Skip to content

prompt 196 What’s Your Sign?

January 16, 2014

The signs of the zodiac play a role in many individuals lives. This week, we’d like you to use those symbols in your poem. If you are not familiar with them, you can find an explanation for the twelve symbols here:

Please go to this zodiac-signs-meanings site and find your own sign based on your birth date. Then incorporate some sense or element of that person, personality in your poem.

I have two examples from my own writings to share with you, if you are interested. They may be found at: Aries Rising and I Am Aries.

Although these two pieces are of a personal nature, your poem does not have to be the same. You might want to create a persona, or personality within your poem that has nothing to do with you, but more with the descriptive words and phrases you find within the explanations themselves. Good luck with your explorations and have fun writing.

Elizabeth

38 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2014 5:16 am

    Interesting prompt! Thanks.

  2. January 16, 2014 5:18 am

    Writer’s Digest
    Prompt: Write a stress poem

    We Write Poems
    Prompt #196: What’s Your Sign?

    Around Midnight
    Traveling on the
    Dark side
    Underground
    In the shadow
    Stumble
    Bumble
    Bump

    The sun will
    Come up
    And there will
    Be relief
    Everything will
    Appear clear
    In focus
    There are always
    Two sides to
    Every coin

    Count your days
    They are but
    A limited few
    Make them count
    Light or dark
    Sunshine or
    Shadow
    Stumble
    Bumble
    Bump

    I couldn’t find Mr. Linky, I hope this is right?

    • January 16, 2014 5:34 am

      There is no Mr. Linky here. :)
      Not yet anyway.

    • January 16, 2014 7:17 am

      Stumble, Bumble, Bump

      Yes, I recognize that as my life but I guess I’d rather have that than knowing all ahead of time. I think serendipity is great. I like this Annell

    • January 16, 2014 7:44 am

      I like your stumble, bumble, bump approach Annell, so many of us can relate.

      Elizabeth

    • January 18, 2014 1:00 pm

      I fund the stumble/bumble/bump refrain intriguing, as well as “there are two sides to every coin”. Indeed, there are postivite and negative aspects to every sign. Can the stars guide our way, or do we read the contents of our minds inside their pattern and glow? I don’t know.

      -Nicole

    • January 21, 2014 10:11 am

      dark midnight stumbling and then comes the clear night…. i love the idea of “…not counting your breaths but counting the moments that take your breath away..” i am reminded of this as i trod softly through your introspective poem…

    • January 16, 2014 8:11 am

      Your poem is both fun and adventurous Jules, thanks for taking part,

      Elizabeth

  3. January 16, 2014 5:40 am

    Reading about my sign, taurus, explained so much about my personality!

    http://laughwithme45.blogspot.com/2014/01/taurusthat-explains-so-much.html

  4. January 16, 2014 7:56 am

    short

    http://wp.me/p32h8v-oh

  5. January 16, 2014 9:58 am

    Change of plans and poems,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/fire-starter/

    Elizabeth

  6. January 16, 2014 4:29 pm

    Here’s to the Librans & Taureans

  7. January 16, 2014 4:33 pm

    Is this a Leo?

    No roaring, no demanding
    No shocking questions asking
    No fame and no publicity
    Can get along without electricity.

    A closet Leo, who would guess
    Without a hair upon my chest
    Meek and mild as a little lamb
    A disappointing Leo, I am.

    • January 16, 2014 5:47 pm

      Oh but Marian, when it comes to smooth fluid poetry, you don’t disappoint. Perhaps you should read the story of Christian, the Lion,

      Elizabeth

      • January 17, 2014 2:47 am

        Sounds like a nice Leo to be around rather than one roaring in one’s face!

        • January 17, 2014 7:31 am

          His story can be found here:

          Warning: This might make you cry…

          Elizabeth

        • January 18, 2014 11:30 am

          I agree with Robyn, I like your kind of Leo best.”Meek and mild as a little lamb
          A disappointing Leo, I am.” ha

    • January 17, 2014 8:36 am

      Absolutely love this poem!

      • January 17, 2014 3:02 pm

        I saw the story about the lion just a few weeks ago! I don’t want to give anything away if someone hasn’t seen it, but it is an amazing story!

    • January 23, 2014 12:06 pm

      I am not a typical Leo, either. I find classification systems intriguing and useful, but sometimes they can be limiting. I only pounce when poked. :)

      -Nicole

    • January 25, 2014 8:55 pm

      Well, there just must be some tame lions!

  8. January 16, 2014 8:40 pm

    May I just say, that except for the impulsive part, I am not a good example of a typical Aries.

    http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/telling-off-an-aries/

  9. January 17, 2014 8:20 am

    really enjoyed this prompt…! is there a particular day to post or do we just post here?… here is mine sign here

    • January 17, 2014 10:44 am

      The prompt goes up on Thursday and you may post anytime after that. There is also a new prompt, a wordle, built from words from the posts of the previous week. It appears on Monday, and is loads of fun,

      So glad you enjoyed the prompt, I enjoyed reading your ponderings,

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers