Skip to content

Who is willing to work/participate?

April 14, 2010

After an expression of interest and “about what to do”, the key question becomes “who”.  Who of us is willing to put in some work to make this community happen?

Of course we each have our own personal labors of varied sorts and their attendant demands on our attention and time.  As well, we each have our own interests, resources and abilities.  That’s what we need to find out here!

Making a site like RWP, or here, WWP happen will entail a variety of member participation.  So please use this post to say your 1) interests (posting prompts, writing articles, monitoring site activity and comments, etc.) , 2) an approximate notion of your availability, 3) any specific skills or resources (blog technical, article writing, etc.).

And please, nothing here is carved in stone.  We are just looking at what real levels of participation are in our hands and available.  Also, if you have more specifics as to “site tasks” that might need attending, please say that too.

Many roles would likely be handled “as a community” and shared in a rotating manner I might think.  So, have your say.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 7:46 am

    I would be happy to help provide prompts and write articles.

    I am somewhat limited on time, but I would have small chunks of time through out the week, but primarily on weekends, where I could do things.

    I’m not a super techie, but I could also help out with the basics in blog design and technical stuff. I’m pretty familiar with WordPress, am at home with it, and get around pretty well.

    • April 16, 2010 9:17 am

      Thanks again Nicole. Right now I’m making of list of who is up for doing what. So noted Nicole! And I may have some tech WP questions too. I’m not all unexperienced, but my current blog is my first blog ever, so I still progress by fumbling around sometimes.

      Would you please send me your email address via the “contact” link. (not for public, but needed to get you access to this site)
      Thanks. ~Neil

  2. April 16, 2010 8:54 am

    I could probably provide some prompts or articles. I don’t have techie skills at all.

  3. April 17, 2010 4:58 am

    ok, neil.

    I’ll tweet.
    all I need is an e-mail for wwp & I’ll get it set up.
    do you want me to use the one you use for this blog or should I just set up a new e-mail address?

    I’ll also need a background — I can use the header rall comes up with to keep things consistent or I can use one of my own pictures. whatever you’d like.

    once things get going, I can send all the new posts to tweet automatically.
    I think.
    😉

    here’s my 2 twitters, if you want to get an idea of what it will look like; wwp will be similar to the sponge cake site, I’m thinking.

    http://twitter.com/therer2doors
    http://twitter.com/toastedalice

    • April 19, 2010 7:02 pm

      Got it Angie. Just got caught & sent to moderation. (And I missed that for a bit.)

      OK, I am fully ignorant about twitter (and only slightly better with FB). So as yet I can’t even reply intelligently to this question here. But here’s a few thoughts anyway.

      1) More presence for WWP I’ll take as good.
      2) Email? The current WWP contact is a dedicated personal email address of mine. (Since I don’t know Twitter I might wonder the usefulness of referencing me.) Might be better if you set that up (for now at least) to some address of your own if that is OK with you.
      So you want to be the WWP Twitter officer??
      (And we can talk some more regards to that.)
      3) Don’t yet have any official real WWP logos or images. Think I’d rather no-logo than a logo and change it later. (That could be added later I assume.)
      4) Same on background image. Nothing yet. I’ll trust to your sensibilities, just something generic for now and/or run something by me if you’re not sure. We are admitted more amateur than professional, but I’d like us to look as best we can even so.

      I looked at both your twitters and they both look good, so I’ll trust to you in that regard (something more akin to alice would be my taste, just slightly provocative of “what’s that?”)

      Let me know how you progress. Thanks Angie! ~Neil

      • angie permalink
        April 19, 2010 8:17 pm

        no problem — I’ll be the the twitter officer!
        😀

        I probably won’t get around to it until the weekend; in the midst of state achievement testing days and all that entails this week.

        once the blog(s) get going, I can set it up so that the rss feed will automatically update the twitter, so there won’t be that much work involved. and the backgrounds, logo etc. can be changed whenever — it’s fairly easy to do.
        I’ll see what I can come up with…

        I will keep you posted!
        😉

      • April 19, 2010 8:25 pm

        That’s great! Thank you Angie.

  4. April 17, 2010 5:00 am

    oops — I think I went in the spam with that last comment.
    I left two links.
    😐

  5. April 19, 2010 7:34 am

    No experience, skills, etc. I do, however, have almost unlimited time and take direction with minimal griping.
    Count me as volunteering for whatever I’asked to do.
    I do play at Photoshop some

    Barbara
    http://briarcat.wordpress.com
    briarcat@gmail . com

    • April 19, 2010 8:29 pm

      hey, Barbara!

      wanna photoshop a twitter background for us?
      purty-please??

  6. April 19, 2010 1:18 pm

    @Thank you all very much!

    Soon up for me will be to review all that’s been offered (and yes, make another list) (probably post that too, just as one place for us all to see each other, who we are).

    It’s coming together. Just got the PROMPTs page on-line! Articles page next. (And more.)

  7. April 19, 2010 2:46 pm

    I am willing to help in any way I can.
    Pamela

  8. April 20, 2010 1:27 pm

    I’m willing to help. I can help with prompts and maybe tech stuff if it doesn’t get too involved (I’m more willing than talented on that score).

    I’m also open to helping out in other ways, whatever those may be.

    Thanks for getting this started.

  9. April 24, 2010 10:30 pm

    I’d be happy to contribute the occasional prompt, as I find all prompts to be equally ridiculous and useful.

    I’d also be willing to arbitrate debates on whether any given line consist of five iambs or four iambs and a trochee.

  10. April 27, 2010 12:00 pm

    I am certainly willing to help…though not very smart with this stuff…certainly will contribute prompts….however feel free to ask me to do something….and THANKS to ALLLLLLL of you for taking up the challenge….so much appreciated..

  11. April 30, 2010 3:13 am

    Please may I join, and I’d love to help, within my limitations, of course!
    ViV

  12. Irene permalink*
    April 30, 2010 6:47 am

    Hi ViV, yes you may of course. Come back next Thursday to play and you could submit a prompt anytime if you wish. No great shakes except play!

  13. May 2, 2010 1:01 pm

    I am willing and readily available to provide prompts and articles. I am not as tech savy, but am willing to moderate comments and help out with the site in other ways as well. I suppose I would just need directions if things got too complicated.

    At the moment I work from home, so my time is almost unlimited.

Leave a Reply

