Skip to content

It’s Post Your Poems Day!

May 26, 2010

cabbage field at sunset by kevincole at flickr.com

Did anyone write about cabbages and Amish women? Last week’s prompt from Joseph Harker asked us to consider the significance of two places where we have spent time recently. Did you stay indoors or venture outdoors? Is your place large in scope (a beach, a city) or small (your bedroom, your garden)? Is it a public or private space? It’s always fascinating to learn about how other people view their surroundings. I’m curious to see what places we all chose to write about and what significance we found in those places. I look forward to reading what everyone came up with!

A reminder on how to participate:

Post your poems in the comments of this post by linking to your poem on your blog, or by leaving your poem in its entirety. Once you leave your own comment, be sure to visit everyone else’s links. After all, we’re a community, and one of the best ways a community of writers can support its members is to read and comment on one another’s work. As we read each other’s poems, let’s remember why we created this community. We are a group of poets who seek inspiration, challenges, and a social community of other poets. If you comment on another poet’s work, please do so thoughtfully and positively – we are not a critique group.

29 Comments
  1. May 26, 2010 6:26 am

    Here’s my offering for this week:

    Nativity Scenes

    -Nicole

  2. May 26, 2010 6:28 am

    Joseph — thank you for the prompt. The exercise forced me to look at some issues I hadn’t thought about for a while. Gulf Coast Flyways

  3. May 26, 2010 6:30 am

    My poem this week is titled “BLINK

    • Irene permalink*
      May 26, 2010 3:12 pm

      Paul, your unsafe poem brings to light the darkness that comes with our very beings. As always religious without being religious.
      I just wanted to comment here so everyone will go read. It’s also a delightful intro into the interview that I did with Paul that will be coming pretty soon.

  4. May 26, 2010 6:37 am

    I am still processing the amish cabbages, my poem is called carousel while it looks for a better name

  5. May 26, 2010 6:39 am

    Thinking of two places was easy. Thinking ABOUT them was another story. Delightful prompt, Joseph!

    http://amybarlowpoetry.blogspot.com/2010/05/therapy-two-places-wwp.html

  6. Irene permalink*
    May 26, 2010 6:42 am

    My poem’s place is indoor but what a lovely pic of the cabbage field!

    bedroom stories

  7. May 26, 2010 6:55 am

    Wow, you guys are quick! Here’s mine for the week, blended with Big Tent Poetry’s prompt about aphrodisiacs: Wrinkled sheets

  8. May 26, 2010 6:57 am

    Here is an old one I wrote…..

    my poem

    Melanie

  9. May 26, 2010 7:03 am

    forget the one above. Have to leave the whole poem because of date and comments.
    Here is my poem

    waking from deep sleep
    my eyes heavy with star dust
    I wish not to wake
    for in dreams my love is true
    elusive though he may be

    dream on my angel
    fill this empty heart with music
    cool me with your kiss
    as we walk the sands of time
    I would not leave you this night

    so dream on my sweet
    dream on my one true lover
    leave me not to wake
    let us walk this bright moonlight
    till gleaming stars set at dawn

  10. May 26, 2010 7:15 am

    A challenging prompt, Joseph. Here’s mine:

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2010/05/walking-places.html

  11. Marian Veverka permalink
    May 26, 2010 7:21 am

    Hi
    My poem “The Flower Market” was too long to post in the comments section. Joseph Harker graciously let me post my poem on his site at http/naming constellations.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/guest-poet-marian-veverka

    Many thanks, Joseph, I really appreciate this.

  12. May 26, 2010 8:12 am

    Glad people enjoyed the prompt!

    This one is called Two Bakeries.

  13. May 26, 2010 9:12 am

    Thanks for a great prompt Joseph.
    I wrote about volcanoes and food from Puebla.
    Pamela

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2010/05/puebla-de-los-angeles-we-write-poems-3.html

  14. May 26, 2010 9:18 am

    I thought of a number of places—then when the heat set in my thoughts turned to a recent walk on the beach and a walk around one of my favorite ponds.
    http://word-painting.blogspot.com/2010/05/reclaiming.html

    Linda Frances

  15. May 26, 2010 9:25 am

    Thank you for the prompt. Here is mine: Special Delivery

  16. May 26, 2010 10:57 am

    Wow, what a prompt. My poem turned a tad epical…I’m hoping some of you have the patience to read through it all (I truly could’ve gone on, I was very inspired by my simple places).

    http://mypoeticlicense.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/890/

    – Dina

  17. Victoria permalink
    May 26, 2010 12:17 pm

    This challenge seemed really hard, so layered, until I started writing, and then it felt good to be making multiple connections. Thanks for mofing me in a direction I wouldn’t have thought to go. Here’s the link to my polace poem.: http://victoria-andnowpoems.blogspot.com/2010/05/place-poem-we-write-poems.html

  18. May 26, 2010 1:13 pm

    I’m swamped this week so I took the easy way out and revised and old poem. it does involve two places, if you consider “time” a “place.”

    http://another2doors.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/taking-genghis-khan-to-the-mall-2/

  19. May 26, 2010 5:34 pm

    Here is mine: My two places were my car and the highways I take every day on my morning commute.

    His Sign Reads

  20. Peggy Goetz permalink
    May 26, 2010 7:25 pm

    Peggy Goetz –This was a challenging prompt for me but despite not quite understanding what is meant by creating a mythology here is what I came up with from the two places I visited.

    Kaleidoscope Quarters

    I love going to these places
    the yarn shop with expensive
    colors sprouting from baskets
    and rainbow shelves, and the
    garden store with its own
    cascades of color both
    glorious and delicate
    against Irish hillsides of
    green under latticed
    shade. They call me to
    touch, draw close for
    small details then step
    back to be folded in the
    joy of it all. Overwhelmed
    with wanting to make
    something from each hue,
    to plant them all together
    in some garment or pot,
    I leave stuffed with
    vibrating creativity too
    unfocused to purchase.

    • May 29, 2010 10:01 pm

      Hey Peggy — I really liked how you contrasted and combined the man-made with the natural in an equally contrasted desire to create and abandon. Your last two lines remind me of my trips to Costco…I have a tendency to have small fits of sensory overload in spaces that contain too many consumptive choices. Basically, I shut down, because the image is just. like. that. Vibrating, unfocused. That’s my take, and I’m sticking to it. Thanks!

  21. May 27, 2010 3:42 pm

    Here’s the link to my poem which went missing from my previous comment.
    http://heartspell.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/special-delivery/
    Heartspell

  22. May 27, 2010 9:36 pm

    Thanks for the prompt Joseph …here is mine TWO PLACES
    hhtp://waynepitchko.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.