn Ruskin’s Praeterita & Dilecta.
    http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/06/i-have-so-much-to-tell-you.html

  5. June 9, 2010 5:19 am

    Albeit a bit on the odd side, here’s mine:

    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2010/06/miriam-wanting-to-be-elsewhere.html

    Thanks Angie, this was an interesting, fun experience. I’ll visit Erasures again.

    • June 9, 2010 11:15 am

      Tried to post a comment… and I’m a fellow Blogspotter! Didn’t take… so here goes:
      Brenda, you really wove a wonderful poem out of this work. Amazing, as I’m going along, how many different takes we have on the same text. And Miriam… you got her in there! Good on you, great work. Amy B.L.

      • June 9, 2010 11:50 am

        Thanks Amy, don’t know why you’re comment doesn’t take. Caught you here. I love reading all the pieces, too.
        It was a fun morning!

  6. June 9, 2010 5:58 am

    Here’s my offering for this week:

    The Day Before

    • June 9, 2010 11:06 am

      I could not view the poem… maybe it’s my browser, but if you slid in a .pdf or .jpeg of the poem, it didn’t take. Just a big window and the customary “x” – anybody else having a problem?

      Amy (Sharp Little Pencil)

    • June 9, 2010 11:49 am

      Now I can read it!! “Eve had nothing but touch.” WOW.

  7. June 9, 2010 6:05 am

    Angie fascinated me with her own erasures, so here’s my first contribution to WWP prompts!

    http://melrosemusings.blogspot.com/2010/06/theres-always-first-time.html

    • June 9, 2010 6:07 am

      It’s my second entry on the page!

    • angie permalink
      June 9, 2010 6:30 am

      oh, yay!
      I knew if I nagged you enough you’d join in!
      😀

    • June 9, 2010 8:36 am

      Nice one, Derrick! I tried this for the first time myself, too. It’s an interesting exercise, like carving something from wood or stone. Your piece honed her many words into something strong and effective.

      • June 9, 2010 11:41 am

        Derrick, I loved your take on this, especially:
        “and, astonished, laughed into the air.” What a poignant ending.

    • Irene permalink*
      June 10, 2010 1:43 am

      Derrick, could not post into your blog (boohoo). I read your erasure and enjoyed comparing. Your arrangement is uniquely yours. But we ended with the same words. So great minds think alike. First time doing too.

    • June 10, 2010 9:37 am

      I agree, Derrick, we both tapped into the ‘dark side.’ Kindred spirits, I suspect!

  8. June 9, 2010 6:08 am

    I’ve always wanted to try this, and the Erasures site made it much easier. Thanks for the tip.
    The effects of succeeding

  9. June 9, 2010 6:12 am

    I hope mine works:

    help me rewrite Greek tragedies

  10. June 9, 2010 7:27 am

    This was a lot of fun, and the Erasures site (Thanks, Angie) makes it easy to keep playing with variations.
    The text seemed to be All Eve, All the Time

  11. June 9, 2010 8:35 am

    It’s my first time here. Thanks to Amy B.L. for the invite!

    My poem “Pointed” is here:
    http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2010/06/09/pointed/

    I wish it was possible in WordPress to show it the way it looks as an Erasure, which I love, but alas.

    Thanks for your time!

    • June 9, 2010 11:56 am

      De, if you make a screenshot, you can convert it to jpeg and insert it as if it were a photo.

      • June 9, 2010 11:58 am

        Ooooo! If only I had ANY idea what any of that means! 😉 New to this, but will ask my handsome techie guy (aka hubbie) about “screenshots.” Thanks!

  12. June 9, 2010 8:35 am

    PS: I’m De Jackson, by the way. Pleased to meet you all, and can’t wait to do some reading. This was a great prompt, thank you!

    • angie permalink
      June 9, 2010 9:24 am

      nice to meet you!
      glad you liked the prompt!!
      😀

  13. June 9, 2010 9:57 am

    Two poems this time around.
    Red thread and The high room

    Thanks to Terry Tempest Williams for Red thread.

  14. June 9, 2010 10:42 am

    I was suprised at just how darn difficult (albeit fun) that was to do!

    http://mypoeticlicense.wordpress.com/2010/06/09/bad-aura/

    – Dina

  15. June 9, 2010 10:55 am

    I didn’t post my erasure to my blogspot blog, simply because it would not “take” the spaces left in between. So I’m sending y’all to the Erasures site to view the poem in its original form. I used the proposed text and have not viewed anybody else’s yet – can’t wait to see who came up with what! Amy AKA Sharp Little Pencil

    http://www.wavepoetry.com/erasures/erasures.php?poemid=2445

    • June 9, 2010 11:00 am

      Amy, I love yours, especially “lessons were dreadful experiences of home.”
      Wish I’d thought of sending a link to the original Erasure. I just love the look of it that way, as if somebody gently blew some words across the page, and they stuck where they landed, viola! …a poem. 😉

      • June 9, 2010 11:18 am

        De, I tried to key it in Word (with all spaces) and then transfer to Blogspot – that didn’t work because Blogspot would not retain the spaces keyed. I also tried to save the image as… but that failed as well. So yeah, I went for The Full Monty, as it were… let’s suggest this to Robert as a Poetic Asides, and as Angie suggested, all do the same work to see our collective responses. We can even use the links as I did. Whattaya think?

