Skip to content

Thursday Prompt #6: Walk a Mile

June 10, 2010

Dan Rako invites us to consider another point of view this week. He writes,

“We all have people, or groups, we hold in contempt. Depending on one’s point of view, it might be Wall Street executives or White House staffers, oil company CEOs or global warming zealots, people of faith or committed atheists. Maybe you can’t stand fans of reality TV, or those who listen to country music. Maybe you’re convinced that anyone who wears fur is narcissistic and heartless; maybe you consider vegans to be be whiny killjoys.

By surrounding ourselves with like-minded people and listening exclusively to like-minded opinions, it becomes increasingly easy to stereotype and demonize the objects of our derision.

Take some time to consider a point of view you find distasteful. Is it possible that the people with whom you disagree are well-intentioned? Is it possible that they are not evil? Use this as a springboard to write something. Sarcasm is easy, but you’re welcome to go wherever the prompt takes you.”

Whose shoes will you walk in?

Shoes by Lachlan Hardy on Flickr

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 6:14 am

    Hey Dan this should be interesting!
    Thanks!
    Pamela

  2. June 10, 2010 12:56 pm

    I so appreciate this! Just the other day I found out a friend of a friend is one of *those* people. It is so easy to dismiss everyone by their labels or beliefs, AND how I see it is it is more helpful to the world if we stay in relationship with those who are NOT like-minded and love and care for them, anyway.

    Looking forward to seeing what percolates within me.

  3. June 10, 2010 8:31 pm

    Since I’m usually the one in the room who mentions the 3-ton elephant in the corner; who bristles at racism, sexism, and homophobia; who literally cannot shut up when faced with ignorant attitudes about “the other,” I imagine I’ll take on my only real prejudice: Bigots. It’ll take a while to get it right, but I want to thank you, Dan, for a magnificent prompt!

    • angie permalink
      June 11, 2010 9:07 am

      you could start with archie bunker. :D

    • June 12, 2010 8:41 pm

      Ooo, I’m looking forward to yours, Amy. I would have a tough time tackling that one from the other side. Don’t get me started….

  4. angie permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:08 am

    I’m wondering how far I could walk with oil on my shoes.

  5. June 12, 2010 8:39 pm

    Working hard on mine…gently.

    – Dina

Trackbacks

  1. My Garden - Uma Gowrishankar :: Colours Explode :: June :: 2010
  2. a vegan poem « lost in translation
  3. WWP Poem #6: Bears « Raven's Wing Poetry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers