Skip to content

Prompts, here’s how it works.

April 27, 2010

Welcome to the We Write Poems Prompts page! My name is Mallery, and I’ll be your Prompts Director. Starting on Thursday May 6, I will post a weekly Thursday poetry prompt. On the following Wednesday, I will post asking you to leave the poems you wrote during that week in the comments, either the poem itself or a link to the poem on your blog.

Sometimes the prompts will be from me, and sometimes they will be from our community members. I will endeavor to provide a wide variety of prompts, so if you don’t connect to the prompt one week, it’s likely you’ll find the following week’s prompt more inspiring. Here is the line-up of prompt contributors we have so far:

Thursday May 6: Mallery
Thursday May 13: 
Thursday May 20: Joe Harker
Thursday May 27: Nicole
Thursday June 3: Angie

If you want to contribute but you’re not on this list, please let me know! We may set up a rotational roster for contributions, so if you’re interested in contributing regularly (approximately once a month) let me know that, too.

To submit a prompt, you can click on the link to the left of this page. If you have already signed up for a specific date, please make sure you send me your prompt by the MONDAY before the date you agreed to. This way I have time to edit the prompt and format it before Thursday. (I have a demanding day job, so please help me out by getting the prompts to me on time!)

Once we begin sharing poems we have written, it is essential to remember why we created this community. We are a group of poets who seek inspiration, challenges, and a social community of other poets. If you comment on another poet’s work, please do so thoughtfully and positively – we are not a critique group!

I look forward to poeming with this new group. Comments on this post are open, and I’m always open to suggestions and feedback if you ever have some. See you in May! (And good luck in these last days of NaPoWriMo… we’re almost there!)

REPOSTED FOR MALLERY from April 23 (original posting)

(transferred from a former site page to here, the new single page home, ed.)

5 Comments
  1. April 27, 2010 3:48 pm

    angie Says:
    April 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm
    thanks, Mallery!
    things are looking great & it looks like it will be easy to submit prompts. if you decide to go with a rotational-type thing, I’d be more than happy to contribute; just let me know!

    angie

    COMMENT REPOSTED FROM ORIGINAL PAGE ed.

  2. Victoria permalink
    May 9, 2010 10:26 am

    This is exciting for me. I am an amateur poet too and just found Big Tent Poetry. It is fun and inspiring to read how others are poeming. I am putting my mind to “boxes” and expect to be posting here often. Thank you for this opportunity.

    • May 9, 2010 1:18 pm

      Hi Victoria! We’ll look forward to sharing poems with you. BTP is great and I hope you’ll have fun here at WWP too! More poems is definitely better!! Welcome.

      • May 11, 2010 1:52 am

        Congrats on guiding WWP to life Neil! …still do not like the scribbled red riding hood image — but I like the shared human commitment behind the site… 😉

      • May 11, 2010 2:26 am

        @Thanks Rob. Now show me some art that everyone likes! (I understand. Did you like the art work at RWP? Yes? Find me more like that – I haven’t yet… ) Thanks for the honesty too.

Comments are closed.