    • June 9, 2010 11:57 am

      Oooo Amy! I love this! It’s haunting, and leaves me wanting more. You did a fabulous job. I like how it looks on the page. Awesome erasing!

      • June 10, 2010 9:38 am

        This is a fascinating process, no? Kudos to Angie for this prompt and for turning us PA’ers on to a new form!

    • June 9, 2010 12:09 pm

      Hi Amy,

      So, she did Mr Strood credit once and it thrilled her? Oo-er! I enjoyed this poor girl’s trial!

      • June 10, 2010 9:41 am

        Boy, did I dig for through the psychological muck or what? It’s as though the words jumped off the page and called to me. The site itself is a gem; will do more as time goes on.

        And as for dark, right back atcha!

    • angie permalink
      June 9, 2010 2:52 pm

      I agree with De — it is lovely, like someone blew the words across the page.

      and I’ll tell you — I switched from blogger to wordpress simply because of the spacing. I need my spaces! WordPress allows you to import your entire blog (free!!) from blogger, easy as pie. and they have way-cool themes. (just ask Barb; she switches about every 3 hours, by my count.)

      😀

      • June 10, 2010 2:38 am

        I’d say you run Barb a close second, Angie!! :0)

      • June 10, 2010 9:40 am

        Angie, thanks. I set up a new WordPress blog and will start running that as my address. WordPress seems to be the way to go. And again, thx for a wonderful tool and prompt! Amy

      • June 10, 2010 3:12 pm

        I’m on WordPress (a newbie), and will apparently have to play around a little more. I’m having tons of trouble getting it to space the way I want it to. I’m a big fan of the concrete poem, and have yet to figure out how to make a few of them happen on the page of the site. I’ve been able to “trick” it some by using filler words or symbols in white type, which doesn’t show up, but what I wouldn’t give to just be able to space the way I want in a Word doc, then cut and paste onto my WordPress pages. Anybody been able to do this?

    • June 9, 2010 7:55 pm

      Hey Amy — wonderful! I’m with De — it looks like you blew the words (and punctuation) across the page and it. just. stuck. Poor forgotten guest, poor Eve. She really went through it that night, eh?

  16. June 9, 2010 11:20 am

    I think it’s a great idea, and a GREAT prompt. He could choose the original text. I love seeing it whittled away in so many different ways. Funny how certain words speak to us as individuals.

    • angie permalink
      June 9, 2010 2:59 pm

      hey, now!
      are you going to invite us along??
      😀

      • June 10, 2010 9:43 am

        Just hop over to Poetic Asides on Wednesdays and join us! Otherwise, if Robert goes for an Erasure prompt, I’ll log in and invite the WWP gang, for sure. ;^)

  17. June 9, 2010 12:45 pm

    I was crazy about what I had created with “Pointed Roofs” but here’s my second attempt at an erasure:
    Secret Notes

  18. June 9, 2010 1:01 pm

    Here is my poem, Behind the Piano: http://sadlywaiting.blogspot.com/2010/06/behind-piano.html

    • Irene permalink*
      June 10, 2010 2:46 am

      You’ve condensed the original well, Mr Walker. It gives a wholesome feeling. (I can no longer comment on blogger it seems.)

      • June 10, 2010 9:43 am

        Irene, I’m ON blogger and it won’t take my comments. That’s why I’m switching to WordPress!

  19. June 9, 2010 5:37 pm

    Oh, I thoroughly enjoyed this prompt. Thanks SO much for that Erasures tool — what a find! I have two poems today, one from the suggested prompt and another one that I discovered from a New York Times article:

    http://lindagoin.com/2010/some-writers-dont-recognize-their-poetic-potential.html

  20. Irene permalink*
    June 9, 2010 9:37 pm

    I erased and found a poem. Virginal effort.

    Eve

  21. June 10, 2010 3:52 am

    Here is my ‘found’ poem – http://umaathreya.blogsome.com/2010/06/10/first-love-2/

  22. June 10, 2010 11:24 am

    Way later than I had hoped to post this, sorry!

    Prom Night

Trackbacks

  1. Some Writers Don't Recognize Their Poetic Potential...

Comments are closed.